$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Garfield Suites Hotel

3 stars
2 Garfield Place, Cincinnati, OH 45202
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
121 reviews
Great Location

Within walking distance of many great restaurants, from value meals to expensive dining. walked to... See full review

  • The Proud Family
  • Jun 1, 2014
Location, price, full suite

$75 for a full suite w/kitchen right in the heart of downtown? What's not to love? See full review

  • Scoots McGoo
  • May 8, 2014
Spacious apartment-style suites in downtown Cincinnati
At Garfield Suites Hotel, in the heart of downtown Cincinnati, all accommodations are suites -- multiroom apartments that are more like a condominium than a traditional hotel room. Guests can expect many of the usual hotel amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a complimentary shuttle to nearby destinations, but also reap the benefits of a stay in a unique smoke-free condominium-like property.
Highlights
  • Smoke-free building
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • All-suite set up with separate bedrooms and kitchen
  • Complimentary shuttle to area destinations
Rooms
Condominium-style suites include one-bedroom and two-bedroom arrangements, with separate living room and fully equipped kitchen. Duplex penthouse, with two bedrooms and balcony, is also available. Standard guestroom amenities include free Wi-Fi, free movies on cable, and DVD player.
Features
Garfield Suites Hotel stands out from the Cincinnati hotel crowd with its condominium-style hotel rooms, which are more like a condominium apartment than a traditional hotel room. Suites have one or two bedrooms, separate living room, and fully equipped kitchen. Some suites, priced slightly higher, have balconies.

Guests can expect many of the same amenities they would find in a traditional hotel while enjoying the comfort and convenience of an apartment. Amenities include free Wi-Fi in suites and throughout the hotel, free cocktails during happy hour one night a week, and a free courtesy van taking guests to and from downtown Cincinnati between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m. daily.

Two-story fitness center, in a glassed-in atrium, is well equipped with cardio machines (ellipticals, treadmills, rowing machines, stationery bicycles), free weights, and weight machines. No charge for guests, and free bottled water. Guests who prefer to swim for fitness can ask for a pass at the front desk to the pool at the nearby YMCA, located one block away.
Transportation
  • Complimentary van to all downtown Cincinnati destinations
  • Cincinnati Union Terminal (Amtrak) (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cincinnati Municipal/Lunken Field (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky International Airport (15.1 mi/24.3 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Duke Energy Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Paul Brown Stadium, home to the Cincinnati Bengals (0.9 mi/1.3 km)
  • Great American Ballpark, home to the Cincinnati Reds (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Seven meeting rooms
  • More than 9,700 square feet of meeting space

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Garfield Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

The Garfield Suites Hotel Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite
The room offers 2 Queens Beds with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.
One Bedroom Suite
The room offers 1 Queen Bed with fully equipped kitchen, separate bedroom(s), living room, kitchen, dining area and bath, high speed Internet, hairdryers, iron & ironing board, dual phone lines, in-room key lock safe and 78 cable TV channels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Great American Ball Park: 0.7 mi
  • Paul Brown Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • U.S. Bank Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Fifth Third Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Nippert Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Cintas Center: 3.9 mi
  • Cincinnati Gardens: 6.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Garfield Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
busincincy
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Jan 12, 2012

Great space for business stay

Great downtown location easy to walk to most needs, easy parking and what a large space! living room to work from separate bedroom can't be beat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingalone
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Dec 16, 2011

College Seminar

If you are visiting for the downtown experience this is the place to stay! I am from a very tropical weather area and during my visit there was a freezing rain advisory. I was concerned about my drive the next morning so I called the front desk. The person at the desk reassured me that if I was not comfortable that they would find a ride to get me to my seminar. They were very friendly and helpful. I had colleagues that were jealous that I was able to cook a real dinner while they were stuck eating microwave dinners. If I ever have to travel there again I will definately stay at the Garfield again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fred287
Business
LA
Nov 13, 2011

Sleepless in Cincinnati

This is a dumpy hotel that hasn't been updated in years. Compared with other suites hotels, a pretty low hurdle, this place is really bad. The walls were very thin and I could hear lots of street noise and other guests. The beds were poor quality and the linens even poorer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Bride
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Wedding Disaster

The room that we received (the newlyweds) was not at all like the rooms that I was shown or that are in the pictures on the website. Our room was dark, kitchen was in fair condition, bedding and window treatments were very outdated, towels were small and poor quality, beds were uncomfortable, deck had loose stones and large, dangerous steps and we had to call 2 times to get the upstairs A/C working. The room was fairly clean, but badly in need of some TLC. The other guests rooms varied in quality and cleanliness as well. The elevators were extremely slow and one kept getting stuck in the basement, even though no guests wanted to go there. The front desk staff was attentive and kind during the day, however the night shift did not resolve a situation of significance. There were other hotel guests running up and down hallways in the middle of the night, banging on doors and ringing doorbells while singing and yelling. They offered no financial compensation when staff was alerted in the morning. Our hospitality suite with catered menu was of poor value and we brought drinks and other items which were never put out. We were not there to know otherwise. Finally, the parking garage is a good value, however does not have easy access to the hotel. It is open to the public and I had several near misses by individuals who were trying to get home from work in a hurry. We have stayed at many other local hotels downtown, as well as in other cities. This was by far the worst experience and nothing was done by management to rectify the situation. I would highly recommend not booking your wedding there, as they tend to overbook wedding parties and definitely do not use their catering for your event.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cafed
Business
Bowling Green, OH
Aug 30, 2011

Clean and Comfortable

Locate at downtown, get free shuttle to many attractions, museum, and ball park.Also, high speed Internet, great view. You can cook there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GeffyP
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Business Trip

Very friendly staff and rooms were clean. Lots of things within walking distance. Complimentary van will take you places around downtown and come back and get you for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mother of College girls
Business
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Jul 30, 2011

Ugh!

I traveled to Cincinnati for My daughters orientation. The hotel we chose was only a few miles from the University however one of the worst roads to travel especially at night. The hotel room itself smelled like bad body odor. The linens were old and thin. I will not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Jun 30, 2011

Not what I'd hoped for

We were celebrating our anniversary. I like to go to hotels because I expect things to be newer, cleaner and more up to date than my home. This wasn't the case. The location and the staff were great, but the hotel itself needed a "facelift." For the amount of money we paid, I would have driven a little further out. One thing that really got on my nerves was the doorbell on the outside of our door (hotel converted from apartments to hotel rooms). Someone rang ours at 3 in the morning! Jumped out of our skins!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frankfort Ky
Jun 28, 2011

Yankees-Reds

[...] info said I had a smoking room but there are none in that hotel;[...] Hotel had a nice happy hour w/food and drink. Parking in the hotel garage requires better directions and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

good restaurant in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Garfield Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Davco
Business
El Dorado Hills CA
May 27, 2011

Adequate

The room was large with a family room, kitchen and master suite. The toilet did not flush well. The building is most likely 45 years old. The TV reception was pretty poor and the tv's themselves are antiquated. [...]who runs the shuttle was very cool and helpful and a pleasure to be around. the side splash on the vanithy was pulling away from the wall. So, maintenance is inadequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top