$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 24, 2014

Days Inn Syracuse University

2 stars
6609 Thompson Rd, Syracuse, NY 13206
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
42 reviews
Business

My experiencing at this hotel is that it was great and comforting! See full review

  • Hope lynae
  • Jul 28, 2012
Price and Location:)

Spent the night to visit with my mom ,who was taken to St. Joseph's Hospital for emergency heart... See full review

  • Nay
  • Jun 17, 2010
Budget prices a few miles from Syracuse University and Le Moyne College

Mornings start with free coffee and doughnuts in the lobby of Days Inn Syracuse University. Just six miles from the airport and also from Syracuse University, the hotel offers basic lodging at affordable prices for families and students visiting the university and those flying in and out of town on business. Access free Wi-Fi from the room, head to the fitness center or drive less than 10 miles to reach one of two major shopping destinations.

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (6 mi/9.6 km)

Highlights

  • Free coffee and doughnuts for breakfast, plus restaurants within walking distance
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Fitness center
  • Pet-friendly rooms available
  • Six miles from the airport and Syracuse University

Rooms

Large picture windows let the light into guest rooms with two double beds or one king at Days Inn Syracuse University. All rooms offer comfortable beds, free wireless Internet access and cable television with ESPN and HBO. Some rooms also include a coffee-maker, microwave and refrigerator. Ask about pet-friendly rooms available at this Syracuse hotel.

Features

With easy access to all major highways, Days Inn Syracuse University welcomes guests who arrive after a long drive or flight with ample free parking (trucks and busses are welcome too), free coffee and a complimentary copy of USA Today. Visitors to Le Moyne College are just over three miles away, while those headed to Syracuse University are about six miles away. Adjacent to the hotel, Denny's restaurant serves meals day and night. Several other restaurants are within walking distance or a five-minute drive.

Attractions

  • Alliance Bank Stadium (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Erie Canal Museum (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Downtown Syracuse (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Armory Square (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Carousel Center mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (7.2 mi/11.6 km)
  • Green Lakes State Park (8.2 mi/13.2 km)
  • New York State Fairgrounds (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Thunder Island water park (26.3 mi/42.3 km)    

Business

Free wireless Internet access is available in all rooms at Days Inn Syracuse University.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Syracuse University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0904 -76.0926
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.2 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 4.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Syracuse University

Overall score

2.1 / 5
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

2
Mark57
Business
New York
Mar 4, 2014

Not bad

For the money perfectly adequate. Nothing wonderful, but nothing wrong and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

2
Overslept
Business
Canton, New York
Oct 16, 2013

Needs New Front Desk Help

Very nice room, clean and comfortable. The office staff is not so great!! I called the front desk several times to ask for a wake up call and the clerk wouldn't answer. Upon going to the lobby to see why no one would answer I found the clerk watching tv in the lobby eating French fries ignoring the phone. I asked two times for a wake up call and guess what - no wake up call in the morning. DISAPOINTED

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

1
seasoned traveler LD
Business
NYC
Feb 17, 2013

Misleading hotel name

This is not a "university" hotel in an way at all. It is NOWHERE near any institution of learning in Syracuse. We came to Syracuse specifically to visit the university, and picked this hotel largely because its name suggested it would be close by. My bad for not checking the map, I suppose. But STILL. The name is totally misleading. Then the hotel has NO lit signage outside at night, so it is impossible to find when driving on busy roads in the dark. It looks so run down as to be practically abandoned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

5
Hope lynae
Business
Springfield, illinois
Jul 28, 2012

Business

My experiencing at this hotel is that it was great and comforting!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

2
Megu
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Nov 29, 2011

barely acceptable.

My family of 3 needed a place to stay while visiting relatives in Syracuse. I was hoping that this Days Inn would be solid but it honestly was subpar in every way except the service which was friendly and effective (if a little casual & unprofessional). The room was pretty dirty (carpet, phone, drawers, dust on furniture, etc) and had a broken radiator grill, curtains, and bathroom ventilation fan. The location was fine but ugly. The lobby, halls and elevator were all dingy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It is very quick to get to and from the airport.

Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

1
Prancer
Queens, NY, USA
Nov 16, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

Having only paid just over $100 for two nights, I admit I shouldnt have expected much out of the stay. The staff was very slow when I was checking in and at one point our toilet wouldnt flush and the staff came to our room and gave us attitude because we couldnt figure out how to fix it properly (since thats our job). We never got maid service on Saturday after we left in the morning, therefore had to leave on Sunday without showering since there were no fresh sheets. The room itself was passable but the staff were as poor as it gets... service with a smile takes preference over sleeping on the same sheets two consecutive nights...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

3
Georgemo
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Special attention! (or lack thereof)

Perhaps, there was a breakdown in communication. We were staying for 2 nights, but the next morning the room wasn't done at all, despite the fact that the door was left ajar, just for that purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Jun 3, 2011

not happy

When I checked in I had to wait about 10 minutes for the clerk to come to the desk. If you call the hotel to get hooked to your room you have to call multiple times because nobody answers the phone. There were stains all over and let's just say that there were items found under the bed that were either nasty or not legal. The first room had a used condom wrapper on the floor and the air conditioner did not work. We had to move to another room and that room had a used crack pipe under the bed when we looked for the remote. The crack pipe was turned in to the front office. They were apologetic but I feel we should have been given some sort of restitution for the inconvenience. It served it's purpose but I would not stay there again under any circumstance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Apr 27, 2011

Not so great

Well.. about the only thing nice about our stay was the front desk personnel. The room had no hot water (it was luke warm at best), there were cigarette burns on all the sheets/blankets, and the bathroom was definitely not well cleaned. I would only use this Days Inn as a last resort to stay at again. I'm surprised to have had this experience here. I travel alot and have stayed in plenty of Days Inn hotels -- This is the first time I have had a bad experience with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Syracuse University

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Syracuse New York
Dec 14, 2010

Poorly run

The room was very small. When we arrived, there was only one wash cloth. When I requested a second one, I was told that the laundry would not be done until the next day. The wallpaper going into the room was held up with staples. The toilet would not stop running and the toilet seat was loose. The housekeeping staff did not remake the bed and the mattress was as hard as a rock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinosaur BBQ. An hour wait to get a table, but worth it. Food was great, server was friendly and efficient.

Back to menu Return to top