Rochester Plaza Hotel

2 stars
View map of 70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
60 reviews
Rochester Plaza = Great stay!

From the front desk folks to the housekeeping, bartenders, and shuttle driver, Rochester Plaza... See full review

  • Supercalifragilisticexpia
  • Oct 22, 2014
Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly... See full review

  • Arush
  • Apr 30, 2013

Convenience and a central location on the Genesee River define the Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. Comfortable for leisure travelers yet filled with business amenities, the hotel is within walking distance of Kodak, the Federal Court, government offices, banks, Xerox and the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The outdoor swimming pool enjoys a private spot on the fourth floor, surrounded by four floors of guest rooms. Nap under a poolside canopy, head to the fitness center, or take a seat in one of three restaurants.

Rooms

Beds in the 362 spacious rooms and suites at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center feel divine after a long day, with pillow-top comfort covers, three sheets, a feathery duvet and a choice of pillows. Rooms offer a view of the Genesee River or the courtyard swimming pool. Jump online with free wireless Internet access or order an in-room movie. Other amenities include tea and coffee, a hair-dryer, full-size ironing board and iron, work desk two phones and voicemail with remote outside access. Make a fast exit with video express check out. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as pet-friendly accommodations.

Property features

The three restaurants at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center include a coffee café, a lobby bar and grill and the River Club Restaurant with its scenic river views. For ultimate business travel convenience, the hotel offers express check-in/check-out, an ATM, currency exchange, secretarial services, guest laundry area and same-day dry cleaning services on weekdays. Limited on-site parking is available (fees apply). Walk to nightlife in the East End and St. Paul Quarter, or check out the nearby public golf courses, tennis, hiking, Erie Canal boating and winery tours.

Highlights

  • In the heart of downtown near major cultural, entertainment and sports attractions
  • Three restaurants and 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free shuttle to the airport, Amtrak station and bus terminal
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurants
  • Outdoor heated courtyard pool on the fourth floor plus a fitness center
Nearby attractions

  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Frontier Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Play (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • George Eastman House (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (8.2 mi/13.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with fax, copy and shipping services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms and meeting space totaling 30,000 square feet including a Ballroom and outdoor pavilion with river views
  • Meetings for up to 1,00 people and banquets for up to 850 people
  • Walk to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center, local businesses and government offices

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Complimentary airport, train and bus transportation

Policies

Valid credit card and ID card with address must be presented at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rochester Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$110
3.5 / 5 53 reviews
★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$171
4.4 / 5 10 reviews
★★
$119
3.2 / 5 38 reviews
★★★
$169
3.6 / 5 25 reviews
★★★★
$99
3.7 / 5 70 reviews

Rochester Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard King Non-Smoking
Standard King Non-Smoking Standard room with 1 king size bed. Pet Friendly. Includes Free WIFI
HDCP Two Queen Beds NS
Handicap Accessible Two Queen Beds Non-Smoking with Step in shower
Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking
Standard room with two queen beds non-smoking. Pet Friendly.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Porters
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 60
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arush
Family
Panama city Beach, FL
Apr 30, 2013

Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly attuide everyone had. One thing they could do better with is maybe haveing some sort of door stoppers because we ppl were going in and out of their rooms next to me, and they would shut, they were slamming shut and keeping me up. But other than that it was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

main street armory they have shows there all the time great and affordable and walking distance to the hotel.

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zombie lover
Family
Centennial, Co
Jun 19, 2012

Good value, but small

This is a nice hotel, but it is older. The bathroom was the worst part of the room. It was tiny, and the toilet was under the counter, so the toilet lid would not stay up. Nice pool, friendly staff. Nothing fancy, but it was a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a lot of places within walking distance of this hotel. Walkways, library, museum.

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Neusch
Family
Wilton, CT, USA
Oct 17, 2011

College hockey reunion ar RIT

Hotel was 2 blocks from the Blue Cross Arena where we were among 10,556 fans to witness a great college hockey game between RIT and St. Lawrence. RIT - 6, St. Lawrence - 5 in overtime. Location of the hotel was super for the event and we also visited the Great Falls which was about 5 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rytyrj
Family
New York, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Only as a last resort

hotel staff helpful. Bathroom ceiling stained and corner pieces falling out. Slow drAin in tub. Stand in dirty water. Baseboard tiles in bathroom falling off. Small tv. No hookups on tv for kids games. No buffet breakfast but overpriced in hotel restaurant or room. Neighborhood not greatest. Had to pay for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Thomas, VI
Jul 3, 2010

More Like a Motel...

We traveled far to attend a graduation in Rochester. We were given keys for a dirty room upon checking in. The sheets were crumpled, water bottles were in the bed, and the odor coming from the room indicated it had not been cleaned. We were given another room, however, there was hair in the shower, the tub was dirty, hair was on the pillow, the carpet was moist and left dirt marks under your feet and the room smelled moldy or mildewy. I bought a small can of febreze to stifle the odor. We rented a car and had to pay for parking. Parking attendants were hardly ever there. There was only one washer and dryer for the entire hotel. We decided to do laundry before traveling back home since it was 4 of us. Guest services were terrible. We tried getting quarters from the front desk to use the washer and dryer. They said they didn't have any quarters. We had to go to the restaurant across the street to make change. One guest left clothes unattended in the washer for a half hour, we ask front desk to assist us in removing the clothes or reaching the guest. They never assisted us but told us we could not remove the clothes. We were checking out 4 am that morning and we were doing laundry past 11:00 PM because the guest would not come back to retrieve her clothes. Usually management has the right to remove clothing that is left unattended. That hotel could care less about us or our needs. This is one hotel, excuse me MOTEL, that I will never stay in again or recommend to anyone. They literally need to CLEAN UP their act. Shame on Management.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Selena, the planner
Family
Littlerock, CA
Apr 15, 2010

Bring your own pillows

This was a nice hotel but not the best. The staff were very nice and friendly. The room was nice and to our supprise a microwave and mini fridge were added and that was a very nice touch. The bathroom could use a little makeover. We had a great view. The only problem was the room doors slammed so loud that it scared you. We did not have a chance to eat at the resturants but our children did get food one night and it was good. The children had a blast. I would stay at this hotel again. The pillows were not that comfortable my husband and I got headaches a couple of nights because the pillows were to hard. Also the heat and the air conditioner were not working properly. When it was hot we could not get the air to work. We had to open the window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PiperDi
Family
St. Louis, MO
Oct 11, 2009

Good value if you're not a light sleeper

Our room and beds were very comfortable and clean. It was pretty noisy: the doors closed hard and loud, you could hear the TV next door and hallway noises. Showering was very difficult because there was no water pressure.FYI, this hotel allows pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evy
Family
Miani, Fl
Sep 22, 2009

Comfortable, quiet, and private.

I stayed at the hotel with my family because of a death in the family. Even though we were going through rough times, me and my family really enjoyed the quietness, and tranquil moments we were able to spend in our rooms without any disturbances. It was a great deal and convenient to all the places we had to travel to. Compliments to the beds, they were really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top