$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 11, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

3 stars
670 State Fair Boulevard, Syracuse, NY 13209-1308
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
46 reviews
Family vacation

The hotel was recently renovated; very clean, room is spacious, very good price. We loved our stay See full review

  • IraR
  • Nov 19, 2013
Very Nice

Clean, convenient, comfortable. It is a good hotel See full review

  • Gator2014
  • Jun 20, 2014
Walk to the fairgrounds with free hot breakfast and arcade room

Guests can walk to the New York State fairgrounds from Inn at the Fairgrounds, located less than a mile from the entrance. Opened in 2008 as the only full-service hotel walkable to the fairgrounds, the lobby and rooms are spacious while a helpful staff waits behind the desk. Affordable room rates include a free breakfast buffet with hot and cold choices. For lunch or dinner, eat at Daniela's Steakhouse right on site. A fitness center and arcade game room add easy pastimes in any weather.

Highlights

  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free shuttle based on availability
  • Daniela's Steakhouse on site
  • Only full-service hotel within comfortable walking distance of the New York State Fairgrounds, which also hosts many conventions
  • Game room for kids and on-site fitness center

Rooms

After a day exploring the fairgrounds, look forward to an affordable night of rest in one of 45 rooms at Inn at the Fairgrounds. Basic rooms have a simple, traditional scheme that includes one king bed or two queen beds. Simple but appreciated amenities include a hair dryer, iron and ironing board cable satellite television, coffee-maker and voice mail. Have a seat at the desk to make use of free local calls under 30 minutes and free wireless Internet access. Order room service and eat in (check available hours with front desk).

Festures

With a location easily accessible from the main highway or on foot from the fair, Inn at the Fairgrounds offers free parking plus an ATM, newspapers and coffee in the lobby. Within the hotel, check out the menu at family-owned Daniella's Steakhouse, billed as "The Best little steakhouse in Syracuse." The restaurant is open for lunch until midnight and periodically hosts live entertainment. Select from steak, sandwiches, pasta, chicken or seafood favorites. The hotel sits a few miles from Downtown Syracuse and the popular social district of Armory Square as well as Carousel Center mall.

Transportation

  • Syracuse Hancock International Airport (9.7 mi/15.6 km)
  • Free shuttle based on availability (must be scheduled 24 hours prior)
Attractions

  • New York State Fairgrounds (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rosamond Gifford Zoo (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Carousel Center (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Armory Square (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Oncenter Complex convention center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Everson Museum of Art (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Onondaga Lake Park (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Carrier Dome (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Jamesville Beach (14.3 mi/23 km)
  • Turning Stone Casino (38.2 mi/61.5 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Conference rooms available for small groups

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,40LED,HISPD,REFRIG,COFMKR,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,WHRPL,40LED,MICRFG,SOFBD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACC,COMMASSIST,ROLL SHWR,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Miniature golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • War Memorial at Oncenter: 4.8 mi
  • Carrier Dome: 5.6 mi

Dining

Johnny Mac's Pizza
1.10 mile(s) from Johnny Mac's Pizza, fast food, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Daniella's Steakhouse
Daniella's Steakhouse, on premises, full service, steak house, open for: lunch, dinner
Twin Trees
2.30 mile(s) from Twin Trees, full service, Italian, open for: lunch, dinner
Burger King
2.30 mile(s) from Burger King, fast food, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Denny's
3.10 mile(s) from Denny's, full service, American, open for: breakfast, lunch, dinner
Gigino's Pizzeria
1.50 mile(s) from Gigino's Pizzeria, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Dunkin Donuts
2.30 mile(s) from Dunkin Donuts, coffee shop, American, open for: breakfast, lunch
Taco Bell
2.30 mile(s) from Taco Bell, fast food, Mexican, open for: lunch, dinner
Uno Chicago Grill
2.90 mile(s) from Uno Chicago Grill, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner
Coppertop Tavern
2.20 mile(s) from Coppertop Tavern, full service, American, open for: lunch, dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol Martin Weeks Perko
Business
Myrtle Beach,SC
Aug 30, 2012

State Fair Visit

Room was large,clean & comfortable - Staff very pleasant. Restaurant service was great and food good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
grandpa c
Business
virginia beach, va
Jul 10, 2012

family gathering for wedding

very nice hotel excellent staff very helpful and accomadating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryOfindy
Business
indy
May 15, 2012

Graduation

Running toilet had them work on itq still kept running all night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gambit
Business
New jersey
Apr 2, 2012

The Inn

a rude manager accused us of bringing a dog in to the hotel, and had the nerve to shine a flashlight in to my vehicle to see if the dog was there. She's forttunate I didn't call the police to report someone trying to steal a show dog. Ruined the experience. Breakfast was ordinary -old cereal with crumbs at the bottom of the container. Rooms are very large, extremely clean, comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Small, wonderful, pricey restaurant. Reservations recommended from Friday on through the weekend - especially if there is something happening at the Fairgrounds.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
baseball queen
Business
New Yorker
Mar 26, 2012

Free Breakfast

Breakfast was poor. At 9am on a Saturday, bins we empty, no eggs or breakffast meats, orange juice was empty. no butter for toast or waffles. Syrup was watered down. Waffles then tasted like water, no flavor. When approached desk regarding assistance we were told to wait 5 minutes. after 10 minutes other hotel guest asked same questions and were told 5 minutes. Very disappointed. Probably would not stay there again. Holet out in the middle of no where. Among factories.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

NO nightlife or shopping within 5 miles...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TAB Three
Business
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Pretty Good

At first it was not so good. Room was suppose to be non-smoking. The bar had no one attending it . Once we informed the front desk of the smell in the room we were placed in a much better room. Once the bar tender came we were treated quickly and tastefully. We ate at the restaurant,one of the appetizers was overly salted. But that was taken away and off our bill. The rest of the meal and the cocktails were very well made. Overall the customer service was great. We will be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
latino griswolds
Business
Yorktown Heights, NY, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Hit the right spot

We arrived late in the evening, after 11 pm, the staff was present, awake, and helpful showing me the back door so I could access the room quickly with my children. The room was very spacious, shockingly so, and fit my small family. For the price and the space this room was close to perfect. The free breakfast only helped, the free internet was also nice. Only takeaway if any was the lack of choice at breakfast. The staff even had a wine opener! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbudd1213
Business
Yaphank, NY, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Nice Hotel

Only stayed here one night but I would definitely come back. Everything was very clean, everything worked and I liked that the rooms were fairly large. It was nice that it had a steakhouse attached to the restaurant. One negative that I would say is that it's further from the city of Syracuse than I thought it was. But if you're going to something at the Fairgrounds this is a must-stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out Dinosaur BBQ in the city of Syracuse. From the Inn At The Fairgrounds, it's probably not even a 10 minute drive. Excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CJE37
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Horrible Experience

This was the worst hotel experience I ever had. First, we were put into a "Non-Smoking Room" that smelled like the bottom of an ash tray. We were moved to another "Non-Smoking Room" directly next door which was marginally better, but still awful...Ironically most rooms on the floor had "Non-Smoking Room" signs, but not the ones we had. In addition, the room was directly over the bar/function area where a band played until after midnight. we were told the hotel was full and could not move. However, we saw very few people that night, the next morning and the next day. There were never any cars in the parking lot either. Very strange for a hotel. More disturbing is the discrimination that was evident and on display which I believe prompted the room choice by staff. We were blatantly lied to on more than one accasion as my handicapped child and her certified working service dog were not welcome at this place. We had to fight to have them let us stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN The Inn at the Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
toby17
Business
Allentown, PA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

didnt have a room for us

We had a confirmation for this hotel through orbits...when we got there they said it was cancelled. We never cancelled this room and it was ironic that there wasn't a manager on duty the whole weekend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top