$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Bride
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Wedding Disaster

The room that we received (the newlyweds) was not at all like the rooms that I was shown or that are in the pictures on the website. Our room was dark, kitchen was in fair condition, bedding and window treatments were very outdated, towels were small and poor quality, beds were uncomfortable, deck had loose stones and large, dangerous steps and we had to call 2 times to get the upstairs A/C working. The room was fairly clean, but badly in need of some TLC. The other guests rooms varied in quality and cleanliness as well. The elevators were extremely slow and one kept getting stuck in the basement, even though no guests wanted to go there. The front desk staff was attentive and kind during the day, however the night shift did not resolve a situation of significance. There were other hotel guests running up and down hallways in the middle of the night, banging on doors and ringing doorbells while singing and yelling. They offered no financial compensation when staff was alerted in the morning. Our hospitality suite with catered menu was of poor value and we brought drinks and other items which were never put out. We were not there to know otherwise. Finally, the parking garage is a good value, however does not have easy access to the hotel. It is open to the public and I had several near misses by individuals who were trying to get home from work in a hurry. We have stayed at many other local hotels downtown, as well as in other cities. This was by far the worst experience and nothing was done by management to rectify the situation. I would highly recommend not booking your wedding there, as they tend to overbook wedding parties and definitely do not use their catering for your event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cafed
Business
Bowling Green, OH
Aug 30, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

Locate at downtown, get free shuttle to many attractions, museum, and ball park.Also, high speed Internet, great view. You can cook there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cafed
Business
Bowling Green, OH
Aug 30, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

Locate at downtown, get free shuttle to many attractions, museum, and ball park.Also, high speed Internet, great view. You can cook there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeffyP
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Business Trip

Very friendly staff and rooms were clean. Lots of things within walking distance. Complimentary van will take you places around downtown and come back and get you for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother of College girls
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Jul 30, 2011

Ugh!

I traveled to Cincinnati for My daughters orientation. The hotel we chose was only a few miles from the University however one of the worst roads to travel especially at night. The hotel room itself smelled like bad body odor. The linens were old and thin. I will not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 30, 2011

Not what I'd hoped for

We were celebrating our anniversary. I like to go to hotels because I expect things to be newer, cleaner and more up to date than my home. This wasn't the case. The location and the staff were great, but the hotel itself needed a "facelift." For the amount of money we paid, I would have driven a little further out. One thing that really got on my nerves was the doorbell on the outside of our door (hotel converted from apartments to hotel rooms). Someone rang ours at 3 in the morning! Jumped out of our skins!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfort Ky
Jun 28, 2011

Yankees-Reds

[...] info said I had a smoking room but there are none in that hotel;[...] Hotel had a nice happy hour w/food and drink. Parking in the hotel garage requires better directions and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good restaurant in hotel

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davco
Business
El Dorado Hills CA
May 27, 2011

Adequate

The room was large with a family room, kitchen and master suite. The toilet did not flush well. The building is most likely 45 years old. The TV reception was pretty poor and the tv's themselves are antiquated. [...]who runs the shuttle was very cool and helpful and a pleasure to be around. the side splash on the vanithy was pulling away from the wall. So, maintenance is inadequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CSU Ball
Business
Columbus, GA
May 5, 2011

Garfield Suites

Very Courteous staff! They upgraded our room to the jacuzzi suite free of charge. The only suggestion I could make is that its a little outdated and could use some remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2011

Don't bother

Unless you are seeing a concert and want to walk to the US Bank Arena, don't bother. Bad neighborhood with lots of homeless and beggers. Hotel is very dated. Mattresses are lumpy with odd smell on linens. Staff tries. Hotel restaurant was nice. Overpaid through [...]because the rooms were sold out directly. Get a deal with free parking if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top