$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

The East Avenue Inn and Suites

2 stars
384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
62 reviews
Clean and Comfortable

We enjoyed our stay at the East Ave Inn and Suites. The room was very clean and the bed and... See full review

  • adairellen
  • Oct 8, 2013
Girlfriend's weekend

Great location! The bathroom was small for the 4 of us. Our room door did not close on its own... See full review

  • Lewster
  • Feb 25, 2013
Budget downtown Rochester hotel with free Wi-Fi and parking

Independently owned and operated, East Avenue Inn - Downtown promises ?the best location for the best price.? Rates indeed are low for the area, and the convenient downtown locale is close to Blue Cross Arena, Rochester Riverside Convention Center, Frontier Field and the High Falls waterfall. Guests can park for free and walk to the arts and cultural district just blocks from the hotel. Spend the afternoon strolling through galleries, shops and cafés. Wireless Internet access is complimentary in each no-frills room.

Highlights

  • Budget rates in a downtown locale
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Walking distance to Rochester arts and cultural venues

Rooms

Floral bedspreads are an old-fashioned touch in the basic rooms at East Avenue Inn - Downtown. Simple accommodations include an alarm clock, cable TV with HBO and telephone. Some rooms also have a mini fridge and microwave for convenience. Lobby vending machines offer an easy option for in-room snacks.

Features

Multiple dining options fill the mile surrounding East Avenue Inn, which is also convenient to the University of Rochester. One half mile from the hotel, the renowned National Museum of Play promises a good time for kids and grownups alike. Top attractions include a toy hall of fame, working passenger train and carousel, a vintage diner and the only year-round indoor butterfly garden in New York. After dark, step out on the town for a walk to Rochester entertainment and nightlife spots.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Attractions

  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum of Play (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (9.1 mi/14.6 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access

The East Avenue Inn and Suites Rooms

Premium Suite w Kitchenette
The Premium Suites are sure to be our most popular option, with kitchenettes and jumbo 55" LCD TV's. Premium Rooms Include: King Size Bed, Kitchenette w/ Fridge, Coffee Machine, Premium Mattress and Linens,Convertible Sofa, MP3 Clock Radio, Safe, Wired & Wireless Internet.
Deluxe King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room, One King Size Bed: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking
Deluxe 2 Full Size Beds
Deluxe Guest Room, Two Full Size Beds: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

43.1558 -77.5936
Area served
Rochester.
Nearby airports
Rochester International Airport.
Area description
Rochester.

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

Dinosaurs Bar B QUE
Restaurant.
Golden Port Dim Sun
Restaurant.
Stromboli Express
Restaurant.
Alexandria's Mediterranean Csn
Restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 62
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vlad D
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 30, 2012

A wonderful stay in Rochester, NY

I was very satisfied with my stay in the "East Avenue Inn and Suites". They have recently (looks like it) renovated some of their rooms and they look great now. The size of the room, the furniture, the cleanliness were way above the grading of this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. The location of this hotel is very good. You are in the middle of East Avenue, with lots of pubs and downtown if you turn right when exiting hotel premises, or with great houses and museums if you turn left. I loved Rochester, and did not even realized that it has so much to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One must visit the George Eastman house and museum, if not for the love of cinema, then simply to see a beautiful house and the gardens.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kolunya
Rochester, NY, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Hotel stay

It was okay, not what i expected for $80 a night, but not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse ny
Jul 24, 2011

HORRIBLE PLACE!!!!

Horrible place! The room was disgusting!!(hairs and stains on bed) Couldent/ and dId not even think about using the bedding, thanks god i didnt have a black light. Room had no fridge,hair dryer,iron etc.. tv was from 1995. Found drugs in the hallway. Had multiple conversations with crackheads everytime i went outside. Even watched the maintenance guy harass a 14yrold who was "living"at thehotel(classy!) IN NO WAY DID IT EVEN COME CLOSE TO THE $100 I PAID FOR THIS RUN DOWN PLACE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse ny
Jul 24, 2011

HORRIBLE PLACE!!!!

Horrible place! The room was disgusting!!(hairs and stains on bed) Couldent/ and dId not even think about using the bedding, thanks god i didnt have a black light. Room had no fridge,hair dryer,iron etc.. tv was from 1995. Found drugs in the hallway. Had multiple conversations with crackheads everytime i went outside. Even watched the maintenance guy harass a 14yrold who was "living"at thehotel(classy!) IN NO WAY DID IT EVEN COME CLOSE TO THE $100 I PAID FOR THIS RUN DOWN PLACE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Apr 11, 2011

Not bad for the price

I live almost next door in Buffalo and stayed 2 nights to hang out with friends and this was one of the cheapest and closest to the Greyhound Station I found. The standard room didn't have a fridge so I had to switch to a study room which was $20 more but worth it cause it was big and comfty. The only problem was that the sofabed just had a simple mattress with no sheets or anything and was uncomfortable. But overall the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and the area was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Apr 11, 2011

Not bad for the price

I live almost next door in Buffalo and stayed 2 nights to hang out with friends and this was one of the cheapest and closest to the Greyhound Station I found. The standard room didn't have a fridge so I had to switch to a study room which was $20 more but worth it cause it was big and comfty. The only problem was that the sofabed just had a simple mattress with no sheets or anything and was uncomfortable. But overall the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and the area was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse,NY
Nov 30, 2010

Great room

The room was super clean! The room was very comfy too. Nice new flat screen tv as well. The staff was very attentive. The location was very easy to find. Plenty of places to eat near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many local eateries very close by.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse,NY
Nov 30, 2010

Great room

The room was super clean! The room was very comfy too. Nice new flat screen tv as well. The staff was very attentive. The location was very easy to find. Plenty of places to eat near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many local eateries very close by.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Nov 30, 2009

You get what you pay for at East Avenue

I got what I paid for. I needed a cheap hotel and that's what the East Avenue Inn is. I'd go again b/c I don't have extravagant hotel needs. Do not go here with your wife. Do not go here with children. The location in great, but the rooms haven't been updated since the 1970's. The tv was small and seemed to be circa 1990.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn
Nov 30, 2009

You get what you pay for at East Avenue

I got what I paid for. I needed a cheap hotel and that's what the East Avenue Inn is. I'd go again b/c I don't have extravagant hotel needs. Do not go here with your wife. Do not go here with children. The location in great, but the rooms haven't been updated since the 1970's. The tv was small and seemed to be circa 1990.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top