$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

2 stars
View map of 95 Route 17K, Newburgh, NY 12550-5009

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
69 reviews
EXCELLENT BUSINESS STAY/FAMILY GETAWAY

THE STAY WAS WONDERFUL, THE ONLY THING I WOULD CONSIDER DOING IS PUTTING MICROWAVES AND MINI... See full review

  • KOOL DAD
  • Oct 11, 2013
Hotel was good value

They fixed a few problems & the staff was really nice See full review

  • Christine M.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Take the family to this Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh ideally located in the heart of the beautiful Hudson Valley near Stewart International Airport and West Point. See the custom motorcycles of the Orange County Choppers TV show less than a mile from this lodging. Explore historic downtown, take a cruise down the Hudson, or visit nearby Hudson Highlands for scenic views of the valley. Tour the famous Bannerman Castle less than 15 minutes away. Dine at the onsite Union Square Restaurant, and start your morning with a complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast. Plan your exciting day with the complimentary wireless Internet access, and the friendly 24-hour front desk staff is available to help. Take advantage of the laundry and dry cleaning service, and business center with copy and fax service. Comfortable guest rooms include coffee-maker, hairdryer and TV. Smoke-free and handicapped-accessible rooms are also available. There is no charge for children 17 and under with an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine M.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Hotel was good value

They fixed a few problems & the staff was really nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Good for the money, no frills but clean and good value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobbAy
Business
ny
Oct 6, 2014

dirty and nothing special

We had holes in our towels and bed sheets. Also the "free wifi" was so spotty that we couldn't even use it. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SLN818
Business
Pasadena, MD
Aug 3, 2014

Skunk and Rat

I never made it to the room. There were customers in the lobby complaining and being refunded. Signs in the lobby about cash transactions and age restrictions made the hotel seem a little dicey. Finally, there was a skunk at the front door and a rat at the back. The staff member said "I can't believe we don't have the phone number for Animal Control with all of the wild dogs and cats out back". Thankfully, I was told I would not be charged. I SLEPT IN MY VEHICLE IN A REST STOP. Felt safer in a rest stop on Interstate 87 than I did any where near that hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
westpointinstructor
Business
west point, ny
Jul 20, 2014

Good price, ok hotel

I moved to West Point and all of the other hotels were booked. I was a bit aprehensive about the hotel, but it was actually ok. The staff was friendly, but furniture was a bit dated. I recommend this hotel, but if you're taking a special vacation - why in the heck are you going to Newburgh, NY??!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rick Schoenfeld
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Jun 21, 2014

not much but OK

If all you need is a bed late at night and nothing else, this is fine. And the internet signal was good. Rooms and bedsheets are feather worn and old. Bed not really comfy, but I was there just for a quick stop before a 7 AM flight so saw no other amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Demetrius Miller
Business
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Jun 17, 2014

Savings for a reason

Two of the three hotel staff I interacted with were not professional in their appearance; neither did they interact with me in a way that affirmed that I was a human being or a welcome customer. (One staff member was good though.) From what I could see, the room-cleaning staff does the best they can with what they have. The rate charged for the room was attractive but the savings comes at a different cost. This hotel really "needs that special something."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bobthefish
Business
middle village ny
Jun 10, 2014

not what it used to be

for the money it was ok ..very nice area newburg..u get what u pay for on the cheap...the nite desk person was not very nice at all...close to hyway and local resturants ....best was we were next to ORANGE COUNTY CHOPPERS NEW PLACE...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

ORANGE COUNTY CHOPPERS ... next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Camp Guy
Business
Syracuse, NY
Mar 4, 2014

Wouldn't Return

Not certain the room was cleaned, the bathtub was rusted, only shampoo bottle had been half used, and the non-smoking room smelled of stale smoke. It was convenient to get to my locations, and inexpensive, but that is where the benefits lay. The person at the front desk was obviously there just doing her job. Breakfast was decent for continental.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BethAnn90
Business
Tennessee
Jan 21, 2014

Average

My boyfriend said it best when he said "it's just a normal hotel room". But I wanted something more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Centrally located.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Newburgh

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelerny2013
Business
Ny
Dec 15, 2013

Decent place to stay

Only major issue was it took way to long to warm up the room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top