$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The East Avenue Inn and Suites

2 stars
View map of 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
38 reviews
great experience. fantastic location.

Each time we are in Rochester, we stay at the East Ave Inn. We have always been very pleased with... See full review

  • Louise
  • Apr 17, 2015
Business Trip

This is a good location for my downtown business, and is in the older part of the city. I love the... See full review

  • Julie B.
  • Aug 18, 2015

Independently owned and operated, East Avenue Inn - Downtown promises ?the best location for the best price.? Rates indeed are low for the area, and the convenient downtown locale is close to Blue Cross Arena, Rochester Riverside Convention Center, Frontier Field and the High Falls waterfall. Guests can park for free and walk to the arts and cultural district just blocks from the hotel. Spend the afternoon strolling through galleries, shops and cafés. Wireless Internet access is complimentary in each no-frills room.

Rooms

Floral bedspreads are an old-fashioned touch in the basic rooms at East Avenue Inn - Downtown. Simple accommodations include an alarm clock, cable TV with HBO and telephone. Some rooms also have a mini fridge and microwave for convenience. Lobby vending machines offer an easy option for in-room snacks.

Property features

Multiple dining options fill the mile surrounding East Avenue Inn, which is also convenient to the University of Rochester. One half mile from the hotel, the renowned National Museum of Play promises a good time for kids and grownups alike. Top attractions include a toy hall of fame, working passenger train and carousel, a vintage diner and the only year-round indoor butterfly garden in New York. After dark, step out on the town for a walk to Rochester entertainment and nightlife spots.

Highlights

  • Budget rates in a downtown locale
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Walking distance to Rochester arts and cultural venues

Nearby attractions

  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum of Play (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (9.1 mi/14.6 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The East Avenue Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

★★★
$169
3.6 / 5 25 reviews
★★★
$171
4.4 / 5 10 reviews
★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$110
3.5 / 5 53 reviews
★★★★
$99
3.7 / 5 70 reviews

The East Avenue Inn and Suites Rooms

Premium Suite w Kitchenette
The Premium Suites are sure to be our most popular option, with kitchenettes and jumbo 55" LCD TV's. Premium Rooms Include: King Size Bed, Kitchenette w/ Fridge, Coffee Machine, Premium Mattress and Linens,Convertible Sofa, MP3 Clock Radio, Safe, Wired & Wireless Internet.
Deluxe King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room, One King Size Bed: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking
Deluxe 2 Full Size Beds
Deluxe Guest Room, Two Full Size Beds: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.9 mi

Dining

Ox and Stone
Latin Kitchen just a few blocks away near Mex and Havana Cabana. www.oxandstone.com
Edibles
Martini bar and American bistro that will give NYC a run for its money. Located in the Neighborhood of the Arts. Walking distance. www.ediblesrochester.com
Good Luck
Near Village Gate Square. Innovative, upscale American plates to share in an industrial yet intimate warehouse-style space. Walking distance. www.restaurantgoodluck.com
Village Gate Square
Restaurants offered include: Salena's Mexican Restaurant, California Rollin', Gatehouse Restaurant, & Espada Brazilian Steakhouse. Walking distance. www.villagegatesquare.com
Shema Sushi
Japanese Restaurant located just a few blocks away. www.shemasushi.com
Dinosaur BBQ
Barbecue favorites just a short drive away. www.dinosaurbarbque.com/locations/rochester
Spot Coffee
Coffee, espresso drinks & light bites in busy, spacious digs with big windows & an art deco facade. Walking distance. www.spotcoffee.com
Victoire Belgian Beer Bar
Euro-inspired pub featuring Belgian brews & dishes in addition to classic American bar fare. Walking distance. www.victoirebar.com
City Grill Rochester
Partnered On-site restaurant and bar. www.citygrillrochester.com
Veneto
Gourmet Italian dining just steps away. www.venetorestaurant.com

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center and conference facilities available. Our breakfast room can be used as a cozy and intimate setting for casual get-togethers. We are also partnered with Ballroom 384 for more formal gatherings or parties.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vlad D
Single
Odessa, Ukraine
Oct 30, 2012

A wonderful stay in Rochester, NY

I was very satisfied with my stay in the "East Avenue Inn and Suites". They have recently (looks like it) renovated some of their rooms and they look great now. The size of the room, the furniture, the cleanliness were way above the grading of this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. The location of this hotel is very good. You are in the middle of East Avenue, with lots of pubs and downtown if you turn right when exiting hotel premises, or with great houses and museums if you turn left. I loved Rochester, and did not even realized that it has so much to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One must visit the George Eastman house and museum, if not for the love of cinema, then simply to see a beautiful house and the gardens.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new britain, ct
Nov 8, 2010

east avenue inn in rochester, ny

i went to check out rochester institute of technology one of the colleges my son is checking out. It was our first college trip it was great and the hotel was near the amtrak station and downtown rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Louise
Couples
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

great experience. fantastic location.

Each time we are in Rochester, we stay at the East Ave Inn. We have always been very pleased with the rooms, location, and staff. We plan to stay there when we return to Rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sleepybot
Family
Austin, Tx
Jul 21, 2012

Great room and price.

We had a great time during our stay. We would definitely do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HLaurion
Couples
NY
Dec 31, 2012

Pretty decent

staff was friendly hotel was clean shower was in need of repair and cleaning overall great though :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Edibles Cafe - super awesome place to eat!!!

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewster
Friends
Bemus Point, NY
Feb 25, 2013

Girlfriend's weekend

Great location! The bathroom was small for the 4 of us. Our room door did not close on its own therefore we inadvertantly left our room door wide open when we left for dinner. The only thing taken from our room was 2 bottles of wine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Staplic
Friends
Iowa City, IA
Jul 11, 2013

Excellent Location

My stay here was excellent. The rooms were all clean, and well kept, if a little smaller than what I'm used to. The location was excellent, within walking distance of many different locations and nightlife in rochester. And if it wasn't in walking distance the staff offers a shuttle to take you and pick you up from anywhere you want to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar and Grill. Short walk west of the hotel. Great Food and Saturday nights you get karaoke going that is definitely something to be seen.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adairellen
Family
San Diego
Oct 8, 2013

Clean and Comfortable

We enjoyed our stay at the East Ave Inn and Suites. The room was very clean and the bed and furniture comfy. The staff were very friendly and accommodating as well. We stayed in the "kitchenette" suite because we needed to cook our own food due to food allergies. The kitchenette only had a microwave and mini-fridge and no burner or stove so we just had to make do with a hot plate and wash dishes in the bathroom. The hotel is still under some major renovation, building a banquet room and restaurant and finishing up some room renovations. I would love to stay there when it is all done. They have a homemade waffle maker in the breakfast room along with coffee, tea cocoa, bagels, cereals, and fruit. The homemade waffle was off the hook delicious~!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is right in the restaurant district. It has a very nice ambiance, even at night. People seem to be enjoying themselves walking around the neighborhood and discovering all the pubs and restaurants. The Rochester Science Center is very close as well as The George Eastman House. Both are very worthy places to check out.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SYLVIASHUS
Couples
SYRACUSE, NY
Jul 20, 2009

It was a pleasant surprise

VERY GOOD. LOVED THE LOCATION

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

THE HOTEL WAS IN A GOOD PART OF THE EVERYTHING WE NEED TO ATTEND.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NY State
Jun 27, 2009

East Ave Inn-Downtown

Easy walking distance to an active downtown nightlife and restaurants .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top