$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
View map of 670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CJE37
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. First, we were put into a "Non-Smoking Room" that smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. We were moved to another "Non-Smoking Room" directly next door which was marginally better, but still awful...Ironically most rooms on the floor had "Non-Smoking Room" signs, but not the ones we had. In addition, the room was directly over the bar/function area where a band played until after midnight. we were told the hotel was full and could not move. However, we saw very few people that night, the next morning and the next day. There were never any cars in the parking lot either. Very strange for a hotel. More disturbing is the discrimination that was evident and on display which I believe prompted the room choice by staff. We were blatantly lied to on more than one accasion as my handicapped child and her certified working service dog were not welcome at this place. We had to fight to have them let us stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toby17
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

didnt have a room for us

We had a confirmation for this hotel through orbits...when we got there they said it was cancelled. We never cancelled this room and it was ironic that there wasn't a manager on duty the whole weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rebrown
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Not adequate

I requested a non-smoking room and didn't get it. Yuck! My room was right over the restaurant where a band was playing until late. Double yuck. The location was good - close to but not right on the I690 freeway. I was glad I only had a one night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coongirl
Business
New Jersey, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Very convenient and comfortable

This was a nice hotel for the price. However, the room smelled like smoke (badly) even tough I requested non-smoking. Otherwise it was comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dwall42445
Business
California, USA
Aug 18, 2011

great value

Took a chance based on reviews from multiple websites and was very happy with the overall product. Stayed at Maplewood last time and for $20 cheaper I thought it was a much better value. Nice clean rooms. Super clean bathrooms with ceramic tile floors. They have an exercise room that could use some improvement. The breakfast is much better than Maplewood but could use some fresh fruit selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Edman
Business
Binghamton, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Inn at the Fair grounds

I've have stayed here on many occasions as I do business in Syracuse, N.Y. It is very clean and the rooms are comfortable with TV and Wi-Fi access. The best part of the hotel is the attached restaurant called "Daniella's" which has excellent food especially their steaks. It is also in close proximity to downtown Syracuse. If you stay there be sure to also check out Dinosaur Bar - B - Q in downtown Syracuse!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Edman
Business
Binghamton, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

Inn at the Fair grounds

I've have stayed here on many occasions as I do business in Syracuse, N.Y. It is very clean and the rooms are comfortable with TV and Wi-Fi access. The best part of the hotel is the attached restaurant called "Daniella's" which has excellent food especially their steaks. It is also in close proximity to downtown Syracuse. If you stay there be sure to also check out Dinosaur Bar - B - Q in downtown Syracuse!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Aug 6, 2011

Short Stay

Due to a flight cancelation we did not get to hotel until 3 AM. The girl at the desk was very nice and understanding. Left the next day by check out time. So our stay was very short.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
accord ny
Mar 14, 2011

nice for the price

great price for the area we were searching

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

went to show at carrier dome and it was easy access

Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sylvan Beach Iceman
Business
Rio Rancho, NM
Nov 21, 2010

Comfortable and affordable

Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was sufficient. Fresh fruit would have been a nice touch. Non-smoking room was clean and well cared for. TV, heater, shower, clock radio, etc. worked well. Being only 5'6" tall, adjusting the shower head spray was near impossible without doing a balancing act on the tub edge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant is high end and a bit pricey for our budget.

Back to menu Return to top