$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
View map of 481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
428 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much. See full review

  • Lee Bruce
  • Sep 11, 2014
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown.
Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access (High Speed available for $9.95/day), a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.
Parking: $60USD/Night for Standard, $70USD/Night for SUV and Luxury.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
Metro View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 428
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ammarie G.
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

Nice comfortable stay

The hotel was in a perfect location close to every thing I needed. Security was tight and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and provided all amenities that I needed while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricialafille
Business
Lisbon, Portugal
Sep 1, 2014

History near Penn Station

I chose the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel because of its proximity to Penn Station, and was delighted to find an historical, art deco building built in 1929 (obviously renovated) that hosted the likes of Benny Goodman and Joe DiMaggio in its heyday. There were two options for dining: Coopers Tavern and the Tick Tock Diner, both adequate and convenient. Plenty of elevators (key card checks at night for security) made accessing my room easy. The staff, especially front desk employee Gaviana and housekeeping manager floor manager Michelle, extended themselves when I needed special assistance. While the atmosphere is busy, I had a very pleasant stay.. I'd definitely consider returning if the situation presents itself again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrerra
Business
Virginia
Aug 27, 2014

Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect. Walking distance from Penn Station, easy access to some of the main attractions in the city, plenty of options to eat and everything else. Highly recommended, would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Penn Station - If you're getting to NYC by Amtrak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wonderor
Business
albany,new york
Jul 19, 2014

good location

The most impresive quality of this hotel is its location.its close to subway and train stations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mizzoumarcus
Business
New Haven, CT
Jun 29, 2014

Loved it!

I was nice to the front desk clerk, and was upgraded to a suite! The room was clean, the staff friendly, and the location was excellent...all at an affordable price. I'll for sure be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David3495
Business
Watford, UK
Apr 12, 2014

Decent midtown hotel

It was the first time I'd stayed at the New Yorker Hotel, but it won't be the last. It is a large hotel with plenty of lifts. The room was basic but suited my needs, with a good shower. The situation is covenient for midtown and downtoen, close to subways and Penn station, which made getting to and from JFK very easy. I'd recommend it if you don't want to spend too much time in your hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Schnippers on 8th Avenue for a late-night snack. The Cheesy Fries are delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SueLange
Business
Reading, PA
Feb 10, 2014

All I need is a tub

As long as the hotel room is clean, has a tub, and is reasonably quiet. I'm happy. The New Yorker is all of that. Add to it the great art deco style and the warm room temp and it's all good. The garment district is not my favorite part of New York, but if you're going to Madison Square Garden or even the theater, it's not a bad location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzelm
Business
Burlington VT
Oct 5, 2013

Great price, location, staff not so much

I was so happy to find a great deal on the New Yorker. Love the location and the hotel overall. However, staff not very helpful, knowledgeable or some not very friendly... Had issues with safe right from the start... Really would be helpful for the hotel guidebook to be more informational. It should contain information on the amenities of the hotel and not just #'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Weekender
Business
NY State
Oct 15, 2012

Nice hotel

The staff was okay. The overall style was old fashioned it could use some updating. But overall I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WBP71
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Awesome Sports Weekend

The character of this hotel made me appreciate it much more than those where friends stayed at much higher rates. More older properties should be retained and updated like this when possible! The amenities here only enhanced my appreciation of this location and, all things remaining the same, increase the likelihood of my return when I need to book another hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top