$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

2 stars
40 Civic Center Plaza, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
Wonderful place to stay

We went to Poughkeepsie to help my son move. This hotel was well kept, the staff was helpful,... See full review

  • Pita Mom
  • Apr 27, 2014
Loved it!

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Food was excellent. Definitely worth a stay. Staff was courteous and... See full review

  • Jenniexoxoxo
  • Mar 13, 2013
At the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel Banquet Conference Center our guests experience the comfort of a spacious tastefully decorated guestroom complete with the amenities and services the discriminating traveler expects. The Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel Banquet and Conference Center is located in the historic downtown district of Poughkeepsie just blocks from the waterfront. The hotel is ten minutes from the Culinary Institute of America Marist College Vassar College and IBM. All guests receive a full complimentary breakfast daily. Must be at least 21 years old to reserve a room. Featuring over 15000 square feet of flexible conference and meeting space and an additional 16000 consecutive square feet of exhibit space in the adjoined MidHudson Civic Center which allows the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel to accommodate up to 300 people for meetings and conferences. Our professional sales department will work directly with you from your first telephone call through assisting in the planning of every detail to ensure that your conference is all that you envisioned. While your conference is inhouse you can count on all of the staff at the Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel Banquet Conference Center to provide you with professional courteous service from check in to check out.

Hotel Map

41.7053 -73.9287
Area served
Fishkill, Newburgh, Kingston, Hopewell Junction, Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park, New Paltz, Rhinebeck
Nearby airports
Dutchess County, (POU), 8.00, MI, S; Stewart, (SWF), 20.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, ON MARKET STREET IN THE BUSINESS DISTRICT OF DOWNTOWN POUGHKEEP

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel Rooms

1 K BED NS HANDICAPPED
Description not provided
1 K BED S
Description not provided
2 D BEDS N/S
Description not provided
2 D BEDS NS HANDICAPPED
Description not provided
2 D BEDS NON
Description not provided
1 KING BED NS
Description not provided
1 K BED NON
Description not provided
2 D BEDS S
Description not provided
1 D BED NS
Description not provided
1 D BED S
Description not provided
1 K BED NS
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Bathroom telephone
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bike crazy Sal
Mass
Jun 30, 2014

fun

only spent 1 nite so I could ride the Discover Hudson Valley Tour. Didn't really spend much time in hotel to use amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saints19
Syracuse, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Grand Location

The Grand Hotel was perfectly located for our three day vacation getaway. Easily accessible to Hyde Park and especially the Culinary Institute. The shuttle service was super. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with directions. Also, we reported a problem with our shower head and it was promptly fixed. The breakfasts were first class with great service. Highly recommend The Grand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommoo
Knoxville, TN
May 19, 2014

Good for a short stay

We stayed at the Grand Hotel because we were going to a concert at the Bardavon Theater, and the hotel is withing walking distance. Access to the hotel entrance was a bit difficult to do by car - the driveway is very narrow and short. We ended up having to first park the car and then take our luggage from the parking garage to the hotel lobby. Parking is plentiful, though, and there is an elevator that takes you to the hotel. The staff of the hotel was wonderful and very accommodating. There are some renovations going on, so one of the two elevators that go to the hotel room floors was not operational. Our room was spotless and comfortable; however, the plumbing could use an upgrade. We had the breakfast package, and there were plenty of choices, including omelets, scrambled eggs, pastries, bagels, and yogurt. We only stayed at the Grand for two nights, and that worked out very well for us. But, I do not think I would have wanted to stay there for any length of time, at least until their renovations are completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are some very nice restaurants near the hotel, which helps contribute to its appeal.

Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pita Mom
Upstate NY
Apr 27, 2014

Wonderful place to stay

We went to Poughkeepsie to help my son move. This hotel was well kept, the staff was helpful, courteous and professional and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location is slightly sketchy, given it is in the middle of Poughkeepsie, but we had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Brasserie

Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerryP
Cranford, NJ
Oct 6, 2013

Great location

very friendly staff. very clean room. Room windows could use a washing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deebugger
Munich, Germany
Aug 28, 2013

Best Location for walkway and dinning

Actually I am looking for a cheap hotel near the walkway bridge, one highlight you should miss in the city. It turns out my best choice. You can walk about 10 minutes to get to the bridge and 2 minute you are in Main Street where many restaurants and bar are available. The furniture seems to be a little bit old, but for 120 butts it is definitely worth it. Also to mention about the big bed. it is very comfortable. The hotel staff is very kindly and helpful. They called me when I forgot my water bottle, to which i was so grateful since I was with a bicycle on the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drew Bakkah
Planet Earth
Mar 26, 2013

Rodney Adkins concert

Great hospitality. Very short walk to the civic center where I was attending a concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenniexoxoxo
Business
Long Island, New York
Mar 13, 2013

Loved it!

Clean, quiet, and comfortable. Food was excellent. Definitely worth a stay. Staff was courteous and attentive. Stay was the nicest I've stayed in a while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ToddJax
Jacksonville
Jan 31, 2013

Overnight stay for a concert at the Chance

The Poughkeepsie Grand lived up to my expectations. The parking situation could be explained better with some signs. The only other complaint is the general area around the hotel is a little sketchy. The staff advised my against walking to a nearby restaurant at night. I did appreciate the honesty however. The food at the bar was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chance Theater has great local and national acts on a nightly basis.

Review of Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BigDog228
Business
New York, New York
Nov 29, 2012

Nice Hotel with good location in business are of Poughkeepsie

Usually stay away from hotels without "brand" name. Took this one for convenience to location where I did business. Surprised to find a nicely appointed hotel with relatively newly renovated accommodation and friendly, helpful staff, free wireless in room, free use of business center, free full breakfast and free drink at the nice bar. Onluy drawback is that neighborhood is sketchy at night, and I was advised and did stay in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top