$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
165 reviews
Great Location

Within walking distance of many great restaurants, from value meals to expensive dining. walked to... See full review

  • The Proud Family
  • Jun 1, 2014
Location, price, full suite

$75 for a full suite w/kitchen right in the heart of downtown? What's not to love? See full review

  • Scoots McGoo
  • May 8, 2014
Spacious apartment-style suites in downtown Cincinnati
At Garfield Suites Hotel, in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, all accommodations are suites -- multiroom apartments that are more like a condominium than a traditional hotel room. Guests can expect many of the usual hotel amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to nearby destinations, but also reap the benefits of a stay in a unique smoke-free condominium-like property.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free building
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • All-suite set up with separate bedrooms and kitchen
  • Complimentary shuttle to area destinations
Rooms
Condominium-style suites include one-bedroom and two-bedroom arrangements, with separate living room and fully equipped kitchen. Duplex penthouse, with two bedrooms and balcony, is also available. Standard guestroom amenities include free Wi-Fi, free movies on cable, and DVD player.
Features
Garfield Suites Hotel stands out from the Cincinnati hotel crowd with its condominium-style hotel rooms, which are more like a condominium apartment than a traditional hotel room. Suites have one or two bedrooms, separate living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some suites, priced slightly higher, have balconies.

Guests can expect many of the same amenities they would find in a traditional hotel while enjoying the comfort and convenience of an apartment. Amenities include free Wi-Fi in suites and throughout the hotel, free cocktails during happy hour one night a week, and a free courtesy van taking guests to and from downtown Cincinnati between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily.

Two-story fitness center, in a glassed-in atrium, is well equipped with cardio machines (ellipticals, treadmills, rowing machines, stationery bicycles), free weights, and weight machines. No charge for guests, and free bottled water. Guests who prefer to swim for fitness can ask for a pass at the front desk to the pool at the nearby YMCA, located one block away.
Transportation
  • Complimentary van to all downtown Cincinnati destinations
  • Cincinnati Union Terminal (Amtrak) (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cincinnati Municipal/Lunken Field (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke Energy Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, home to the Cincinnati Bengals (0.9 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great American Ballpark, home to the Cincinnati Reds (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • More than 9,700 square feet of meeting space

The Garfield Suites Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Queens Beds with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garfield Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.1048 -84.5141
Area served
Ohio.
Nearby airports
Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG).
Area description
The Garfield Suites Hotel is located near to The Great American Ballpark (home of the Cincinnati Reds) and Paul Brown Stadium (home of the Cincinnati Bengals) and Kroger Corporate Headquarters.

Nearby points of interest

  • Great American Ball Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paul Brown Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • U.S. Bank Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Third Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Nippert Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Cintas Center: 3.9 mi
  • Cincinnati Gardens: 6.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 165
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.2

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 12, 2010

Adequate, but no vacation

The hotel needs some serious updates. Everything is old and not exactly clean. It was adequate for what we needed it for as we spent very little time at the hotel. But when I go on vacation I expect comfort, cleanliness, and quiet. The walls are thin so you can hear everything and the beds are very firm and uncomfortable. I felt I was in my college dorm again! The kitchen (although a nice feature for a hotel) is filthy and all cups, plates, utensils, etc. were gross. The staff on the other hand was very nice and helpful. Couldn't ask for more from these guys. The shuttle was helpful as well. All in all, if you are just looking for a cheap place to hang your head, this isn't bad. But if you are actually trying to enjoy yourself and have a comfortable vacation, you may want to spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Montgomery Inn Boathouse is amazing! Food was excellent and price was very reasonable!

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 12, 2010

Adequate, but no vacation

The hotel needs some serious updates. Everything is old and not exactly clean. It was adequate for what we needed it for as we spent very little time at the hotel. But when I go on vacation I expect comfort, cleanliness, and quiet. The walls are thin so you can hear everything and the beds are very firm and uncomfortable. I felt I was in my college dorm again! The kitchen (although a nice feature for a hotel) is filthy and all cups, plates, utensils, etc. were gross. The staff on the other hand was very nice and helpful. Couldn't ask for more from these guys. The shuttle was helpful as well. All in all, if you are just looking for a cheap place to hang your head, this isn't bad. But if you are actually trying to enjoy yourself and have a comfortable vacation, you may want to spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Montgomery Inn Boathouse is amazing! Food was excellent and price was very reasonable!

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Oct 3, 2010

Watch Out

This hotel was picked b/c we were going to the reds game and I couldn't find anything cheaper in the same star range. I had read previous reviews where someone was booted to another hotel and I thought that was a 1 time thing. Well, they tried to do it to us and I wouldn't let them. It was a 1:00 game; so, our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 11:30 and we left our luggage at the hotel. When we came back after the game to check in, the manager tried to send us to the Millenium or the Hyatt. I explained to him my situation and then he did find us a room after my insistance. Next time, I'll just go ahead and book a room in one of those other hotels and skip the process of reserving a room here and having the possibility of ending up at another hotel. Room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jun 30, 2011

Not what I'd hoped for

We were celebrating our anniversary. I like to go to hotels because I expect things to be newer, cleaner and more up to date than my home. This wasn't the case. The location and the staff were great, but the hotel itself needed a "facelift." For the amount of money we paid, I would have driven a little further out. One thing that really got on my nerves was the doorbell on the outside of our door (hotel converted from apartments to hotel rooms). Someone rang ours at 3 in the morning! Jumped out of our skins!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jun 30, 2011

Not what I'd hoped for

We were celebrating our anniversary. I like to go to hotels because I expect things to be newer, cleaner and more up to date than my home. This wasn't the case. The location and the staff were great, but the hotel itself needed a "facelift." For the amount of money we paid, I would have driven a little further out. One thing that really got on my nerves was the doorbell on the outside of our door (hotel converted from apartments to hotel rooms). Someone rang ours at 3 in the morning! Jumped out of our skins!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keithcheri
indiana
Feb 6, 2014

passing through

Parking is a nightmare. No one to help unload luggage when we got there and had to go long way to get to room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Oct 3, 2010

Watch Out

This hotel was picked b/c we were going to the reds game and I couldn't find anything cheaper in the same star range. I had read previous reviews where someone was booted to another hotel and I thought that was a 1 time thing. Well, they tried to do it to us and I wouldn't let them. It was a 1:00 game; so, our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 11:30 and we left our luggage at the hotel. When we came back after the game to check in, the manager tried to send us to the Millenium or the Hyatt. I explained to him my situation and then he did find us a room after my insistance. Next time, I'll just go ahead and book a room in one of those other hotels and skip the process of reserving a room here and having the possibility of ending up at another hotel. Room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dublin, OH
Oct 19, 2009

Good location, very spacious, but tired

The room was very spacious. A great location to enjoy all there is to do in the downtown area! Easy walk to stadiums, restaurants & clubs. Quick drive to Kentucky riverfront area. Staff was very friendly & helpful. Roomservice is an incredible value -- unlike most hotels! But the decor and furnishings are a little tired & worn. Still a great value for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The downtown mall closes early! Shop early in the day or plan on a 20 minute drive to retailers that stay open past 6 or 7 pm!

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baseball tripper
Fort Wayne, In
Jun 6, 2013

Baseball Trip

We stayed here because it was close to the baseball field. It could use an update but other than that it was a great value. Everyone who worked there were friendly, the rooms were clean,parking was cheap and it was convenient to everything we wanted to do. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JJJA
Ohio
Sep 8, 2013

Weekend Birthday Celabration

It was okay enjoyed the Reds Baseball Games and the entertainment at Fountain Square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

REDS BASEBALL

Back to menu Return to top