$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
46 reviews
Family vacation

The hotel was recently renovated; very clean, room is spacious, very good price. We loved our stay See full review

  • IraR
  • Nov 19, 2013
Very Nice

Clean, convenient, comfortable. It is a good hotel See full review

  • Gator2014
  • Jun 20, 2014
Walk to the fairgrounds with free hot breakfast and arcade room

Guests can walk to the New York State fairgrounds from Inn at the Fairgrounds, located less than a mile from the entrance. Opened in 2008 as the only full-service hotel walkable to the fairgrounds, the lobby and rooms are spacious while a helpful staff waits behind the desk. Affordable room rates include a free breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices. For lunch or dinner, eat at Daniela's Steakhouse right on site. A fitness center and arcade game room add easy pastimes in any weather.

Highlights

  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free shuttle based on availability
  • Daniela's Steakhouse on site
  • Only full-service hotel within comfortable walking distance of the New York State Fairgrounds, which also hosts many conventions
  • Game room for kids and on-site fitness center

Rooms

After a day exploring the fairgrounds, look forward to an affordable night of rest in one of 45 rooms at Inn at the Fairgrounds. Basic rooms have a simple, traditional scheme that includes one king bed or two queen beds. Simple but appreciated amenities include a hair dryer, iron and ironing board cable satellite television, coffee-maker and voice mail. Have a seat at the desk to make use of free local calls under 30 minutes and free wireless Internet access. Order room service and eat in (check available hours with front desk).

Festures

With a location easily accessible from the main highway or on foot from the fair, Inn at the Fairgrounds offers free parking plus an ATM, newspapers and coffee in the lobby. Within the hotel, check out the menu at family-owned Daniella's Steakhouse, billed as "The Best little steakhouse in Syracuse." The restaurant is open for lunch until midnight and periodically hosts live entertainment. Select from steak, sandwiches, pasta, chicken or seafood favorites. The hotel sits a few miles from Downtown Syracuse and the popular social district of Armory Square as well as Carousel Center mall.

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Free shuttle based on availability (must be scheduled 24 hours prior)
Attractions

  • New York State Fairgrounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Carousel Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Armory Square (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Everson Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Onondaga Lake Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Jamesville Beach (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Turning Stone Casino (38.2 mi/61.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Conference rooms available for small groups

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,40LED,MICRFG,SOFBD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Miniature golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.8 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 5.6 mi

Dining

Johnny Mac's Pizza
1.10 mile(s) from Johnny Mac's Pizza, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Daniella's Steakhouse
Daniella's Steakhouse, on premises, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Twin Trees
2.30 mile(s) from Twin Trees, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Burger King
2.30 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Denny's
3.10 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Gigino's Pizzeria
1.50 mile(s) from Gigino's Pizzeria, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Dunkin Donuts
2.30 mile(s) from Dunkin Donuts, coffee shop, American, open for: breakfast, lunch
Taco Bell
2.30 mile(s) from Taco Bell, fast food, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Uno Chicago Grill
2.90 mile(s) from Uno Chicago Grill, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Coppertop Tavern
2.20 mile(s) from Coppertop Tavern, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TarheelAL
Business
Harriman, NY
Apr 22, 2014

Nice but noisy

Booking website led me to believe this hotel was in the center of Syracuse, but really it is on the outskirts surrounded by ugly factories, train tracks, and empty fairgrounds. However the hotel was nice and clean on the inside. Everything was fine until we tried to go to sleep and there were several families with young children letting them run constantly up and down the hall on the floor above us at midnight and 1am. We called the front desk several times and they really did nothing to try and help the situation. These same kids were up and running before 7am. The whole reason my husband and I booked this room was to get one precious night away from the noise of our OWN kids, and for that reason it was a complete waste of money. We were very disappointed. However after we complained the corporate office sent us a $35 gift card for a future stay. Next time we will request a "quiet area room" and see if that is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
emeritus prof
Business
Ohio
Mar 10, 2014

good stay

Nice rooms, clean, fresh linen, large tv, beautiful bathroom, very clean. Very nice staff; friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
IraR
Business
Toronto, NY
Nov 19, 2013

Family vacation

The hotel was recently renovated; very clean, room is spacious, very good price. We loved our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane 2012
Business
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Sep 4, 2012

New York State Fair Trip

Check in was very quick. Our room was on the second floor and very clean. The easy chair they used to have in the room wasn't there, but other than that we were very pleased. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We went to the New York State Fair and the hotel had a shuttle service, which was very convenient and easy to use. I would definitely stay next year at the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol Martin Weeks Perko
Business
Myrtle Beach,SC
Aug 30, 2012

State Fair Visit

Room was large,clean & comfortable - Staff very pleasant. Restaurant service was great and food good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baseball queen
Business
New Yorker
Mar 26, 2012

Free Breakfast

Breakfast was poor. At 9am on a Saturday, bins we empty, no eggs or breakffast meats, orange juice was empty. no butter for toast or waffles. Syrup was watered down. Waffles then tasted like water, no flavor. When approached desk regarding assistance we were told to wait 5 minutes. after 10 minutes other hotel guest asked same questions and were told 5 minutes. Very disappointed. Probably would not stay there again. Holet out in the middle of no where. Among factories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NO nightlife or shopping within 5 miles...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAB Three
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Pretty Good

At first it was not so good. Room was suppose to be non-smoking. The bar had no one attending it . Once we informed the front desk of the smell in the room we were placed in a much better room. Once the bar tender came we were treated quickly and tastefully. We ate at the restaurant,one of the appetizers was overly salted. But that was taken away and off our bill. The rest of the meal and the cocktails were very well made. Overall the customer service was great. We will be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Oct 31, 2010

Good for a getaway

Came here to meet my long distance boyfriend for our anniversary. Hotel was easy to get to and was suitable for the weekend. Our room needed vacuuming, there were some chip crumbs on the floor. I'm smoke sensitive and I was fine there. Sometimes I could smell smoke from the hallway, but I never woke up with itchy eyes or stuffy nose or a sore throat like I do if I sleep at a house with smokers. Breakfast was OK, if you wake up too late there is a diner not far that is delicious and cheap. Very easy to get downtown and close to the fairgrounds for Fright Night. Not the most romantic place, but good enough for our needs and close to a lot of things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinosaur Barbeque is absolutely awesome. It is a short ride downtown. They probably had the best ribs I ever had. Meme's Diner down the street is very good and cheap. Never ate at the steakhouse attached to the hotel as it was very expensive for the menu options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Aug 9, 2010

perfect one day getaway

this was a perfect one day getaway location. a day at the carousel mall was complimented by our enjoyable stay at the affordable inn at the fairgrounds. their restaurant on site was very enjoyable with a small and welcoming atmosphere. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leominster, MA
Jun 29, 2010

Comfort at the Inn

It was a place to lay our heads while on our way home. An older hotel that could use some updating. However, for the price and location, we found it to be adequate. Upon our arrival we gave the girl at the desk our confirmation letter. She had no record of our stay, but she honored the letter and gave us a room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top