$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
121 reviews
Great Location

Within walking distance of many great restaurants, from value meals to expensive dining. walked to... See full review

  • The Proud Family
  • Jun 1, 2014
Location, price, full suite

$75 for a full suite w/kitchen right in the heart of downtown? What's not to love? See full review

  • Scoots McGoo
  • May 8, 2014
Spacious apartment-style suites in downtown Cincinnati
At Garfield Suites Hotel, in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, all accommodations are suites -- multiroom apartments that are more like a condominium than a traditional hotel room. Guests can expect many of the usual hotel amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to nearby destinations, but also reap the benefits of a stay in a unique smoke-free condominium-like property.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free building
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • All-suite set up with separate bedrooms and kitchen
  • Complimentary shuttle to area destinations
Rooms
Condominium-style suites include one-bedroom and two-bedroom arrangements, with separate living room and fully equipped kitchen. Duplex penthouse, with two bedrooms and balcony, is also available. Standard guestroom amenities include free Wi-Fi, free movies on cable, and DVD player.
Features
Garfield Suites Hotel stands out from the Cincinnati hotel crowd with its condominium-style hotel rooms, which are more like a condominium apartment than a traditional hotel room. Suites have one or two bedrooms, separate living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some suites, priced slightly higher, have balconies.

Guests can expect many of the same amenities they would find in a traditional hotel while enjoying the comfort and convenience of an apartment. Amenities include free Wi-Fi in suites and throughout the hotel, free cocktails during happy hour one night a week, and a free courtesy van taking guests to and from downtown Cincinnati between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily.

Two-story fitness center, in a glassed-in atrium, is well equipped with cardio machines (ellipticals, treadmills, rowing machines, stationery bicycles), free weights, and weight machines. No charge for guests, and free bottled water. Guests who prefer to swim for fitness can ask for a pass at the front desk to the pool at the nearby YMCA, located one block away.
Transportation
  • Complimentary van to all downtown Cincinnati destinations
  • Cincinnati Union Terminal (Amtrak) (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cincinnati Municipal/Lunken Field (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke Energy Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, home to the Cincinnati Bengals (0.9 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great American Ballpark, home to the Cincinnati Reds (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • More than 9,700 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garfield Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

The Garfield Suites Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Queens Beds with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Great American Ball Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paul Brown Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • U.S. Bank Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Third Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Nippert Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Cintas Center: 3.9 mi
  • Cincinnati Gardens: 6.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CSU Ball
Business
Columbus, GA
May 5, 2011

Garfield Suites

Very Courteous staff! They upgraded our room to the jacuzzi suite free of charge. The only suggestion I could make is that its a little outdated and could use some remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 7, 2011

Don't bother

Unless you are seeing a concert and want to walk to the US Bank Arena, don't bother. Bad neighborhood with lots of homeless and beggers. Hotel is very dated. Mattresses are lumpy with odd smell on linens. Staff tries. Hotel restaurant was nice. Overpaid through [...]because the rooms were sold out directly. Get a deal with free parking if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Mar 21, 2011

2nd time there and will be back

Great space for the money. These used to be apartments or condo's at one time so you get a small apartment. They were over-booked for the one bedroom I reserved so they upgraded me to the two bedroom. It was like you never left home. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lexington, Ky
Mar 17, 2011

Good location, nice large suites.

Close to great downtown restaurants, Arnoff Theater, and quick drive to the Zoo. We stayed in a two bedroom suite that had a large kitchen and living room. Very nice. The 16th floor exercise area that overlooks downtown was super. I will definitely return on my next trip. The only minor inconvenience was the renovations that were taking place in the club area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nicholson's Irish restaurant is less than two blocks away and the food, drink, and atmosphere is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xenios
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 21, 2010

Great place to stay in Downtown

I was in town for business. 1 night only. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The room was fantastic. I could have stayed there for a very long time and been comfortable. The price is very reasonable for what you receive. I wish I could expect this value everywhere I stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lackman is right down the street. Walking the other way will get you to Blackfinn, a pizza shop, and The Righteous Room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 10, 2010

overbooked but helpful

When I arrived 9pm the hotel was very apologetic that they were overbooked and didn't have a room for me, so they put me up nearby at a "fancier" hotel, which was very inconvenient because I had to change hotels back to the first hotel for my second night (because the "fancier" hotel didn't have room for me two nights). They also gave me free parking two days and a ride three blocks to the substitute hotel. Frustrating, but what could they do? I guess get their systems better, or call me before I arrive to let me know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Oct 21, 2010

Very welcoming and "amical"

very welcoming

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Places around to eat

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
derekwin
Business
Anchorage, Alaska
Oct 11, 2010

Great stay

Very nice and rooms. Large and plenty of space. The staff really do try there best to please.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 3, 2010

Watch Out

This hotel was picked b/c we were going to the reds game and I couldn't find anything cheaper in the same star range. I had read previous reviews where someone was booted to another hotel and I thought that was a 1 time thing. Well, they tried to do it to us and I wouldn't let them. It was a 1:00 game; so, our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 11:30 and we left our luggage at the hotel. When we came back after the game to check in, the manager tried to send us to the Millenium or the Hyatt. I explained to him my situation and then he did find us a room after my insistance. Next time, I'll just go ahead and book a room in one of those other hotels and skip the process of reserving a room here and having the possibility of ending up at another hotel. Room was very spacious and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Zanesville, Ohio
Sep 29, 2010

Cincinnati clinches Central div. title

The location was perfect. The shuttle took us to the game and we walked back. The whole city was in party mode after the game. Fantastic experience, in a fantastic hotel. We had a two bedroom suite that was more than I could ever have imagined. This was a 2 bedroom apartment. Complete with a full kitchen. Highly recommend this hotel, and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top