$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

Rochester Plaza Hotel

2 stars
70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
70 reviews
Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly... See full review

  • Arush
  • Apr 30, 2013
Great Stay

Rochester Plaza is a great hotel, the staff are nice, the rooms comfortable, the location is good.... See full review

  • ziggysunshine
  • May 13, 2012
Comfortable business hotel walkable to convention center and top sights

Convenience and a central location on the Genesee River define the Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. Comfortable for leisure travelers yet filled with business amenities, the hotel is within walking distance of Kodak, the Federal Court, government offices, banks, Xerox and the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The outdoor swimming pool enjoys a private spot on the fourth floor, surrounded by four floors of guest rooms. Nap under a poolside canopy, head to the fitness center, or take a seat in one of three restaurants.

Highlights

  • In the heart of downtown near major cultural, entertainment and sports attractions
  • Three restaurants and 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free shuttle to the airport, Amtrak station and bus terminal
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurants
  • Outdoor heated courtyard pool on the fourth floor plus a fitness center
Rooms

Beds in the 362 spacious rooms and suites at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center feel divine after a long day, with pillow-top comfort covers, three sheets, a feathery duvet and a choice of pillows. Rooms offer a view of the Genesee River or the courtyard swimming pool. Jump online with free wireless Internet access or order an in-room movie. Other amenities include tea and coffee, a hair-dryer, full-size ironing board and iron, work desk two phones and voicemail with remote outside access. Make a fast exit with video express check out. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

The three restaurants at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center include a coffee café, a lobby bar and grill and the River Club Restaurant with its scenic river views. For ultimate business travel convenience, the hotel offers express check-in/check-out, an ATM, currency exchange, secretarial services, guest laundry area and same-day dry cleaning services on weekdays. Limited on-site parking is available (fees apply). Walk to nightlife in the East End and St. Paul Quarter, or check out the nearby public golf courses, tennis, hiking, Erie Canal boating and winery tours.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Complimentary airport, train and bus transportation

Attractions

  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Frontier Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Play (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • George Eastman House (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (8.2 mi/13.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with fax, copy and shipping services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms and meeting space totaling 30,000 square feet including a Ballroom and outdoor pavilion with river views
  • Meetings for up to 1,00 people and banquets for up to 850 people
  • Walk to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center, local businesses and government offices

Policies and fees

Valid credit card and ID card with address must be presented at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Rochester Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking
Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard King Non-Smoking
Standard King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Handicap Accessible Two Queen Be
Accessible Two Queens-NS-Entry ways 31. 5x78in Step-in shower w/hand bars/chair-Pet Friendly
Executive King Non-Smoking
Executive Room One King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI and fridge

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rochester Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.1569 -77.6126
Nearby airports
(ROC), 4.00, MI; (BUF), 68.00, MI; (SYR), 88.00, MI; (IAG), 81.00, MI; (ITH), 94.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
18 out of 70
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
gennaro
Orono, ME
Jul 28, 2013

It worked out

The hotel was fine except there was only one operating elevator and the hotel seemed pretty full. The staff nice except housekeeping skipped my room on Saturday. The Rochester Plaza did not meet the standard I had hoped for on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
MD Visitor
Silver Spring Maryland
Nov 5, 2012

Dreary Weekend

I was in the Rochester area to attend a funeral service for a friend. I did not get an opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area as it rained the entire time I was there. The staff was accommodating especially the person at the front desk during check in. The printer was not working in the lobby for convenience of printing boarding passes etc., however the staff on duty allowed me to get it done from someone's office. The room was dated but clean, an alarm clock would have been nice, and a working lamp at the desk would have been great. I did not bother the staff as i felt that all lamps in working condition would be at least a minimum standard for a room. There were renovations taking place in the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
LPhillip
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Nov 27, 2011

A solid 2.5 star hotel - plus add $4/day for parking!

If you are someone who needs a hotel for 1 night, don't need anything fancy, have to travel near the downtown area, and can get a room here for about $40 or less, then this place will suffice. Don't be fooled, this is NOT a 3 star or higher hotel, I don't care what any website says! First, there is no fridge or microwave in the room, and all of the drinking cups are plastic. Second, they charge $4/day for parking (the only hotel that I've ever stayed in that does that). Third, the restaurant in the hotel, is truck-stop diner grade food just at higher prices. (I had their cheeseburger, which took over 1/2 hour to serve. I was literally the ONLY person in the entire restaurant, so I don't know what they were doing to make it. Basic burger, nothing impressive at all, with mediocre french fries, for over $10. I honestly would have been more satisfied with a fast-food burger and fries meal.) Fourth, after 11pm, you have to be buzzed into the building by the staff (nope, your room key won't let you in). You can only go through the front of the building during this time, even though all of the parking (if available) is on the side or back of the building. Also, you're not just buzzed in, you get the "Can I help you?" treatment (on par with a late-night gas station in a bad neighborhood). Finally, what was most irritating, was the maid service. I stayed here for 5 nights and 4 days. Before I went to bed at night, I put the "Do not disturb" sign on my door until I left the room the next day, which would be, at the latest, 12 noon. Maid service used this fact to justify not cleaning my room at all for 2 days! The first day of my stay they cleaned. The second day they didn't clean, they just left a stack of towels on my bathroom sink. I complained to the front desk, who said they would leave a message for management in the morning. The third day it looked liked they didn't enter the room at all! I had to get angry the second time I complained, because apparently my complaint the first time was ignored. After my second complaint, guest services was very apologetic, and they did finally service the room on my last day. My suggestion is, go with one of the chain hotels in the area. Avoid this one if you can! I surely will never go back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
PK137
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Great location for a budget hotel

This hotel has signs of being once very nice, but it has not been tended to. For the price of less than $100 per room you can overlook the wall paper peeling off the walls, the drop ceiling that looks like it is going to drop completely. While the staff is friendly, they do not seem to be interested in their jobs or if you have a pleasant stay. Still, the location is great and it is nice to have a budget hotel in the center of the city. The rooms appear to be clean (though they could take a few minutes to wash the windows). I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
dented
Los Angeles
Jun 15, 2011

Overall positive

Well, right from the beginning the hotel staff was attentive and polite. They made the stay nice because they knew the answers to my questions. There was a jazz festival so everything was spruced up and the perks were all around. The hotel is older and I understand that but it is located in a cool part of downtown, walking distance to quite a bit. The bathrooms need some help, especially the shower. The Grill was great and breakfast was reasonable on Sunday. The beds were supercomfy as were the linens. Older decor and carpets make it a bit dreary but I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinosaur BBQ and the State Street Grille right at the hotel had good food. Dinosaurs has live music in a roaring fun bar atmosphere with some of the finest BBQ in the country.

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
SF, CA
May 16, 2011

Rochester plaza

Nice room wish it had a mini fridge and no microwave though. Usually fitness centers only have a bunch of treadmills this one had treadmills, elliptical, weights, leg, chest , and bench press machines. But there wasn't much to do in Rochester that and it was raining have to drive to a neighboring city. Friendly staff assisted me to my every need. Did some shopping at Pittsburgh Plaza. Room service was a little over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
His Mississippi Lady
Natchez, MS
May 16, 2011

A good hotel

while I was there I visit with friends and family. nonthing was missing from the room but the room look like a regular super 8 or motel 6 room and it smalled like them too. I had a big window view of the river. That was great!!!! Over all it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Greenville, SC
Jan 3, 2011

Good NY trip

The hotel room was very clean and the apperiance was nice when you walked into the lobby. The only bad thing that I could say was when i walked in there was only one person attending every guess that needed help. So I waited a while to check in. Do not know if it was due to the holiday that they were not fully staff. Other then that my staying there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JTMusic
Long Island, New York
Dec 5, 2010

Just what I was looking for !

I was attending a conference at the Convention center. The location was perfect, the staff was great , and the free airport shuttle was the icing on the cake !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best deal in town for the price !

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
memphis,tn
Sep 23, 2010

overal good experience

I read the reviews for this hotel after I made my reservation and was very nervous. Saw many bad ones from this year alone. My experience was overall a very good one. I called for a ride to the hotel from the airport and the female driver was very very friendly. My luggage got lost and came later, they notified me immediately upon its arrival. I was able to switch room types at check-in with no hassels. Service was fast, friendly and courteous and very clean. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk from whatever you need.

Back to menu Return to top