$45 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 5, 2014

Econo Lodge Akron

2 stars
79 Rothrock Road, Akron, OH 44321
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
23 reviews
very nice hotel

location is great, very clean rooms, staff is very friendly.close to food, movies , shopping See full review

  • family from columbus
  • May 5, 2009
Good Value

Courteous staff. See full review

  • Gilbertwb
  • Sep 16, 2007
We conveniently located close to several area businesses, attractions and restaurants. We are easily accessible, just off I-77. Stay with us and enjoy the free WIFI. We also offer free continental breakfast every day and all our rooms have a hair dryers, coffee makers, iron and ironing boards, microwaves and small refrigerators. Pets allowed. Pet fee 10 USD per night, max 50 pounds.

Hotel Map

41.1341 -81.6475
Nearby airports
Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Arpt, (CLE), 22.00, MI, NW; Akron-Canton Airport, (CAK), 25.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, I-77 / Exit 137A

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Akron also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • James A. Rhodes Arena: 8.3 mi
  • InfoCision Stadium � Summa Field: 8.4 mi
  • Rubber Bowl: 12 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Akron

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Batman01
Business
Ohio
Mar 30, 2014

It's ok

It was ok nothing special. You honestly get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRabbitts
Business
Wooster, OH 44691, USA
Mar 16, 2014

Room for a night only

we have to attend a two day seminar, we wanted to say in a room with economical. we asked for a non-smoking room and did not get one. it was close by but that was the only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KelRupp
Business
Ohio
Dec 30, 2013

Cheap and not too disgusting

We weren't looking to be pampered. We just needed a bed to sleep in while out of town to attend a party. Sure, it wasn't the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, but it wasn't horrible. The bed was comfortable enough, and it was just a few miles from the party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bowenby
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 22, 2013

terrible hotel and stay

Disgusting room, unhelpful staff, and horrible breakfast. We had a reservation for 4 days, and left after the first day. It was worth leaving and paying for another hotel (the Baymont across the street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
had to leave
Business
Colorado
Sep 19, 2012

Horrible, left after 2 hours

I had requested a non-smoking room and at check-in was assigned a room that wreaked (overwhelmingly!) of incense. To a non-smoker, a room filled with incense smoke is just as bad as cigarette smoke. I was told the only other available room was a smoking room. Since my room was non-refundable I tried to get though by opening the window and the hotel room door which made no difference, especially as some person was outside talking on their cell phone and smoking a cigarette. The shower floor was covered in grey grime, the toilet seat had body hairs stuck to it, the sink had toothpaste scum left in it and the mirror had toothpaste dots all over it. One of the towels was stained grey. When I turned down the covers there was a body hair on the fitted sheet. I removed the flat sheet and tried to sleep in the chair but the smell of the incense was beyond nauseating so I left after 2 hours. Miserable experience in a filthy, disgusting hotel. Incidentally, the entire hotel was smoky & had several sketchy men just hanging around outside smoking. I didn't feel safe here. The gal at the front desk, while not being able to accommodate me at all due to lack of rooms, was quite nice though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There were several restaurants within close proximity to this hotel however, my biggest tip would be to stay at ANY of the other hotels nearby. You still are close to all the restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PastorRD
Business
Flint, MI
Jul 29, 2012

Good enough, not great.

The bed was comfortable and I was pleased to see an iron & ironing board and a coffee maker that makes 4 cups rather than a single cup. There wasn't creamer and sugar enough for 4 cups though. The guy at the desk could have been a LOT friendlier. At least say, "Hello" when I walk in and don't just stare at me. The continental breakfast was only fair, 2 out of 5 stars. The toilet in the room was very loose on the floor (actually could move side to side). I was afraid that when I flushed it might soak the room below me! The shower rod was also very loose. I would stay there again if I needed to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Cracker Barrel is close!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
daniellemichelle
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 4, 2012

Not very clean

Found multiple hairs in bathroom, on phone, and in one of the beds. Very gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DAKDAK
Business
wheeling,wv
Nov 23, 2011

overnight stay

Room was spacious but smelled like smoke. Nonsmoker room but had cigarette ashes in the ice bucket

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ram AK
Business
Michigan
Oct 10, 2011

Cheap - Stay away

The hotel rates are cheap. But you get what you pay for. The rooms have an odd smell. The beds and linens are average. Good enough for a one or two night stay. But do not expect much. The area around is very good. Lots of restaurants and shopping places around. When I entered the hotel lobby, no one was there (it is in the evening at 4 PM). Had to call from the telephone and waited for 15 mins. The room was dripping water from the roof and had to move to a different room. Stay away from this hotel if possible! The only plus point seems to be free internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Akron

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Aug 8, 2011

Econolodge - not Super 8

Spent two nights at the Econolodge in Akron-Copley because I was attending a memorial service. Dank, dark, dirty. TV remote that only partially worked. Sagging mattress. Holes in the bedding. The "first floor" is actually down six or seven steps making it difficult for an older woman to navigate with luggage. I have nothing good to say about it except it kept the rain off me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive or even, in some cases, short walk. Every conceivable franchise restaurant is within a very short distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top