Rochester Plaza Hotel

2 stars
View map of 70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Almost emptynester
Couples
Chicago,Il.
Apr 1, 2010

Find another place to stay in Rochester

Went to Rochester with 17 year old to check out some schools. The hotel was clean, but old. The staff was nice in the hotel and at the restaurant. The location was convenient to downtown, but fringes a kind of seedy area. We couldn't find any decent places to eat in the neighborhood, and did not feel safe walking around the downtown area at night. Had made a reservation for the free hotel shuttle for a 5:30am pickup, and they left early so we had to wait another 30 minutes for the next shuttle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jcole3201
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 25, 2010

Nice Location, but needs updating

The room was old and smelled of chemicals. The hotel was not as modern as others, but the downtown location worked for my trip. That said, there were limited dining choices. Overall, I would stay there again, but would ask for another room the next time if it smelled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rocplazareview
Business
nyc, ny
Mar 5, 2010

Rochester Plaza Hotel review

noisy guests couple of the nights

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

restarurants/bars available in walking distance on state st.

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Mar 4, 2010

ok

it was ok for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
Nov 18, 2009

Decent Accomodations

It was a decent quick stay hotel. Not a very busy location if you're looking for night life, or busy activity. The downtown area clears out after 5:00 and the hotel is surrounded by a few seedy areas. I question the true safety of walking around the area, but was told it was okay to do. The fitness room had lots of equipment, but it was sorely out of date, and overused. The fitness room was quite small as well. It was a good price for what I received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Nov 12, 2009

Fine value, but some issues.

Arrived late and check-in was a bit of a hassle. Room was comfortable but bathroom needed a bit of an upgrade. Location is superb in the heart of Rochester.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Science Education
Business
NYC
Nov 4, 2009

Review

Friendly and inviting. Downtown Rochester has limited restaurants and cafes open, especially on the weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Dump

The room was fine, but this place overall is a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
emdan808
Couples
Nipomo, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Was nice once but a bit run down

The hotel is old and a little run down. It was as clean as it could be I guess. The hotel was not kept up. There was no attention to detail on part of the hotel, an example of that is I was on the phone and needed to write down a phone number and there was no paper or pen/pencil in the room, another example is there was no kleenex in the room. Another complaint I had was when we arrived to check in there was only one person at the front desk and she was on the phone and didn't acknowledge us until she was done, which was about 10-15 minutes, meanwhile the other phone was ringing off the hook. While at the bar one night we talked to another guest who had experienced the same thing when checking in. The location of the hotel is nice because it is with in walking distance of some nice restaurants but all the one way streets in downtown Rochester and no left turns between 9:00a-6:00p make it difficult to get on to state street, where it is located, especially for an out-of-towner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinosaur BBQ is a GREAT place to get dinner! They have great food and a fun atmosphere. Plan on waiting for a table though, we went on a Monday night and had to wait for 30min for two of us, but it is well worth it. We went to the bar while we waited and had one of their 20+ beers on tap (plus 40+ bottles to choose from).

Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PiperDi
Family
St. Louis, MO
Oct 11, 2009

Good value if you're not a light sleeper

Our room and beds were very comfortable and clean. It was pretty noisy: the doors closed hard and loud, you could hear the TV next door and hallway noises. Showering was very difficult because there was no water pressure.FYI, this hotel allows pets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top