$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Poughkeepsie Inn

2 stars
2625 South Road Rt. 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
49 reviews
good place to getaway

Very comfortable place to stay.we had i a good time.it is very convient to stores See full review

  • james b super dad
  • Aug 15, 2014
Great Place

I have to say I love Poughkeepsie INN and I dont want to stay at any other hotel out here, I use to... See full review

  • MS Tucker
  • Dec 11, 2012
Welcome to the Poughkeepsie Inn - formerly Econo Lodge a Poughkeepsie NY hotel near Marist and Vassar colleges. Located in the heart of the Hudson Valley on U. S. Highway 9 the Poughkeepsie Inn - formerly Econo Lodge - is near popular attractions such as the Poughkeepsie Galleria and Hudson River Cruises. Sample The Culinary Institute of America s fine cuisine located just seven miles from this Poughkeepsie NY hotel. Visitors will enjoy the beautiful landscapes of many nearby historic mansions and estates like the Staatsburgh State Historic Site Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site and Home of Franklin D. Roosevelt National Historic Site and college campuses including Vassar College and Marist College. The Mid-Hudson Civic Center and United States Military Academy at West Point are also nearby. Additional local points of interest include the Hudson Valley wineries and the Poughkeepsie Plaza one of the first shopping centers in Dutchess County. Enjoy shopping for antiques handmade crafts quilts and furniture at the stores in historic Rhinebeck or Cold Springs. Beautiful in all four seasons the valley offers stunning scenery and a wealth of things to do. Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy the many cross-country skiing trails that wind throughout Dutchess County. Golf or hike at one of the nearby parks. The fall foliage is a sight to behold from the surrounding estates farms and wineries. The Hudson Valley also offers a variety of culinary delights. Be sure to visit the on-site Coyote Cafe.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Poughkeepsie Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Poughkeepsie Inn Rooms

Non Smoking - Two Double Beds
Non Smoking - Two Double Beds
King - Smoking
King - Smoking
Smoking - Two Double Beds
Smoking - Two Double Beds
Non Smoking King
Non Smoking King

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Skiing
Golf
Tennis
Boating
Fishing
Services
Guest laundromat
Theater desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:30 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Poughkeepsie Inn

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.6

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FuninChicago
Business
New york
Oct 20, 2014

Unacceptable

Although we had already paid for the motel we were unable to stay there due to the unacceptable condition of the room. There was a strong stale air and chemical smell aside from the run down appearance of the entire room and furnishings that were an immediate turnoff. We chalked the $126 up as a loss and found another place to sleep that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob11050
Business
Port Washington, NY
Oct 20, 2014

Plain but good

This hotel is a bit old and outdated but it was clean and worked for us at a very good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Went to the Walkway over the Hudson. It was great. They converted an unused railroad bridge over the Hudson to pedestrian bridge to walk out over the Hudson. Great views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lil Orphan Annie
Business
Bow NH
Oct 20, 2014

Shabby but clean

Tis is an old motel, and looks it. The room needed significant updating and some basic repairs. But it was clean, and the plumbing and AC worked. The continental breakfast was a disappointment, even by today's meager standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Looker at college
Business
Ny
Oct 15, 2014

Adequate

This motel was fiine, clean enough, close to vassar, easy. The wallls were paper thin and on a relatively not busy night we were surrounded by noisy neighbors. We heard all their comings and goingss all night and their talking, tv.....it was pretty loud. Thought for what it was it should have been cheaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Akitaman1988
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 6, 2014

Great value if you like sewar stench

Upon checkin for an overnite with my 87 year old mother and 11yo daughter, the room appeared marginally acceptable. When we returned after 10pm, the stench of sewar was overwhelming in 205. I went to the desk and requested we be moved, she only had a smoking king. It stunk like an old ashtray,,, ng at all! Result...slept in a horrible room with a leaking toilet base (broken flange bolt) and towels stuffed around the toilet. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Roosevelt Library

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harmstrong
Business
Lee, Ma
Sep 30, 2014

Not worth what I paid!!

This hotel was run down and not nice at all. For almost $140/night I would expect MUCH more! I had to go to the front desk to get a hair dryer and iron. The Cable box had metal brackets all over it to make sure no one stole it! I really wish I had asked some local friends before booking this hotel. It does not have a great reputation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry and frustrated dad
Business
MA
Sep 29, 2014

College weekend

The hotel was disgusting. The bathrooms were old, dirty and needed remodeling. The bedding was torn and worn. The walls were patched but not finished. I reserved the hotel because all others in the area had already been booked and this was conveniently located close to the school. Because of that, the room rate was inflated to begin with. When I went to check, they didn't realize I had prepaid so they quoted me an even higher rate than what i had paid. I would give it a "zero" star rating if that was available as an option. I would sleep in my car before staying at that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cport mom
Business
ny
Sep 1, 2014

Old hotel needs updating

I was very disappointed in the general condition of the hotel. It wasn't clean. We didn't sleep under the covers because the rest of the room wasn't clean. If we hadn't arrived so late I would have gone elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
james b super dad
Business
saugerties ny
Aug 15, 2014

good place to getaway

Very comfortable place to stay.we had i a good time.it is very convient to stores

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Great location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Poughkeepsie Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bootsiel4
Business
New York
Jul 28, 2014

Horrible!

We arrived at 1 am and were tired. When we got to the room it was very cheap! I went to shower and there was grime and mold all over the shower curtain! I requested another room. Believe it or not that shower curtain was nasty, too! Lumpy mattress and a fly in the room. We couldn't wait to leave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top