$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
165 reviews
Great Location

Within walking distance of many great restaurants, from value meals to expensive dining. walked to... See full review

  • The Proud Family
  • Jun 1, 2014
Location, price, full suite

$75 for a full suite w/kitchen right in the heart of downtown? What's not to love? See full review

  • Scoots McGoo
  • May 8, 2014
Spacious apartment-style suites in downtown Cincinnati
At Garfield Suites Hotel, in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, all accommodations are suites -- multiroom apartments that are more like a condominium than a traditional hotel room. Guests can expect many of the usual hotel amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to nearby destinations, but also reap the benefits of a stay in a unique smoke-free condominium-like property.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free building
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • All-suite set up with separate bedrooms and kitchen
  • Complimentary shuttle to area destinations
Rooms
Condominium-style suites include one-bedroom and two-bedroom arrangements, with separate living room and fully equipped kitchen. Duplex penthouse, with two bedrooms and balcony, is also available. Standard guestroom amenities include free Wi-Fi, free movies on cable, and DVD player.
Features
Garfield Suites Hotel stands out from the Cincinnati hotel crowd with its condominium-style hotel rooms, which are more like a condominium apartment than a traditional hotel room. Suites have one or two bedrooms, separate living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some suites, priced slightly higher, have balconies.

Guests can expect many of the same amenities they would find in a traditional hotel while enjoying the comfort and convenience of an apartment. Amenities include free Wi-Fi in suites and throughout the hotel, free cocktails during happy hour one night a week, and a free courtesy van taking guests to and from downtown Cincinnati between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily.

Two-story fitness center, in a glassed-in atrium, is well equipped with cardio machines (ellipticals, treadmills, rowing machines, stationery bicycles), free weights, and weight machines. No charge for guests, and free bottled water. Guests who prefer to swim for fitness can ask for a pass at the front desk to the pool at the nearby YMCA, located one block away.
Transportation
  • Complimentary van to all downtown Cincinnati destinations
  • Cincinnati Union Terminal (Amtrak) (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cincinnati Municipal/Lunken Field (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke Energy Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, home to the Cincinnati Bengals (0.9 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great American Ballpark, home to the Cincinnati Reds (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • More than 9,700 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

39.1048 -84.5141
Area served
Ohio.
Nearby airports
Cincinnati-Northern Kentucky International Airport (CVG).
Area description
The Garfield Suites Hotel is located near to The Great American Ballpark (home of the Cincinnati Reds) and Paul Brown Stadium (home of the Cincinnati Bengals) and Kroger Corporate Headquarters.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garfield Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

The Garfield Suites Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Queens Beds with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Great American Ball Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paul Brown Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • U.S. Bank Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Third Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Nippert Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Cintas Center: 3.9 mi
  • Cincinnati Gardens: 6.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BD20
Business
Washington DC
May 10, 2013

out of the 70's

This hotel has furniture from the 70's and the picture online misrepresents its décor. I felt very uncomfortable sleeping in the bed for fear of who knows what is in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother of College girls
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Jul 30, 2011

Ugh!

I traveled to Cincinnati for My daughters orientation. The hotel we chose was only a few miles from the University however one of the worst roads to travel especially at night. The hotel room itself smelled like bad body odor. The linens were old and thin. I will not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ridiculous Disappointment
U.S.
Jun 21, 2012

70's Horror flick setting

For almost 200 bucks on a freggin Tuesday night... The room was huge, yes. Creepy everything. The furniture was from a horror flick, the kitchen was brand new in the 70's and the whole place smelled like a 1950's closet. We didn't even bathe we wanted out so quick. If this were half price it would be 3 star... it's insane what they charge for how nasty this place is. It's two blocks from the ghetto too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother of College girls
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Jul 30, 2011

Ugh!

I traveled to Cincinnati for My daughters orientation. The hotel we chose was only a few miles from the University however one of the worst roads to travel especially at night. The hotel room itself smelled like bad body odor. The linens were old and thin. I will not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fred287
Business
LA
Nov 13, 2011

Sleepless in Cincinnati

This is a dumpy hotel that hasn't been updated in years. Compared with other suites hotels, a pretty low hurdle, this place is really bad. The walls were very thin and I could hear lots of street noise and other guests. The beds were poor quality and the linens even poorer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Bride
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Wedding Disaster

The room that we received (the newlyweds) was not at all like the rooms that I was shown or that are in the pictures on the website. Our room was dark, kitchen was in fair condition, bedding and window treatments were very outdated, towels were small and poor quality, beds were uncomfortable, deck had loose stones and large, dangerous steps and we had to call 2 times to get the upstairs A/C working. The room was fairly clean, but badly in need of some TLC. The other guests rooms varied in quality and cleanliness as well. The elevators were extremely slow and one kept getting stuck in the basement, even though no guests wanted to go there. The front desk staff was attentive and kind during the day, however the night shift did not resolve a situation of significance. There were other hotel guests running up and down hallways in the middle of the night, banging on doors and ringing doorbells while singing and yelling. They offered no financial compensation when staff was alerted in the morning. Our hospitality suite with catered menu was of poor value and we brought drinks and other items which were never put out. We were not there to know otherwise. Finally, the parking garage is a good value, however does not have easy access to the hotel. It is open to the public and I had several near misses by individuals who were trying to get home from work in a hurry. We have stayed at many other local hotels downtown, as well as in other cities. This was by far the worst experience and nothing was done by management to rectify the situation. I would highly recommend not booking your wedding there, as they tend to overbook wedding parties and definitely do not use their catering for your event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntington, WV
Aug 30, 2010

What a Nightmare

I booked 3 months in advance, then called and verified reservations the day before. When I arrived, they said they were overbooked and had made arrangements at another hotel. I paid for a 2 bedroom suite w/ kitchen & living room and I ended up with a one room with 2 double beds several miles away. No refunds, no credits, no nothing. Never deal with these people ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Bride
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Wedding Disaster

The room that we received (the newlyweds) was not at all like the rooms that I was shown or that are in the pictures on the website. Our room was dark, kitchen was in fair condition, bedding and window treatments were very outdated, towels were small and poor quality, beds were uncomfortable, deck had loose stones and large, dangerous steps and we had to call 2 times to get the upstairs A/C working. The room was fairly clean, but badly in need of some TLC. The other guests rooms varied in quality and cleanliness as well. The elevators were extremely slow and one kept getting stuck in the basement, even though no guests wanted to go there. The front desk staff was attentive and kind during the day, however the night shift did not resolve a situation of significance. There were other hotel guests running up and down hallways in the middle of the night, banging on doors and ringing doorbells while singing and yelling. They offered no financial compensation when staff was alerted in the morning. Our hospitality suite with catered menu was of poor value and we brought drinks and other items which were never put out. We were not there to know otherwise. Finally, the parking garage is a good value, however does not have easy access to the hotel. It is open to the public and I had several near misses by individuals who were trying to get home from work in a hurry. We have stayed at many other local hotels downtown, as well as in other cities. This was by far the worst experience and nothing was done by management to rectify the situation. I would highly recommend not booking your wedding there, as they tend to overbook wedding parties and definitely do not use their catering for your event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 12, 2010

Adequate, but no vacation

The hotel needs some serious updates. Everything is old and not exactly clean. It was adequate for what we needed it for as we spent very little time at the hotel. But when I go on vacation I expect comfort, cleanliness, and quiet. The walls are thin so you can hear everything and the beds are very firm and uncomfortable. I felt I was in my college dorm again! The kitchen (although a nice feature for a hotel) is filthy and all cups, plates, utensils, etc. were gross. The staff on the other hand was very nice and helpful. Couldn't ask for more from these guys. The shuttle was helpful as well. All in all, if you are just looking for a cheap place to hang your head, this isn't bad. But if you are actually trying to enjoy yourself and have a comfortable vacation, you may want to spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Montgomery Inn Boathouse is amazing! Food was excellent and price was very reasonable!

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Orleans, LA
Aug 12, 2010

Adequate, but no vacation

The hotel needs some serious updates. Everything is old and not exactly clean. It was adequate for what we needed it for as we spent very little time at the hotel. But when I go on vacation I expect comfort, cleanliness, and quiet. The walls are thin so you can hear everything and the beds are very firm and uncomfortable. I felt I was in my college dorm again! The kitchen (although a nice feature for a hotel) is filthy and all cups, plates, utensils, etc. were gross. The staff on the other hand was very nice and helpful. Couldn't ask for more from these guys. The shuttle was helpful as well. All in all, if you are just looking for a cheap place to hang your head, this isn't bad. But if you are actually trying to enjoy yourself and have a comfortable vacation, you may want to spend a few more dollars and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Montgomery Inn Boathouse is amazing! Food was excellent and price was very reasonable!

Back to menu Return to top