$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Rochester Plaza Hotel

3 stars
70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
70 reviews
Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly... See full review

  • Arush
  • Apr 30, 2013
Great Stay

Rochester Plaza is a great hotel, the staff are nice, the rooms comfortable, the location is good.... See full review

  • ziggysunshine
  • May 13, 2012
Comfortable business hotel walkable to convention center and top sights

Convenience and a central location on the Genesee River define the Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. Comfortable for leisure travelers yet filled with business amenities, the hotel is within walking distance of Kodak, the Federal Court, government offices, banks, Xerox and the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The outdoor swimming pool enjoys a private spot on the fourth floor, surrounded by four floors of guest rooms. Nap under a poolside canopy, head to the fitness center, or take a seat in one of three restaurants.

Highlights

  • In the heart of downtown near major cultural, entertainment and sports attractions
  • Three restaurants and 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free shuttle to the airport, Amtrak station and bus terminal
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurants
  • Outdoor heated courtyard pool on the fourth floor plus a fitness center
Rooms

Beds in the 362 spacious rooms and suites at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center feel divine after a long day, with pillow-top comfort covers, three sheets, a feathery duvet and a choice of pillows. Rooms offer a view of the Genesee River or the courtyard swimming pool. Jump online with free wireless Internet access or order an in-room movie. Other amenities include tea and coffee, a hair-dryer, full-size ironing board and iron, work desk two phones and voicemail with remote outside access. Make a fast exit with video express check out. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

The three restaurants at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center include a coffee café, a lobby bar and grill and the River Club Restaurant with its scenic river views. For ultimate business travel convenience, the hotel offers express check-in/check-out, an ATM, currency exchange, secretarial services, guest laundry area and same-day dry cleaning services on weekdays. Limited on-site parking is available (fees apply). Walk to nightlife in the East End and St. Paul Quarter, or check out the nearby public golf courses, tennis, hiking, Erie Canal boating and winery tours.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Complimentary airport, train and bus transportation

Attractions

  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Frontier Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Play (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • George Eastman House (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (8.2 mi/13.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with fax, copy and shipping services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms and meeting space totaling 30,000 square feet including a Ballroom and outdoor pavilion with river views
  • Meetings for up to 1,00 people and banquets for up to 850 people
  • Walk to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center, local businesses and government offices

Policies and fees

Valid credit card and ID card with address must be presented at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.1569 -77.6126
Nearby airports
(ROC), 4.00, MI; (BUF), 68.00, MI; (SYR), 88.00, MI; (IAG), 81.00, MI; (ITH), 94.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rochester Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Rochester Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking
Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard King Non-Smoking
Standard King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Handicap Accessible Two Queen Be
Accessible Two Queens-NS-Entry ways 31. 5x78in Step-in shower w/hand bars/chair-Pet Friendly
Executive King Non-Smoking
Executive Room One King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI and fridge

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 70
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALWLF
Business
Springfield, MA
Oct 1, 2012

Rochester Plaza Hotel

The room was very smelly and damp. The bed was too springy. We ended up moving to another hotel. The hotel seems in poor shape, not very well taken care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rochester Visitor
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
May 2, 2012

It served the purpose.

No room service available. Arrived late at night and unable to get anything to eat. No late night food open, room menus were old. Very average hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

not available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Berlin, CT
Aug 23, 2011

Nice Stay

The Single King room was nice. I didn't understand why I was hearing outside noise all night to discover that the windows in the rooms actually open up. Nice to air out the rooms. I wasn't fond on the bathroom. Nonetheless a nice hotel. The A/C went in the restaurant and the staff was not friendly at the restaurant. If I had to stay there again I wouldn't be put off. Just know there are no true handicap rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 21, 2011

Good Hotel For The Price

The hotel was all right for a business hotel. The housekeeping was Ok as far as making the bed and providing clean towels. They did not pay attention to details in their cleaning however. There was trash on the floor under a chair when I arrived and was still there when I left a week later.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I did not see a restaurant in the hotel. All I saw was a coffee shop and a room service menu. There are no restaurants near the hotel so that was an inconvenience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 19, 2011

Rochester Plaza Hotel

Clean, comfortable, affordable & conveniently located. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma AZ
May 16, 2011

Centrally Located

Adequate hotel, very clean and comfortable with helpful front desk staff. didn't use the restaurant or room service. Was just there for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D Downes
Business
Wilmington DE
Feb 9, 2011

Great Stay

All was great on this trip, I am with education and was in the area to visit a school.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

USE THE HOTEL SHUTTLE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liisalea
Business
Syracuse, NY
Dec 2, 2010

Disappointing

I checked in after 9pm; the check-in was easy and quick. Once up the elevator, I found the room signage to be confusing. I ended up walking 3 of 4 corridors to find my room. While walking through the hallways to my room, the strong smell of cigarettes wafted...not pleasant at all, since I am a non-smoker. The smell of left-over room service dinner added an additonal dis-tasteful smell to the hallways too. The over-all feeling that I got from the hotel was a worn-out feeling. Once I got my room, I felt better. The bathroom sink provided no cold water...just scolding hot water. However, the shower was able to provide a comfortable bathing experience. The free wi-fi worked beautifully...no problems at all. Checkout the next morning was quick and easy as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Oct 30, 2010

Rochester Plaza Hotel

It was the worst experience of my life. I had to change my room three times due to malfunction and noise issues. You can hear all the thomping from upstairs and all the talks of your neighbours. At times, my bed (& room) was shaking as if in a earthquake. Apparently it was someone either walking in one of the neighbouring rooms or upstairs. Last night was the worst. A football team arrived with all the noise and the hotel management could only ask me to move the third and last time to other floor. The price tag makes it worse too. With 125+ USD per night, it was a total dupe. I learnt later that the raddison next door was for USD 90.00 per night with all the comfoort of a good hotel and good toilateries (well I forgot to mention this hotel was the worst shampoo and a tiny piece of soap which they forget to replace during house cleaning. I had to walk to front desk to get a new one next day. There was no full leangth mirror in the first two rooms I had been to. The closet was open dungeon without doors. Wall paper is half stuck at places, bathroom stinks, you may not want to use the (almost rug) towels either, the plastic water cups in the bathroom don't get replaced. The room telephone did not work either: in first room it was disconnected completely, second one had line problem). Never got any apology from the manager. His best response last night was: I am sorry you are thrown in this football team mess. believe it or not, it was 10.48pm when I was moved!! Overall, I will not recomment it to my worst enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car and if possible stay close to airport and drive for food. This location is worst for food. This hotel food was awful and so was in the nearest Hyatt where I got a bad pasta for $ 20.00. Did not know any place better

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, Fl
Oct 19, 2010

Everything was great

everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search