$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

The East Avenue Inn and Suites

2 stars
View map of 384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
new britain, ct
Nov 8, 2010

east avenue inn in rochester, ny

i went to check out rochester institute of technology one of the colleges my son is checking out. It was our first college trip it was great and the hotel was near the amtrak station and downtown rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Oct 18, 2010

Convenient location but rundown hotel

The hotel is conveniently located. You can walk to nightlife and easily drive to anywhere in the city. However, the room was rundown, and it looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Wilton, CT
Oct 17, 2010

East Avenue Inn

Went to the George Eastman House museum with my 24 year old son who knew absolutely nothing about the founder of Kodak, but now knows. Went to a R.I.T. college hockey game at a sold out Blue Cross arena that was a short cab ride from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pizza only a block away!

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IBelieve
Friends
Pennsylvania
Oct 10, 2010

Excellent location

A group of ladies attended the Women of Faith Conference being held at the Blue Cross Arena in Rocchester, NY. This hotel was within a mile of the arena and the price was very reasonable. The hotel layout was odd but we were able to walk to the dinner then the arena which was great for us! The room as a bit small for a room with a king sized bed but it was manageable. The bathroom was also on the small size but again, for just an overnight stay it was manageable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Shea's was just down the street...the food and service was excellent!

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blahmicho
Friends
Syracuse, NY
Jul 9, 2010

East Avenue Inn

We went to Rochester for the Furthur show, and I was really impressed with this hotel. Well, impressed considering it was the cheapest hotel available. The room was nice, the air conditioning worked great, the bed was comfy and gigantic. The location was convenient. The hotel sprawled on and on like a maze. The ice machine was crazy. CONS: The front room smelled like weird oriental spices. Very little in the way of amenities (no breakfast, pool, etc.) and some of the staff didn't speak English

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

OH MAN, ROCHESTER IS AMAZING. The Strong Museum of Play is just a short walk away, and has all these crazy trippy exhibits, fountains, and sprinklers that are open all night

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New York, NY
May 2, 2010

Cheap and adequate

I was here this past weekend to attend a wedding. I stayed with a few of my friends and found the room to be just adequate for our needs. We needed beds to sleep in and a bathroom to take maintain our personal hygiene. Beds and pillows were not too comfortable, the lighting in the room was poor, and the air conditioner was old and seemingly falling apart. The price was quite cheap, though, and the staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Old Toad is a great pub, a short walk down Alexander Street, with a wide selection of drinks and traditional pub snacks, staffed entirely by British workers.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Brooklyn
Nov 30, 2009

You get what you pay for at East Avenue

I got what I paid for. I needed a cheap hotel and that's what the East Avenue Inn is. I'd go again b/c I don't have extravagant hotel needs. Do not go here with your wife. Do not go here with children. The location in great, but the rooms haven't been updated since the 1970's. The tv was small and seemed to be circa 1990.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
St. Lawrence river valley
Nov 14, 2009

Not fancy, no frills but comfortable.

I needed a place to sleep near the banjo convention up the street, and this hotel filled the bill just fine. One funny thing was the hand-written note from the housekeeper that read: "Have an amazing night." (!?!) Gee. The last time I remember having an "amazing" night was sometime in my twenties... ; ) Anyway, the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone not insisting on luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

George Eastman House - museum of Photography. Great place. Good restaurants nearby, Bernunzio's musical instrument store is a short walk, as is the Eastman School of Music.

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Glen Gardner,NJ
Oct 15, 2009

Middle of the Road

We were in town to attend RIT's Homecoming and parent weekend. The hotel was a perfect location just blocks from the Blue Cross Center were the hockey game was. Also many eating places in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Herbalife Distributor
Family
NY,NY
Oct 12, 2009

my stay

It was alright. I just didn't like the smell of the room. It smelled like old funiture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top