$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 3, 2015

Towpath Motel

2 stars
2323 Monroe Avenue, Rochester, NY 14618
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
10 reviews
Great little hotel

Great little hotel. Very comfortable and clean beds and pillows. No gym. Breakfast is minimal but... See full review

  • K. Martini
  • Dec 9, 2013
Basic, clean, quiet motel

I was in conferences M-F, 9-5 and this motel was just what I needed. Basic amenities, microwave,... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 17, 2010
Just minutes to the Historic High Falls District, and located close to the Erie Canal Locks, University of Rochester, Lake Ontario, local wineries, golfing, biking, shopping, museums, and our annual Lilac Festival each May. Guests of this AAA 1-Diamond Towpath Motel, a Magnuson Hotels affiliate, will enjoy being convenient to downtown along with continental breakfast and free wireless internet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Towpath Motel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Towpath Motel Rooms

1 King Bed Nonsmoking
1 King Bed Nonsmoking. Free continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, iron and board. Smoking rooms may be available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in.
2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking
2 Queen Beds Nonsmoking. Free continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, cable TV with extra stations, air conditioning, free local calls, hairdryer, microwave, mini fridge, iron and board. Smoking rooms may be available upon request. Requests are not guaranteed, and will be granted based on availability at check-in.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 3.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Towpath Motel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
K. Martini
Business
New Jersey
Dec 9, 2013

Great little hotel

Great little hotel. Very comfortable and clean beds and pillows. No gym. Breakfast is minimal but free. Coffee in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, NY
Jan 17, 2010

Basic, clean, quiet motel

I was in conferences M-F, 9-5 and this motel was just what I needed. Basic amenities, microwave, frig, hair dryer, clean, comfortable. It was no frills but that's what I expected and it was really more of a 4.5 overall. Not for those looking to be pampered!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

More amenities to the right out of motel parking lot. Be prepared to really walk a distance on main highway or get in your car and drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl, fl
Oct 23, 2009

convenient and inexpensive; good value

[...] decided to try, since location was conveniently close to highway. It is a great value: quite inexpensive, and you get the basics: clean comfortable bed, free wireless internet, and clean (though not spotless) bathroom. Management is very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cardylion
Business
Rochester, NY
Dec 8, 2009

Towpath Motel

This is a perfectly acceptable alternative to chain hotels. The room was small, but clean, however there was a distinct antiseptic odor. "Continental breakfast" consisted of Cheerios, Raisin Bran, and Fruit Loops, and tiny packaged muffins, plus coffee and Sunny D. All accessed by a tiny space with room for one person, and we had to go back to our room to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

We drove around the city of Rochester for a long time looking for a place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york city
Sep 15, 2009

the price was right

good location for visiting University of Rochester if you want a simple, low cost, bare bones motel. Very friendly management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ddhjuy
Business
ohio
Jul 6, 2014

ddhjuy

Pretty good ,quiet , clean. No bed bugs , hot water .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bellybu
Business
Oakland
Jul 24, 2014

Renewed

One of those Motels that Have been there forever and got a make over, as well as a new TV. They used to be cheap but now are as much as the sterile new ones. k but a little overpriced

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yoyoman
Business
St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada
Sep 22, 2014

Just what you would expect...

The motel was exactly what one would expect from a two-star facility. It was quite well equipped with a mini-fridge, microwave, iron and ironing board. The coffee maker didn't work so it didn't matter that there was no cup to make coffee...;). The value was good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Queens, NY
Oct 21, 2010

Smelly... and not so hygenic, yuk.

The place looked okay, perhaps cute from outside. The pinkish brick facade of the motel kind of gave it a cozy look... but as soon as i walked in from check-in to the room there were indian cultural smell to it. very strong. I couldn't breathe inside the room, got out and got myself some drinks to numb my senses... in the morning taking a shower, i've noticed that there were long curly woman's hair that was still stuck on to the shower wall. it was not good, go to one of the franchised motels. would never come back here again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There's really nothing around this town. Starbucks was half mile away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Towpath Motel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trav49
Business
Rochester NY
Jun 30, 2014

check in issue

Upon check in I was asked for a photo ID. My drivers license was photocopied. ( this is absolutely the first time I have ever had that done). Additionally, the room provided was the one of two that faced the highway. I asked for a different room which the clerk denied having any until I basically left. He followed to my car and finally offer a different room (after 10 minutes of discussion). I prepaid for the room but left anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top