$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 11, 2014 Check-out: Oct 12, 2014

Mercury Grand Hotel

2 stars
2170 South Road, Rte. 9, 2170 South Road, Rte. 9, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
15 reviews
Affordable quality

Affordable quality clean room. Not a lot of amenities but comfortable for anyone looking for clean... See full review

  • Julia NYNY
  • Feb 18, 2014
Got what I paid for

Upon checking in, they couldn't find my reservations asmy name is hhyphenated. They eventually... See full review

  • JoshOFisher
  • May 19, 2014
Mercury Grand located in Poughkeepsie New York is conveniently located near many Dutchess County and Hudson Valley tourism sites including the MidHudson Civic Center Walkway over the Hudson Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum and the Locust Grovealso known as the Samuel F. B. Morse House. Live venues are close by at the Bardavon 1869 Opera House The Chance Theater and Canal Street. Looking for fun for younger family members. Plan on taking in a baseball game with the Hudson Valley Renegades playing miniature golf or bumper boats at Fun Central squeeze in a little education at the MidHudson Childrens Museum or relax and get wet at Splashdown Beach water park. We are close to the Poughkeepsie Galleria mall featuring Lowes Macys JC Penney Sears Best Buy Dicks Sporting Goods Target and many more stores. Woodbury Common Premium Outlets is also nearby for all the serious shoppers and bargain hunters. Our location is the perfect hub for day trips to New York City and Broadway shows the United States Military Academy at West Point and Hudson River boat tours. Colleges in the area include The Culinary Institute of America Vassar College Marist College SUNY at New Paltz and Bard College. When traveling to the area for business you will find our location the perfect home close to IBM and Gap Distribution Center. Every morning before you start your day enjoy a free full hot breakfast to have the energy to take in all the sites or wow them at you business meetings. Our breakfast includes eggs sausage bacon or ham waffles potatoes cereal fresh fruit and much more. Our fullservice hotel offers Spice Aroma restaurant and Harpers Bar and Grill. Gather to relax or bring your business associates back for a dinner meeting or cocktail.

Hotel Map

41.6401 -73.9194
Area served
Hopewell Junction, Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park, Wappingers Falls, Lagrangeville
Nearby airports
Dutchess County, (POU), 2.70, MI, NW; Stewart, (SWF), 18.80, MI, NE;
Area description
Suburban, Route 9 North 8 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mercury Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Mercury Grand Hotel Rooms

2 Double Beds Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Double Beds Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Handicap Non Smoking
Description not provided
2 Double Beds Handicap Non Smoki
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Jacuzzi Non Smoking
Description not provided
1 Queen Bed Jacuzzi Smoking
Description not provided
1 King Bed Executive Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Copy service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for Mercury Grand Hotel

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.7
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.1

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
from New York
Business
Hudson valley
Sep 2, 2014

Terrible

This hotel is in terrible condition. First room was full of bugs. Second room was so dirty, like public parking. They gave us 3 room. They tried to vacuum, but condition of the room was disgusting. breakfast room was more terrible condition tan everything else. I' m really afraid to talk about Hot breakfast. You can call what ever you want but food was horrible. The staff tried to do their best but it was very hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Home for the weekend
Atlanta Ga.
Aug 20, 2014

Service ended once I checked out.

I left an item in the room I called the same day and was told the manager would call me when he returned from break. Not. I called the next day and was told the person on the phone they would check on it and call me back. Not. I phone the 3rd day and was told I would be contacted today. It's still early and they may call me back, but I' not counting on it. Customer service should extend beyond checking out of the 2 rooms we rented for 3 days. The item was not expensive, but it mattered to me and I'm disappointed they didn't f/u.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just be responsible with your items. If you leave something you may never see it again. Good Breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M.E.K
Boston
Jul 24, 2014

Meh

When I got to the hotel they did not have my reservation on file which complicated the check-in process. There was no ice in the ice machine, the vending machine was out of water, and the continental breakfast did not have healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bds1234
NY, NY
Jun 9, 2014

Frustrating Experience

We made online reservations at 6 pm. I called the front desk to find out when we could check in and was told at any time before 2:30 am. We arrived at 8 pm and was told the reservation had not come through. After waiting 2 hours in the lobby to figure out the problem, we finally received our key. Keep in mind that I had the online confirmation emailed and the proof of charge to my credit card to show the employee. He insisted that he needed a credit card number from the booking agency to process the room and spent almost an hour on hold with customer service. I eventually had to get on the phone to speak with the representative myself because of how poorly this man handled the slightest bit of stress. All we kept hearing was how it "wasn't his fault." We finally got our room key to the third floor and learned the hotel has no elevator. We could carry our items up the flights of stairs easy enough, but there was a family with a person with a disability who uses a wheelchair. How can a hotel not have an elevator? It wasn't out of service, by the way, they actually do not have one. This has to be out of compliance with the ADA. Once in the room, we opened the window to air it out (lovely scent, really) and it was fine enough for a one night stay. We were heading out to a party, anyway, and only stayed in there to sleep. It was an unpleasant experience and even though we got a good deal on the price, I will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoshOFisher
Coventry, RI
May 19, 2014

Got what I paid for

Upon checking in, they couldn't find my reservations asmy name is hhyphenated. They eventually found it. The hotels ice machine was out of order so had to wait for the desk clerk to get some from Kitchen. It was not an awful stay but not overly pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Former NY girl
New Hampshire
May 5, 2014

Good Value for the Money

I'm from NY and know the area very well. You can't beat the price when compared to hotels in the same area. It is an old motel but it was very clean. It just needs upgrading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kristee the traveler
syracuse, ny
May 4, 2014

total nightmare

we arrived to be told there was no record of our online reservation. the desk clerk called the online booking service, but everytime they answered, he pressed 1 for english. had he listened to the recording, the 1 was for spanish. after 20 minutes at the desk, i called myself. the clerk was very flippant, to our time constraint, and kept refering to it as a minor inconvience. after an hour to check in, we missed our dinner reservation, and went to our concert at the chance theater, without eating that day at all. in the morning, we went to get coffee at the breakfast area. the basket of creamer was empty, so i took it to the front desk to request more. i was told the attendant should be in the breakfast area, to get us some. of course she was there, playing on a laptop computer, at a guest table. when i asked for creamer, she got up and pointed to the coffee, and in a very demeaning tone yelled at me, the coffee is right there ! i handed her the empty basket, and said creamer ! to our surprise, she began swearing under her breath, because we interupted her ! as far as cleanliness, there was urine on our toilet seat, and vomit in the hallway, that had dried into the carpet ! worst hotel stay ever !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robin De
NY
Feb 19, 2014

Quick Trip

Wonderful experience. Clean, affordable and comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurants and malls very close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julia NYNY
New York, NY
Feb 18, 2014

Affordable quality

Affordable quality clean room. Not a lot of amenities but comfortable for anyone looking for clean and not too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Mercury Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jackiebmethuen
Business
methuen, ma
Oct 15, 2012

Dirty room, terrible breakfast and heat and air conditioning didn't work properly

The first experience was coming into the reception desk and hearing a comedian doing a set full of profanity. Thanks goodness I did not check in with my children, or I would have been livid. The room was dirty, especially the shower which was unacceptable. Room was either too hot, or too cold. The HVAC needs to be fixed. Bed was uncomfortable and the breakfast was sub-standard. I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search