$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
71 reviews
Family vacation

The hotel was recently renovated; very clean, room is spacious, very good price. We loved our stay See full review

  • IraR
  • Nov 19, 2013
Very Nice

Clean, convenient, comfortable. It is a good hotel See full review

  • Gator2014
  • Jun 20, 2014
Walk to the fairgrounds with free hot breakfast and arcade room

Guests can walk to the New York State fairgrounds from Inn at the Fairgrounds, located less than a mile from the entrance. Opened in 2008 as the only full-service hotel walkable to the fairgrounds, the lobby and rooms are spacious while a helpful staff waits behind the desk. Affordable room rates include a free breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices. For lunch or dinner, eat at Daniela's Steakhouse right on site. A fitness center and arcade game room add easy pastimes in any weather.

Highlights

  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free shuttle based on availability
  • Daniela's Steakhouse on site
  • Only full-service hotel within comfortable walking distance of the New York State Fairgrounds, which also hosts many conventions
  • Game room for kids and on-site fitness center

Rooms

After a day exploring the fairgrounds, look forward to an affordable night of rest in one of 45 rooms at Inn at the Fairgrounds. Basic rooms have a simple, traditional scheme that includes one king bed or two queen beds. Simple but appreciated amenities include a hair dryer, iron and ironing board cable satellite television, coffee-maker and voice mail. Have a seat at the desk to make use of free local calls under 30 minutes and free wireless Internet access. Order room service and eat in (check available hours with front desk).

Festures

With a location easily accessible from the main highway or on foot from the fair, Inn at the Fairgrounds offers free parking plus an ATM, newspapers and coffee in the lobby. Within the hotel, check out the menu at family-owned Daniella's Steakhouse, billed as "The Best little steakhouse in Syracuse." The restaurant is open for lunch until midnight and periodically hosts live entertainment. Select from steak, sandwiches, pasta, chicken or seafood favorites. The hotel sits a few miles from Downtown Syracuse and the popular social district of Armory Square as well as Carousel Center mall.

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Free shuttle based on availability (must be scheduled 24 hours prior)
Attractions

  • New York State Fairgrounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Carousel Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Armory Square (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Everson Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Onondaga Lake Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Jamesville Beach (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Turning Stone Casino (38.2 mi/61.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Conference rooms available for small groups

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,40LED,MICRFG,SOFBD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Miniature golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.0814 -76.228
Area served
Cooperstown, New York City, Niagara Falls, Toronto,, Albany, Buffalo, Rochester, Watertown
Nearby airports
(SYR), 10.00, MI, S;
Area description
Expressway

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.8 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 5.6 mi

Dining

Coppertop Tavern
2.20 mile(s) from Coppertop Tavern, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Denny's
3.10 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Daniella's Steakhouse
Daniella's Steakhouse, on premises, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Twin Trees
2.30 mile(s) from Twin Trees, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Panera Bread
2.40 mile(s) from Panera Bread, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Dinosaur Bar-B-Que
4.20 mile(s) from Dinosaur Bar-B-Que, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Burger King
2.30 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Dunkin Donuts
2.30 mile(s) from Dunkin Donuts, coffee shop, American, open for: breakfast, lunch
Applebee's
3.40 mile(s) from Applebee's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Five Guys Burgers & Fries
2.40 mile(s) from Five Guys Burgers & Fries, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CJE37
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. First, we were put into a "Non-Smoking Room" that smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. We were moved to another "Non-Smoking Room" directly next door which was marginally better, but still awful...Ironically most rooms on the floor had "Non-Smoking Room" signs, but not the ones we had. In addition, the room was directly over the bar/function area where a band played until after midnight. we were told the hotel was full and could not move. However, we saw very few people that night, the next morning and the next day. There were never any cars in the parking lot either. Very strange for a hotel. More disturbing is the discrimination that was evident and on display which I believe prompted the room choice by staff. We were blatantly lied to on more than one accasion as my handicapped child and her certified working service dog were not welcome at this place. We had to fight to have them let us stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toby17
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

didnt have a room for us

We had a confirmation for this hotel through orbits...when we got there they said it was cancelled. We never cancelled this room and it was ironic that there wasn't a manager on duty the whole weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rebrown
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Not adequate

I requested a non-smoking room and didn't get it. Yuck! My room was right over the restaurant where a band was playing until late. Double yuck. The location was good - close to but not right on the I690 freeway. I was glad I only had a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northampton, Pa
Nov 12, 2010

Not so great, but ok

I changed rooms soon after I got there. Make sure you don't ge a room in the wing of the hotel where the steak house is located ! It has a bar that plays VERY loud music, which reverbrates through the walls, THUMP, THUMP,THUMP ! And it doesn't stop till after midnight. I changed rooms to the opposite end of the hotel, which was quiet. I booked a King, and none were available. Room was clean, bed not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2010

Over priced

The TV and one of the floor lamps did not work. Lighting of the room was dark. Staff did not tell you that a computer was available for guest. Staff started breaking down the Breakfast room by 9:40. Breakfast was ffrom 7:am to 10:am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llws
cooperstown ny
Sep 11, 2009

location was great. But thats all.

Room was clean enough but the hall way smelled of cigarette smoke and it was a non smoking area. Not enough shampoo and conditioner for four guests. The continental breakfast was ok but it was advertised as hot. Hot lead me to believe there would be actual hot food for you not instant cereal and bagels. We went to the NY State Fair and location was perfect. However when we checked in the night clerk wanted my credit card and I told her my card was already charged and she argued with me and told me they never charge the card till you check in. She did not give me a chance to explain that I had done all of my booking threw Orbitz. Eventually she realized that the card was charged threw orbitz. She did apologize but she had already irritated me as we had attended a concert that ended about 11pm. So we were already tired and now irritated as well. Then we were given the wrong key card and sent to the wrong room as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llws
cooperstown ny
Sep 11, 2009

location was great. But thats all.

Room was clean enough but the hall way smelled of cigarette smoke and it was a non smoking area. Not enough shampoo and conditioner for four guests. The continental breakfast was ok but it was advertised as hot. Hot lead me to believe there would be actual hot food for you not instant cereal and bagels. We went to the NY State Fair and location was perfect. However when we checked in the night clerk wanted my credit card and I told her my card was already charged and she argued with me and told me they never charge the card till you check in. She did not give me a chance to explain that I had done all of my booking threw Orbitz. Eventually she realized that the card was charged threw orbitz. She did apologize but she had already irritated me as we had attended a concert that ended about 11pm. So we were already tired and now irritated as well. Then we were given the wrong key card and sent to the wrong room as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rebrown
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Not adequate

I requested a non-smoking room and didn't get it. Yuck! My room was right over the restaurant where a band was playing until late. Double yuck. The location was good - close to but not right on the I690 freeway. I was glad I only had a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northampton, Pa
Nov 12, 2010

Not so great, but ok

I changed rooms soon after I got there. Make sure you don't ge a room in the wing of the hotel where the steak house is located ! It has a bar that plays VERY loud music, which reverbrates through the walls, THUMP, THUMP,THUMP ! And it doesn't stop till after midnight. I changed rooms to the opposite end of the hotel, which was quiet. I booked a King, and none were available. Room was clean, bed not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2010

Over priced

The TV and one of the floor lamps did not work. Lighting of the room was dark. Staff did not tell you that a computer was available for guest. Staff started breaking down the Breakfast room by 9:40. Breakfast was ffrom 7:am to 10:am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top