$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Rochester Plaza Hotel

3 stars
70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
71 reviews
Rochester Plaza = Great stay!

From the front desk folks to the housekeeping, bartenders, and shuttle driver, Rochester Plaza... See full review

  • Supercalifragilisticexpia
  • Oct 22, 2014
Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly... See full review

  • Arush
  • Apr 30, 2013
Comfortable business hotel walkable to convention center and top sights

Convenience and a central location on the Genesee River define the Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. Comfortable for leisure travelers yet filled with business amenities, the hotel is within walking distance of Kodak, the Federal Court, government offices, banks, Xerox and the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The outdoor swimming pool enjoys a private spot on the fourth floor, surrounded by four floors of guest rooms. Nap under a poolside canopy, head to the fitness center, or take a seat in one of three restaurants.

Highlights

  • In the heart of downtown near major cultural, entertainment and sports attractions
  • Three restaurants and 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free shuttle to the airport, Amtrak station and bus terminal
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurants
  • Outdoor heated courtyard pool on the fourth floor plus a fitness center
Rooms

Beds in the 362 spacious rooms and suites at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center feel divine after a long day, with pillow-top comfort covers, three sheets, a feathery duvet and a choice of pillows. Rooms offer a view of the Genesee River or the courtyard swimming pool. Jump online with free wireless Internet access or order an in-room movie. Other amenities include tea and coffee, a hair-dryer, full-size ironing board and iron, work desk two phones and voicemail with remote outside access. Make a fast exit with video express check out. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

The three restaurants at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center include a coffee café, a lobby bar and grill and the River Club Restaurant with its scenic river views. For ultimate business travel convenience, the hotel offers express check-in/check-out, an ATM, currency exchange, secretarial services, guest laundry area and same-day dry cleaning services on weekdays. Limited on-site parking is available (fees apply). Walk to nightlife in the East End and St. Paul Quarter, or check out the nearby public golf courses, tennis, hiking, Erie Canal boating and winery tours.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Complimentary airport, train and bus transportation

Attractions

  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Frontier Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Play (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • George Eastman House (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (8.2 mi/13.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with fax, copy and shipping services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms and meeting space totaling 30,000 square feet including a Ballroom and outdoor pavilion with river views
  • Meetings for up to 1,00 people and banquets for up to 850 people
  • Walk to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center, local businesses and government offices

Policies and fees

Valid credit card and ID card with address must be presented at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rochester Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Rochester Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking
Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard King Non-Smoking
Standard King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Handicap Accessible Two Queen Be
Accessible Two Queens-NS-Entry ways 31. 5x78in Step-in shower w/hand bars/chair-Pet Friendly
Executive King Non-Smoking
Executive Room One King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI and fridge

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 71
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vernb
Business
north carolina
Nov 5, 2011

great getaway

We stayed there to go see a concert. The staff was very polite and the rooms were spotless. Everything that we wanted to do was within 10 minutes from the hotel. We had an amazing trip, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toothschmidt
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Good stay in Rochester, NY

This hotel gave me exactly what I expected--an inexpensive and convenient place to sleep and have breakfast. After each day, I returned tired and found my room clean and quiet. The staff were all courteous and friendly. My only critique would be to supply the bar with a greater selection of craft beers. All in all, I'm satisfied and would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DEEJ
Business
Riverview, FL
Oct 17, 2011

Very good experience...

We were in NY for a funeral and stayed at this hotel ( had made on-line reservations ) and we were very satisified with all the accommodations. It was clean, and the beds were comfortable. We had to return our rental car to the airport the night before we left. We called from the airport when we returned the car, and they had a shuttle pick us up within 15 minutes to bring us back to the hotel. The staff was very friendly. A good experience !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
acchen
Business
Stanford, CA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

nice hotel near downtown

We had a great time, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had two beds, one of which was definitely newer and more comfortable than the other. However, over all, the place was very nice, very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ithaca ny
Jan 21, 2011

great location very clean rooms

went to a concert the staff was very personable one of the better experiences

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, ny
Jun 14, 2010

wonderful hotel top notch service

very nice hotel friendly staff excellent food my husband and i went down for the jazz fest they had jazz music playen at the hotel as well we are going to make it a annual trip every year

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
May 25, 2010

I enjoyed.. the GF didn't

Hotel was average. Beds were comfortable and clean. There was some construction in the hall going on while we were there, but didn't bug us for to long. The parking garage smelled like trash. It was full during most of our stay due to an event going on at the hotel. Parking was available across the street in a parking garage. They refunded our $4 parking fee since we were mostly parked in the garage across the street. Staff was great, friendly, and helpful. Hotel did not provide hair conditioner (had to include this per girlfriend). Everything else was at or above average. Good location, near downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
May 20, 2010

U of R Graduation Perfection

I have read negative reviews about this hotel, but want to tell you my experience was 100% positive. The location was perfect. Parking was only $4! (My son graduated in Portland, OR, where we paid $24 per day!) The hotel was quiet, comfortable, committed to excellent service, and we slept like the dead in a very comfortable room. It is an older hotel that is in the process of being updated. The bathroom was not new, but worked perfectly. And it was so nice to be able to open a window! I recommend the Rochester Plaza, for location, comfort and value. Be sure to take in the High Falls Bridge and Park Avenue, if you stay there! Also, the restaurant on premises is top knotch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service was the best I've ever experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
oswego ny
Apr 6, 2010

Great room and very good dinning and bar

We booked the room to go to an event at the Blue Cross Arena, it is very close, only a block walking distance. You have the convience of going to dinner befor hand at the hotel bar and dining room and convience of returning to the bar after the event

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dooper
Business
Lenoir, NC
Apr 1, 2010

Hotel Experience

We requested, several times, to have a refrigerator and microwave (per the website) in our room; however, they did not accomodate us. Room was very dilapitated. The shower alternated b/w burning and freezing. We had view of the pool - with no water, and the cement falling apart around the pool. Our clock, in the room, was never reset, so the time was wrong. The bed was uncomfortable and saggy in the middle. No free coffee or continential breakfast. Gym equipment was falling apart (specifically the bike I went on, the seat was loose). Additional parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top