$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The East Avenue Inn and Suites

2 stars
384 East Ave, Rochester, NY 14607
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Clean and Comfortable

We enjoyed our stay at the East Ave Inn and Suites. The room was very clean and the bed and... See full review

  • adairellen
  • Oct 8, 2013
Excellent Location

My stay here was excellent. The rooms were all clean, and well kept, if a little smaller than what... See full review

  • Staplic
  • Jul 11, 2013
Budget downtown Rochester hotel with free Wi-Fi and parking

Independently owned and operated, East Avenue Inn - Downtown promises ?the best location for the best price.? Rates indeed are low for the area, and the convenient downtown locale is close to Blue Cross Arena, Rochester Riverside Convention Center, Frontier Field and the High Falls waterfall. Guests can park for free and walk to the arts and cultural district just blocks from the hotel. Spend the afternoon strolling through galleries, shops and cafés. Wireless Internet access is complimentary in each no-frills room.

Highlights

  • Budget rates in a downtown locale
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary parking
  • Walking distance to Rochester arts and cultural venues

Rooms

Floral bedspreads are an old-fashioned touch in the basic rooms at East Avenue Inn - Downtown. Simple accommodations include an alarm clock, cable TV with HBO and telephone. Some rooms also have a mini fridge and microwave for convenience. Lobby vending machines offer an easy option for in-room snacks.

Features

Multiple dining options fill the mile surrounding East Avenue Inn, which is also convenient to the University of Rochester. One half mile from the hotel, the renowned National Museum of Play promises a good time for kids and grownups alike. Top attractions include a toy hall of fame, working passenger train and carousel, a vintage diner and the only year-round indoor butterfly garden in New York. After dark, step out on the town for a walk to Rochester entertainment and nightlife spots.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (5.7 mi/9.2 km)

Attractions

  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • National Museum of Play (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • International Museum of Photography at the George Eastman House (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (6.8 mi/11 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (9.1 mi/14.6 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access

Hotel Map

43.1558 -77.5936
Area served
Rochester.
Nearby airports
Rochester International Airport.
Area description
Rochester's vibrant East End. Steps from the Neighborhood of the Arts.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The East Avenue Inn and Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The East Avenue Inn and Suites Rooms

Premium Suite w Kitchenette
The Premium Suites are sure to be our most popular option, with kitchenettes and jumbo 55" LCD TV's. Premium Rooms Include: King Size Bed, Kitchenette w/ Fridge, Coffee Machine, Premium Mattress and Linens,Convertible Sofa, MP3 Clock Radio, Safe, Wired & Wireless Internet.
Deluxe King Bed
Deluxe Guest Room, One King Size Bed: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking
Deluxe 2 Full Size Beds
Deluxe Guest Room, Two Full Size Beds: Our Deluxe Guest Rooms Include: 42" LCD TV with HBO, ESPN, CNN, Room Safe Coffee Machine, Iron, Hairdryer, Climate Control Work Desk & Office Chair, Clock Radio Free WiFi, Free US Calls, Free Parking.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Fitness Center
Solarium
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business center and conference facilities available. Our breakfast room can be used as a cozy and intimate setting for casual get-togethers. We are also partnered with Ballroom 384 for more formal gatherings or parties.

Dining

Ox and Stone
Latin Kitchen just a few blocks away near Mex and Havana Cabana. www.oxandstone.com
Edibles
Martini bar and American bistro that will give NYC a run for its money. Located in the Neighborhood of the Arts. Walking distance. www.ediblesrochester.com
Good Luck
Near Village Gate Square. Innovative, upscale American plates to share in an industrial yet intimate warehouse-style space. Walking distance. www.restaurantgoodluck.com
Village Gate Square
Restaurants offered include: Salena's Mexican Restaurant, California Rollin', Gatehouse Restaurant, & Espada Brazilian Steakhouse. Walking distance. www.villagegatesquare.com
Shema Sushi
Japanese Restaurant located just a few blocks away. www.shemasushi.com
Dinosaur BBQ
Barbecue favorites just a short drive away. www.dinosaurbarbque.com/locations/rochester
Spot Coffee
Coffee, espresso drinks & light bites in busy, spacious digs with big windows & an art deco facade. Walking distance. www.spotcoffee.com
Victoire Belgian Beer Bar
Euro-inspired pub featuring Belgian brews & dishes in addition to classic American bar fare. Walking distance. www.victoirebar.com
City Grill Rochester
Partnered On-site restaurant and bar. www.citygrillrochester.com
Veneto
Gourmet Italian dining just steps away. www.venetorestaurant.com

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pennyy
Florida
Aug 24, 2011

Anniversary Party

This hotel was the pits! No chair to sit on, no breakfast, TV was not seeable - it was so snowy! We chose this hotel because of the central location but I would not ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse ny
Jul 24, 2011

HORRIBLE PLACE!!!!

Horrible place! The room was disgusting!!(hairs and stains on bed) Couldent/ and dId not even think about using the bedding, thanks god i didnt have a black light. Room had no fridge,hair dryer,iron etc.. tv was from 1995. Found drugs in the hallway. Had multiple conversations with crackheads everytime i went outside. Even watched the maintenance guy harass a 14yrold who was "living"at thehotel(classy!) IN NO WAY DID IT EVEN COME CLOSE TO THE $100 I PAID FOR THIS RUN DOWN PLACE PLEASE PLEASE STAY AWAY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Niagara Falls, NY
Jul 5, 2011

Just what we needed!

We just needed a place near downtown Rochester NY. We didn't spend much time at the hotel. Parking was great, close to other small shops, and was in a quiet area. No problems with checking in or out. Friendly people to help with questions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good value for what we needed. Nothing fancy but clean and pleasent.Very short drive to where we were going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, New York
Apr 11, 2011

Not bad for the price

I live almost next door in Buffalo and stayed 2 nights to hang out with friends and this was one of the cheapest and closest to the Greyhound Station I found. The standard room didn't have a fridge so I had to switch to a study room which was $20 more but worth it cause it was big and comfty. The only problem was that the sofabed just had a simple mattress with no sheets or anything and was uncomfortable. But overall the staff was very friendly and the room was very clean and the area was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Return home traveler
FL
Feb 14, 2011

Good location, but needs some work.

The hotel staff was nice and the location is perfect for the nightlife in the city, walking distance to many restaurants, bars, and clubs. The inn was a little run down possibly because of the age of the hotel and bad previous management. I think the one real problem I had with the room was how unclean the shower was, and would suggest bringing flipflops for showering.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
batavia ny
Jan 30, 2011

rating

Was clean could have used spare roll of toilet paper only had little bit and had to get more, had to get another remote, but other than that everything was ok! Location was great for us and we felt it was clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse,NY
Nov 30, 2010

Great room

The room was super clean! The room was very comfy too. Nice new flat screen tv as well. The staff was very attentive. The location was very easy to find. Plenty of places to eat near by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many local eateries very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
willseyville ny
Nov 15, 2010

great price for the location

the hotel was easy to find. many entertainment options within walking disance. the cable chanel selections could use some improvement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

conveniently located near the blue cross arena

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new britain, ct
Nov 8, 2010

east avenue inn in rochester, ny

i went to check out rochester institute of technology one of the colleges my son is checking out. It was our first college trip it was great and the hotel was near the amtrak station and downtown rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The East Avenue Inn and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 18, 2010

Convenient location but rundown hotel

The hotel is conveniently located. You can walk to nightlife and easily drive to anywhere in the city. However, the room was rundown, and it looked dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search