$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
View map of 670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
College-bound family trip

This was our first trip from Hawaii to Syracuse and we stayed here for two days. We stopped here to... See full review

  • Harvelee L.
  • Apr 20, 2015
Nice for the price

We went for the Baseball Hall of Fame induction and couldn't afford to stay in Cooperstown. This... See full review

  • Kelly F.
  • Jun 17, 2015

Guests can walk to the New York State fairgrounds from Inn at the Fairgrounds, located less than a mile from the entrance. Opened in 2008 as the only full-service hotel walkable to the fairgrounds, the lobby and rooms are spacious while a helpful staff waits behind the desk. Affordable room rates include a free breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices. For lunch or dinner, eat at Daniela's Steakhouse right on site. A fitness center and arcade game room add easy pastimes in any weather.

Rooms

After a day exploring the fairgrounds, look forward to an affordable night of rest in one of 45 rooms at Inn at the Fairgrounds. Basic rooms have a simple, traditional scheme that includes one king bed or two queen beds. Simple but appreciated amenities include a hair dryer, iron and ironing board cable satellite television, coffee-maker and voice mail. Have a seat at the desk to make use of free local calls under 30 minutes and free wireless Internet access. Order room service and eat in (check available hours with front desk).

Property features

With a location easily accessible from the main highway or on foot from the fair, Inn at the Fairgrounds offers free parking plus an ATM, newspapers and coffee in the lobby. Within the hotel, check out the menu at family-owned Daniella's Steakhouse, billed as "The Best little steakhouse in Syracuse." The restaurant is open for lunch until midnight and periodically hosts live entertainment. Select from steak, sandwiches, pasta, chicken or seafood favorites. The hotel sits a few miles from Downtown Syracuse and the popular social district of Armory Square as well as Carousel Center mall.

Highlights

  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free shuttle based on availability
  • Daniela's Steakhouse on site
  • Only full-service hotel within comfortable walking distance of the New York State Fairgrounds, which also hosts many conventions
  • Game room for kids and on-site fitness center

Nearby attractions

  • New York State Fairgrounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Carousel Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Armory Square (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Everson Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Onondaga Lake Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Jamesville Beach (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Turning Stone Casino (38.2 mi/61.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Conference rooms available for small groups

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Free shuttle based on availability (must be scheduled 24 hours prior)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,40LED,MICRFG,SOFBD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Miniature golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.8 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 5.6 mi

Dining

Dunkin Donuts
2.30 mile(s) from Dunkin Donuts, coffee shop, American, open for: breakfast, lunch
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
4.20 mile(s) from Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Koto Japanese Steakhouse
2.90 mile(s) from Koto Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner
Tully's Good Times
2.30 mile(s) from Tully's Good Times, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Azteca Mexican Grill
2.80 mile(s) from Azteca Mexican Grill, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Daniella's Steakhouse
Daniella's Steakhouse, on premises, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Twin Trees
2.30 mile(s) from Twin Trees, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Denny's
3.10 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Johnny Mac's Pizza
1.10 mile(s) from Johnny Mac's Pizza, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse
2.20 mile(s) from Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse, full service, Japanese, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 49
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kelly F.
Business
marietta
Jun 17, 2015

Nice for the price

We went for the Baseball Hall of Fame induction and couldn't afford to stay in Cooperstown. This was very convienent though. The rooms were nice, and employees pleasant. Would recommend,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harvelee L.
Business
N/A
Apr 20, 2015

College-bound family trip

This was our first trip from Hawaii to Syracuse and we stayed here for two days. We stopped here to shop at the nearby shopping mall for our college-bound daughter and found that it was conveniently close and easy to find. For the price, this hotel was perfect for our stay, and the breakfast was great with hot and cold food. Quiet, good parking, but no pool. I can see where it is the best location if you are planning for the state fair. There is a friendly convenience store up the road in case you want an extra cup of coffee, bottled water, snacks, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gator2014
Business
Miami
Jun 20, 2014

Very Nice

Clean, convenient, comfortable. It is a good hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Here There and Everywhere
Business
Millville, NJ
Apr 7, 2014

Up to snuff

Needed a room for a short stay prior to a wedding and Best Western delivered. Room was very clean, reasonably well appointed, and while breakfast was run of the mill, it alleviated the need to stop at McDonalds or similar. Bed was very nice - firm - and linens were in good condition. While a little off the beaten path (seems to be towards the middle of nowhere), unless you are specifically visiting the fairgrounds, it was not so far that it made no sense. Overall good stay and wouldn't hesitate to book another night. Maintains my Best Western brand expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Josh1620
Business
Warwick ri
Jan 13, 2014

Great staff

My family travels to syracuse at least once a year to visit family. This was our first time at the best western inn at the fairgrounds. It was a very good experience. Free breakfast, nice staff and very clean. This will be our choice on the next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Major mall 5 mins away, and would be a perfect choice during the state fair in the fall.

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CesiumQ
Business
Akron, OH
Dec 24, 2013

Great hotel near Thruway

Room was excellent and clean. Good free continental breakfast. Easy on and off from NY Thruway during traveling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandpa c
Business
virginia beach, va
Jul 10, 2012

family gathering for wedding

very nice hotel excellent staff very helpful and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latino griswolds
Business
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Hit the right spot

We arrived late in the evening, after 11 pm, the staff was present, awake, and helpful showing me the back door so I could access the room quickly with my children. The room was very spacious, shockingly so, and fit my small family. For the price and the space this room was close to perfect. The free breakfast only helped, the free internet was also nice. Only takeaway if any was the lack of choice at breakfast. The staff even had a wine opener! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CJE37
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. First, we were put into a "Non-Smoking Room" that smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. We were moved to another "Non-Smoking Room" directly next door which was marginally better, but still awful...Ironically most rooms on the floor had "Non-Smoking Room" signs, but not the ones we had. In addition, the room was directly over the bar/function area where a band played until after midnight. we were told the hotel was full and could not move. However, we saw very few people that night, the next morning and the next day. There were never any cars in the parking lot either. Very strange for a hotel. More disturbing is the discrimination that was evident and on display which I believe prompted the room choice by staff. We were blatantly lied to on more than one accasion as my handicapped child and her certified working service dog were not welcome at this place. We had to fight to have them let us stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toby17
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

didnt have a room for us

We had a confirmation for this hotel through orbits...when we got there they said it was cancelled. We never cancelled this room and it was ironic that there wasn't a manager on duty the whole weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top