$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

The East Avenue Inn and Suites

2 stars
View map of 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
37 reviews
great experience. fantastic location.

Each time we are in Rochester, we stay at the East Ave Inn. We have always been very pleased with... See full review

  • Louise
  • Apr 17, 2015
A wonderful stay in Rochester, NY

I was very satisfied with my stay in the "East Avenue Inn and Suites". They have recently (looks... See full review

  • Vlad D
  • Oct 30, 2012

Independently owned and operated, East Avenue Inn - Downtown promises ?the best location for the best price.? Rates indeed are low for the area, and the convenient downtown locale is close to Blue Cross Arena, Rochester Riverside Convention Center, Frontier Field and the High Falls waterfall. Guests can park for free and walk to the arts and cultural district just blocks from the hotel. Spend the afternoon strolling through galleries, shops and cafés. Wireless Internet access is complimentary in each no-frills room.

Rooms

Floral bedspreads are an old-fashioned touch in the basic rooms at East Avenue Inn - Downtown. Simple accommodations include an alarm clock, cable TV with HBO and telephone. Some rooms also have a mini fridge and microwave for convenience. Lobby vending machines offer an easy option for in-room snacks.

Property features

Multiple dining options fill the mile surrounding East Avenue Inn, which is also convenient to the University of Rochester. One half mile from the hotel, the renowned National Museum of Play promises a good time for kids and grownups alike. Top attractions include a toy hall of fame, working passenger train and carousel, a vintage diner and the only year-round indoor butterfly garden in New York. After dark, step out on the town for a walk to Rochester entertainment and nightlife spots.

Highlights

  • Budget rates in a downtown locale
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Walking distance to Rochester arts and cultural venues

Nearby attractions

  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum of Play (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (9.1 mi/14.6 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The East Avenue Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The East Avenue Inn and Suites Rooms

Premium Suite w Kitchenette
The Premium Suites are sure to be our most popular option, with kitchenettes and jumbo 55" LCD TV's. Premium Rooms Include: King Size Bed, Kitchenette w/ Fridge, Coffee Machine, Premium Mattress and Linens,Convertible Sofa, MP3 Clock Radio, Safe, Wired & Wireless Internet.
Deluxe King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room, One King Size Bed: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking
Deluxe 2 Full Size Beds
Deluxe Guest Room, Two Full Size Beds: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

Ox and Stone
Latin Kitchen just a few blocks away near Mex and Havana Cabana. www.oxandstone.com
Edibles
Martini bar and American bistro that will give NYC a run for its money. Located in the Neighborhood of the Arts. Walking distance. www.ediblesrochester.com
Good Luck
Near Village Gate Square. Innovative, upscale American plates to share in an industrial yet intimate warehouse-style space. Walking distance. www.restaurantgoodluck.com
Village Gate Square
Restaurants offered include: Salena's Mexican Restaurant, California Rollin', Gatehouse Restaurant, & Espada Brazilian Steakhouse. Walking distance. www.villagegatesquare.com
Shema Sushi
Japanese Restaurant located just a few blocks away. www.shemasushi.com
Dinosaur BBQ
Barbecue favorites just a short drive away. www.dinosaurbarbque.com/locations/rochester
Spot Coffee
Coffee, espresso drinks & light bites in busy, spacious digs with big windows & an art deco facade. Walking distance. www.spotcoffee.com
Victoire Belgian Beer Bar
Euro-inspired pub featuring Belgian brews & dishes in addition to classic American bar fare. Walking distance. www.victoirebar.com
City Grill Rochester
Partnered On-site restaurant and bar. www.citygrillrochester.com
Veneto
Gourmet Italian dining just steps away. www.venetorestaurant.com

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center and conference facilities available. Our breakfast room can be used as a cozy and intimate setting for casual get-togethers. We are also partnered with Ballroom 384 for more formal gatherings or parties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 37
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staplic
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 11, 2013

Excellent Location

My stay here was excellent. The rooms were all clean, and well kept, if a little smaller than what I'm used to. The location was excellent, within walking distance of many different locations and nightlife in rochester. And if it wasn't in walking distance the staff offers a shuttle to take you and pick you up from anywhere you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar and Grill. Short walk west of the hotel. Great Food and Saturday nights you get karaoke going that is definitely something to be seen.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewster
Business
Bemus Point, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Girlfriend's weekend

Great location! The bathroom was small for the 4 of us. Our room door did not close on its own therefore we inadvertantly left our room door wide open when we left for dinner. The only thing taken from our room was 2 bottles of wine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jeanner
Business
Whitter, CA
May 8, 2012

a dump

Though the staff was friendly and the location close to Eastman, this is no two-star hotel... 1 at best. The furnishings, walls, bathroom...all of it was in very poor condition. HOWEVER, it is being remodeled, so maybe it will be nicer in the future. I should have paid no more than $50 for a room in this shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChemeChris
Business
Buffalo, NY
May 5, 2012

Depends on what you're looking for

Booked hotel as it was 10 minutes walking distance from the main street armory where Korn was playing. I would recommend this place if you're looking for something cheap and only staying a night or two. The staff was really friendly and it looks like renovations are being done to the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Return home traveler
Business
FL
Feb 14, 2011

Good location, but needs some work.

The hotel staff was nice and the location is perfect for the nightlife in the city, walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and clubs. The inn was a little run down possibly because of the age of the hotel and bad previous management. I think the one real problem I had with the room was how unclean the shower was, and would suggest bringing flipflops for showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
batavia ny
Jan 30, 2011

rating

Was clean could have used spare roll of toilet paper only had little bit and had to get more, had to get another remote, but other than that everything was ok! Location was great for us and we felt it was clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IBelieve
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 10, 2010

Excellent location

A group of ladies attended the Women of Faith Conference being held at the Blue Cross Arena in Rocchester, NY. This hotel was within a mile of the arena and the price was very reasonable. The hotel layout was odd but we were able to walk to the dinner then the arena which was great for us! The room as a bit small for a room with a king sized bed but it was manageable. The bathroom was also on the small size but again, for just an overnight stay it was manageable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shea's was just down the street...the food and service was excellent!

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blahmicho
Business
Syracuse, NY
Jul 9, 2010

East Avenue Inn

We went to Rochester for the Furthur show, and I was really impressed with this hotel. Well, impressed considering it was the cheapest hotel available. The room was nice, the air conditioning worked great, the bed was comfy and gigantic. The location was convenient. The hotel sprawled on and on like a maze. The ice machine was crazy. CONS: The front room smelled like weird oriental spices. Very little in the way of amenities (no breakfast, pool, etc.) and some of the staff didn't speak English

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

OH MAN, ROCHESTER IS AMAZING. The Strong Museum of Play is just a short walk away, and has all these crazy trippy exhibits, fountains, and sprinklers that are open all night

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 2, 2010

Cheap and adequate

I was here this past weekend to attend a wedding. I stayed with a few of my friends and found the room to be just adequate for our needs. We needed beds to sleep in and a bathroom to take maintain our personal hygiene. Beds and pillows were not too comfortable, the lighting in the room was poor, and the air conditioner was old and seemingly falling apart. The price was quite cheap, though, and the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Toad is a great pub, a short walk down Alexander Street, with a wide selection of drinks and traditional pub snacks, staffed entirely by British workers.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Batavia, NY
Oct 5, 2009

Location, location, location...

Staff is always very friendly and helpful. Have stayed several times due to the location of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top