$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Rochester Plaza Hotel

3 stars
70 State Street, Rochester, NY 14614
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
71 reviews
Rochester Plaza = Great stay!

From the front desk folks to the housekeeping, bartenders, and shuttle driver, Rochester Plaza... See full review

  • Supercalifragilisticexpia
  • Oct 22, 2014
Plaza hotel

My stay at the plaza hotel in Rochester ny was wonderful. I enjoyed the quick service and friendly... See full review

  • Arush
  • Apr 30, 2013
Comfortable business hotel walkable to convention center and top sights

Convenience and a central location on the Genesee River define the Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center. Comfortable for leisure travelers yet filled with business amenities, the hotel is within walking distance of Kodak, the Federal Court, government offices, banks, Xerox and the Rochester Riverside Convention Center. The outdoor swimming pool enjoys a private spot on the fourth floor, surrounded by four floors of guest rooms. Nap under a poolside canopy, head to the fitness center, or take a seat in one of three restaurants.

Highlights

  • In the heart of downtown near major cultural, entertainment and sports attractions
  • Three restaurants and 30,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Free shuttle to the airport, Amtrak station and bus terminal
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in lobby, guest rooms, meeting rooms and restaurants
  • Outdoor heated courtyard pool on the fourth floor plus a fitness center
Rooms

Beds in the 362 spacious rooms and suites at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center feel divine after a long day, with pillow-top comfort covers, three sheets, a feathery duvet and a choice of pillows. Rooms offer a view of the Genesee River or the courtyard swimming pool. Jump online with free wireless Internet access or order an in-room movie. Other amenities include tea and coffee, a hair-dryer, full-size ironing board and iron, work desk two phones and voicemail with remote outside access. Make a fast exit with video express check out. Smoking and non-smoking rooms are available as well as pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

The three restaurants at Rochester Plaza Hotel and Conference Center include a coffee café, a lobby bar and grill and the River Club Restaurant with its scenic river views. For ultimate business travel convenience, the hotel offers express check-in/check-out, an ATM, currency exchange, secretarial services, guest laundry area and same-day dry cleaning services on weekdays. Limited on-site parking is available (fees apply). Walk to nightlife in the East End and St. Paul Quarter, or check out the nearby public golf courses, tennis, hiking, Erie Canal boating and winery tours.

Transportation

  • Greater Rochester  International Airport (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Complimentary airport, train and bus transportation

Attractions

  • Rochester Riverside Convention Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • High Falls waterfall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Frontier Field (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • National Museum of Play (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Rochester Museum and Science Center (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Highland Botanical Park (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • George Eastman House (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Seneca Park Zoo (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Mall at Greece Ridge (8 mi/12.9 km)
  • Seabreeze Amusement Park (8.2 mi/13.1 km)

Business

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Business center with fax, copy and shipping services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms and meeting space totaling 30,000 square feet including a Ballroom and outdoor pavilion with river views
  • Meetings for up to 1,00 people and banquets for up to 850 people
  • Walk to the Rochester Riverside Convention Center, local businesses and government offices

Policies and fees

Valid credit card and ID card with address must be presented at check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Rochester Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking
Standard Two Queens Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking
Standard One Queen Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Standard King Non-Smoking
Standard King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI
Handicap Accessible Two Queen Be
Accessible Two Queens-NS-Entry ways 31. 5x78in Step-in shower w/hand bars/chair-Pet Friendly
King Non-Smoking
King Non-Smoking Pet Friendly Free WIFI

Amenities

  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Phone service
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • The Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial: 0.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Rochester Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dented
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 15, 2011

Overall positive

Well, right from the beginning the hotel staff was attentive and polite. They made the stay nice because they knew the answers to my questions. There was a jazz festival so everything was spruced up and the perks were all around. The hotel is older and I understand that but it is located in a cool part of downtown, walking distance to quite a bit. The bathrooms need some help, especially the shower. The Grill was great and breakfast was reasonable on Sunday. The beds were supercomfy as were the linens. Older decor and carpets make it a bit dreary but I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dinosaur BBQ and the State Street Grille right at the hotel had good food. Dinosaurs has live music in a roaring fun bar atmosphere with some of the finest BBQ in the country.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Former Rochesterian
Business
Boca Raton, FL
May 26, 2011

Rochester Plaza Needs Some TLC

The location was close to the inner city hwy and access to the interstate was easy. There is no longer a shopping area in downtown Rochester and the area is not conducive to evening walks. The hotel restaurant was pricey for so-so food. As it is a fairly old hotel, what renovations were last done are outdated. The pullout magnifying mirror in the bathroom only had one screw to hold it into the wall and the tissue holder fell out of the wall more than once. Vacuuming the common areas and elevator did not seem to be a priority but the room was kept fairly clean, the bed was okay but the pillows were awful. Overall, I'm glad I was out of the room most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the local historic areas and parks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
His Mississippi Lady
Business
Natchez, MS
May 16, 2011

A good hotel

while I was there I visit with friends and family. nonthing was missing from the room but the room look like a regular super 8 or motel 6 room and it smalled like them too. I had a big window view of the river. That was great!!!! Over all it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SF, CA
May 16, 2011

Rochester plaza

Nice room wish it had a mini fridge and no microwave though. Usually fitness centers only have a bunch of treadmills this one had treadmills, elliptical, weights, leg, chest , and bench press machines. But there wasn't much to do in Rochester that and it was raining have to drive to a neighboring city. Friendly staff assisted me to my every need. Did some shopping at Pittsburgh Plaza. Room service was a little over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yuma AZ
May 16, 2011

Centrally Located

Adequate hotel, very clean and comfortable with helpful front desk staff. didn't use the restaurant or room service. Was just there for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D Downes
Business
Wilmington DE
Feb 9, 2011

Great Stay

All was great on this trip, I am with education and was in the area to visit a school.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

USE THE HOTEL SHUTTLE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ithaca ny
Jan 21, 2011

great location very clean rooms

went to a concert the staff was very personable one of the better experiences

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jan 3, 2011

Good NY trip

The hotel room was very clean and the apperiance was nice when you walked into the lobby. The only bad thing that I could say was when i walked in there was only one person attending every guess that needed help. So I waited a while to check in. Do not know if it was due to the holiday that they were not fully staff. Other then that my staying there was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTMusic
Business
Long Island, New York
Dec 5, 2010

Just what I was looking for !

I was attending a conference at the Convention center. The location was perfect, the staff was great , and the free airport shuttle was the icing on the cake !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Best deal in town for the price !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Rochester Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liisalea
Business
Syracuse, NY
Dec 2, 2010

Disappointing

I checked in after 9pm; the check-in was easy and quick. Once up the elevator, I found the room signage to be confusing. I ended up walking 3 of 4 corridors to find my room. While walking through the hallways to my room, the strong smell of cigarettes wafted...not pleasant at all, since I am a non-smoker. The smell of left-over room service dinner added an additonal dis-tasteful smell to the hallways too. The over-all feeling that I got from the hotel was a worn-out feeling. Once I got my room, I felt better. The bathroom sink provided no cold water...just scolding hot water. However, the shower was able to provide a comfortable bathing experience. The free wi-fi worked beautifully...no problems at all. Checkout the next morning was quick and easy as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top