$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
121 reviews
Great Location

Within walking distance of many great restaurants, from value meals to expensive dining. walked to... See full review

  • The Proud Family
  • Jun 1, 2014
Location, price, full suite

$75 for a full suite w/kitchen right in the heart of downtown? What's not to love? See full review

  • Scoots McGoo
  • May 8, 2014
Spacious apartment-style suites in downtown Cincinnati
At Garfield Suites Hotel, in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, all accommodations are suites -- multiroom apartments that are more like a condominium than a traditional hotel room. Guests can expect many of the usual hotel amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to nearby destinations, but also reap the benefits of a stay in a unique smoke-free condominium-like property.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free building
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • All-suite set up with separate bedrooms and kitchen
  • Complimentary shuttle to area destinations
Rooms
Condominium-style suites include one-bedroom and two-bedroom arrangements, with separate living room and fully equipped kitchen. Duplex penthouse, with two bedrooms and balcony, is also available. Standard guestroom amenities include free Wi-Fi, free movies on cable, and DVD player.
Features
Garfield Suites Hotel stands out from the Cincinnati hotel crowd with its condominium-style hotel rooms, which are more like a condominium apartment than a traditional hotel room. Suites have one or two bedrooms, separate living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some suites, priced slightly higher, have balconies.

Guests can expect many of the same amenities they would find in a traditional hotel while enjoying the comfort and convenience of an apartment. Amenities include free Wi-Fi in suites and throughout the hotel, free cocktails during happy hour one night a week, and a free courtesy van taking guests to and from downtown Cincinnati between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily.

Two-story fitness center, in a glassed-in atrium, is well equipped with cardio machines (ellipticals, treadmills, rowing machines, stationery bicycles), free weights, and weight machines. No charge for guests, and free bottled water. Guests who prefer to swim for fitness can ask for a pass at the front desk to the pool at the nearby YMCA, located one block away.
Transportation
  • Complimentary van to all downtown Cincinnati destinations
  • Cincinnati Union Terminal (Amtrak) (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cincinnati Municipal/Lunken Field (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke Energy Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, home to the Cincinnati Bengals (0.9 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great American Ballpark, home to the Cincinnati Reds (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • More than 9,700 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

39.1048 -84.5141
Area served
Ohio.
Nearby airports
Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG).
Area description
The Garfield Suites Hotel is located near to The Great American Ballpark (home of the Cincinnati Reds) and Paul Brown Stadium (home of the Cincinnati Bengals) and Kroger Corporate Headquarters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garfield Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

The Garfield Suites Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Queens Beds with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Great American Ball Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paul Brown Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • U.S. Bank Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Third Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Nippert Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Cintas Center: 3.9 mi
  • Cincinnati Gardens: 6.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 121
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2011

Don't bother

Unless you are seeing a concert and want to walk to the US Bank Arena, don't bother. Bad neighborhood with lots of homeless and beggers. Hotel is very dated. Mattresses are lumpy with odd smell on linens. Staff tries. Hotel restaurant was nice. Overpaid through [...]because the rooms were sold out directly. Get a deal with free parking if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dunnrr
Cincinnati
Dec 11, 2012

Stay away

Rented a two bedroom downtown. Had 4 people altogether, 2 per room. Spilt a bag of chips on floor, cleaned up as much as I could without a vacuum. Left crums on ground and got charged and additional 100$ . Hair on beds , library next store blocks view , out dated would never stay there again and would not recommend a friend stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not stay at this hotel

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington, WV
Aug 30, 2010

What a Nightmare

I booked 3 months in advance, then called and verified reservations the day before. When I arrived, they said they were overbooked and had made arrangements at another hotel. I paid for a 2 bedroom suite w/ kitchen & living room and I ended up with a one room with 2 double beds several miles away. No refunds, no credits, no nothing. Never deal with these people ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Bride
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Wedding Disaster

The room that we received (the newlyweds) was not at all like the rooms that I was shown or that are in the pictures on the website. Our room was dark, kitchen was in fair condition, bedding and window treatments were very outdated, towels were small and poor quality, beds were uncomfortable, deck had loose stones and large, dangerous steps and we had to call 2 times to get the upstairs A/C working. The room was fairly clean, but badly in need of some TLC. The other guests rooms varied in quality and cleanliness as well. The elevators were extremely slow and one kept getting stuck in the basement, even though no guests wanted to go there. The front desk staff was attentive and kind during the day, however the night shift did not resolve a situation of significance. There were other hotel guests running up and down hallways in the middle of the night, banging on doors and ringing doorbells while singing and yelling. They offered no financial compensation when staff was alerted in the morning. Our hospitality suite with catered menu was of poor value and we brought drinks and other items which were never put out. We were not there to know otherwise. Finally, the parking garage is a good value, however does not have easy access to the hotel. It is open to the public and I had several near misses by individuals who were trying to get home from work in a hurry. We have stayed at many other local hotels downtown, as well as in other cities. This was by far the worst experience and nothing was done by management to rectify the situation. I would highly recommend not booking your wedding there, as they tend to overbook wedding parties and definitely do not use their catering for your event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anna827
Kentucky
Apr 7, 2014

Garfield Inn - Cincinnati

The staff are wonderful & helpful. The beds are the most uncomfortable thing I ever (tried to) sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dadmanohio
Ohio
Aug 14, 2014

baseball game

everything needs updated,carpet,furnishings,etc. If updated could be very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MLDP
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Jan 6, 2014

Great Service - Hotel Facility Needs Work

We had a bizarre experience at this hotel, but on average more good than bad, even considering... The first room (2 BR, fold out couch in LR) had bugs - we think bed bugs - and we found four of them in two different rooms. The hotel was very concerned and immediately switched us to a different room plus "comp'd" the room. The second room #3BR# smelled of cigarette smoke throughout; again, the hotel staff immediately moved us, back to a 2 BR w/ fold out couch. This room - a different floor - appeared to be better "rehabbed" than the first two, so a little nicer; of course we checked for bugs and found none. Since it was close to midnight by now, we didn't move to a different hotel, but just checked everything thoroughly plus put anything of ours that may have been in contact w/ bugs in room #1 onto the balcony (it was below 10 degrees). The final room was comfortable but not fancy. All bathrooms we saw need a fan in the shower room. I later found some bug bites along my left shoulder later, I assume from room #1. So - ick for the bugs and non-cleaned former smoker's room (people who smoke in hotel rooms are among the lowest of the low, in my opinion); but kudos to the staff and management for handling this the right way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LIV onthego
Columbus, ohio
Mar 31, 2014

Nice Ammenities.

The rooms were ok, could stand to be updated. Wouldve been nice to have vending machine on the floor. I did like the full kitchen. Staff was ok when you asked them questions but didnt offer any info. For example, the Parking cost 6$ each time you go in and out. I found out by asking that the hotel charged 10 per day for all day parking come and go as you please. No one offered that info, i just asked bcuz I got tired of paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

good prices

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blissful Giggler
Tampa
Dec 30, 2012

Spacious Rooms with Lovely View

We've stayed at this hotel once before. The rooms are a bit dated but they are spacious, clean and comfortable. The balcony with the view of the city is a nice perk. Hotel location is awesome within walking distance of shopping, dining and a terrific coffee house - The Coffee Emporium!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy500 Alan
Brunswick, OH
Apr 15, 2013

Good value for location, nothing extraordinary

Probably best value for hotel in downtown Cincinnati. Between hotel shuttle and downtown shuttle, it's easy to get to locations within the downtown area or across the river. The rooms weren't anything special. A little out-dated, but clean. If you're looking to getting around Cincinnati/Covington/Newport without having to drive, this is a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search