$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 18, 2015 Check-out: Mar 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
View map of 670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
46 reviews
Family vacation

The hotel was recently renovated; very clean, room is spacious, very good price. We loved our stay See full review

  • IraR
  • Nov 19, 2013
Very Nice

Clean, convenient, comfortable. It is a good hotel See full review

  • Gator2014
  • Jun 20, 2014
Walk to the fairgrounds with free hot breakfast and arcade room

Guests can walk to the New York State fairgrounds from Inn at the Fairgrounds, located less than a mile from the entrance. Opened in 2008 as the only full-service hotel walkable to the fairgrounds, the lobby and rooms are spacious while a helpful staff waits behind the desk. Affordable room rates include a free breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices. For lunch or dinner, eat at Daniela's Steakhouse right on site. A fitness center and arcade game room add easy pastimes in any weather.

Highlights

  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free shuttle based on availability
  • Daniela's Steakhouse on site
  • Only full-service hotel within comfortable walking distance of the New York State Fairgrounds, which also hosts many conventions
  • Game room for kids and on-site fitness center

Rooms

After a day exploring the fairgrounds, look forward to an affordable night of rest in one of 45 rooms at Inn at the Fairgrounds. Basic rooms have a simple, traditional scheme that includes one king bed or two queen beds. Simple but appreciated amenities include a hair dryer, iron and ironing board cable satellite television, coffee-maker and voice mail. Have a seat at the desk to make use of free local calls under 30 minutes and free wireless Internet access. Order room service and eat in (check available hours with front desk).

Festures

With a location easily accessible from the main highway or on foot from the fair, Inn at the Fairgrounds offers free parking plus an ATM, newspapers and coffee in the lobby. Within the hotel, check out the menu at family-owned Daniella's Steakhouse, billed as "The Best little steakhouse in Syracuse." The restaurant is open for lunch until midnight and periodically hosts live entertainment. Select from steak, sandwiches, pasta, chicken or seafood favorites. The hotel sits a few miles from Downtown Syracuse and the popular social district of Armory Square as well as Carousel Center mall.

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Free shuttle based on availability (must be scheduled 24 hours prior)
Attractions

  • New York State Fairgrounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Carousel Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Armory Square (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Everson Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Onondaga Lake Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Jamesville Beach (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Turning Stone Casino (38.2 mi/61.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Conference rooms available for small groups

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,40LED,MICRFG,SOFBD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Miniature golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.8 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 5.6 mi

Dining

Daniella's Steakhouse
Daniella's Steakhouse, on premises, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Tully's Good Times
2.30 mile(s) from Tully's Good Times, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Denny's
3.10 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Johnny Mac's Pizza
1.10 mile(s) from Johnny Mac's Pizza, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Gigino's Pizzeria
1.50 mile(s) from Gigino's Pizzeria, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Uno Chicago Grill
2.90 mile(s) from Uno Chicago Grill, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Applebee's
3.40 mile(s) from Applebee's, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Taco Bell
2.30 mile(s) from Taco Bell, fast food, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Coppertop Tavern
2.20 mile(s) from Coppertop Tavern, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Azteca Mexican Grill
2.80 mile(s) from Azteca Mexican Grill, full service, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toby17
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

didnt have a room for us

We had a confirmation for this hotel through orbits...when we got there they said it was cancelled. We never cancelled this room and it was ironic that there wasn't a manager on duty the whole weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CJE37
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. First, we were put into a "Non-Smoking Room" that smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. We were moved to another "Non-Smoking Room" directly next door which was marginally better, but still awful...Ironically most rooms on the floor had "Non-Smoking Room" signs, but not the ones we had. In addition, the room was directly over the bar/function area where a band played until after midnight. we were told the hotel was full and could not move. However, we saw very few people that night, the next morning and the next day. There were never any cars in the parking lot either. Very strange for a hotel. More disturbing is the discrimination that was evident and on display which I believe prompted the room choice by staff. We were blatantly lied to on more than one accasion as my handicapped child and her certified working service dog were not welcome at this place. We had to fight to have them let us stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
llws
Business
cooperstown ny
Sep 11, 2009

location was great. But thats all.

Room was clean enough but the hall way smelled of cigarette smoke and it was a non smoking area. Not enough shampoo and conditioner for four guests. The continental breakfast was ok but it was advertised as hot. Hot lead me to believe there would be actual hot food for you not instant cereal and bagels. We went to the NY State Fair and location was perfect. However when we checked in the night clerk wanted my credit card and I told her my card was already charged and she argued with me and told me they never charge the card till you check in. She did not give me a chance to explain that I had done all of my booking threw Orbitz. Eventually she realized that the card was charged threw orbitz. She did apologize but she had already irritated me as we had attended a concert that ended about 11pm. So we were already tired and now irritated as well. Then we were given the wrong key card and sent to the wrong room as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northampton, Pa
Nov 12, 2010

Not so great, but ok

I changed rooms soon after I got there. Make sure you don't ge a room in the wing of the hotel where the steak house is located ! It has a bar that plays VERY loud music, which reverbrates through the walls, THUMP, THUMP,THUMP ! And it doesn't stop till after midnight. I changed rooms to the opposite end of the hotel, which was quiet. I booked a King, and none were available. Room was clean, bed not very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rebrown
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Not adequate

I requested a non-smoking room and didn't get it. Yuck! My room was right over the restaurant where a band was playing until late. Double yuck. The location was good - close to but not right on the I690 freeway. I was glad I only had a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 13, 2010

Over priced

The TV and one of the floor lamps did not work. Lighting of the room was dark. Staff did not tell you that a computer was available for guest. Staff started breaking down the Breakfast room by 9:40. Breakfast was ffrom 7:am to 10:am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Edman
Business
Binghamton, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Inn at the Fair grounds

I've have stayed here on many occasions as I do business in Syracuse, N.Y. It is very clean and the rooms are comfortable with TV and Wi-Fi access. The best part of the hotel is the attached restaurant called "Daniella's" which has excellent food especially their steaks. It is also in close proximity to downtown Syracuse. If you stay there be sure to also check out Dinosaur Bar - B - Q in downtown Syracuse!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baseball queen
Business
New Yorker
Mar 26, 2012

Free Breakfast

Breakfast was poor. At 9am on a Saturday, bins we empty, no eggs or breakffast meats, orange juice was empty. no butter for toast or waffles. Syrup was watered down. Waffles then tasted like water, no flavor. When approached desk regarding assistance we were told to wait 5 minutes. after 10 minutes other hotel guest asked same questions and were told 5 minutes. Very disappointed. Probably would not stay there again. Holet out in the middle of no where. Among factories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NO nightlife or shopping within 5 miles...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryOfindy
Business
indy
May 15, 2012

Graduation

Running toilet had them work on itq still kept running all night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TarheelAL
Business
Harriman, NY
Apr 22, 2014

Nice but noisy

Booking website led me to believe this hotel was in the center of Syracuse, but really it is on the outskirts surrounded by ugly factories, train tracks, and empty fairgrounds. However the hotel was nice and clean on the inside. Everything was fine until we tried to go to sleep and there were several families with young children letting them run constantly up and down the hall on the floor above us at midnight and 1am. We called the front desk several times and they really did nothing to try and help the situation. These same kids were up and running before 7am. The whole reason my husband and I booked this room was to get one precious night away from the noise of our OWN kids, and for that reason it was a complete waste of money. We were very disappointed. However after we complained the corporate office sent us a $35 gift card for a future stay. Next time we will request a "quiet area room" and see if that is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top