$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
415 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much. See full review

  • Lee Bruce
  • Sep 11, 2014
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown. Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access (High Speed available for $9.95/day), a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
Metro View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (415)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 415
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One More Trip
Business
Evanston, IL
Nov 23, 2014

Great Location!

The room we got was VERY SMALL. Two people could not fit in the bathroom at once and you had to close the bathroom door to sit on the toilet. If someone sat at the desk (and you got cold as it was so close to the window) the person sleeping on that side of the bed could not get through. Despite the tiny size of the room, it was clean and neat. The best part is the location. Very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are a "walker" walk wherever you want to go. Sometimes you get there faster walking than taking a taxi through the bad traffic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eve Fanfest Attendee
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2014

Great location to Javits

Attended a conference at the Javits Center. This hotel is a great location and an easy walk from penn station, to Javits, and also time square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCFox
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 8, 2014

Like home away from home

This hotel is very accommodating, convenient and clean, as I have so many times mentioned to my friends. I always know I'm going to be well taken care of! Especially the staff, cordial, polite, professional and very accommodating. THANKS AGAIN, GUYS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stage Door Deli and Restaurant 461 8 Ave (8th Ave & W 33rd St) New York, NY 10001

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HoosthatBugbug
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Aug 1, 2014

great rooms but some parts remain unrenovated...

The rooms are great and nicely renovated, my only complaint would be the lack of places to plug in. No real plugs by the bed (had to pull the bed out and plug my phone into an old white octopus with tons of lights already plugged in. The desk didn't have any outlets either. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was great. The halls to the rooms didn't seem to be updated and had an old smell to them. The neighborhood is a little fringy if you are concerned by that. Nothing scary, just lots of homeless people at night. Nobody bothers you much though. For the price it was a great deal and very close to a lot of great neighborhoods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to msg, Penn station, times square or midtown west, it is all right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC on the Go
Business
ca
Jul 12, 2014

Small Room, Nice Staff

The staff was top notch. Very cheerful and helpful. Updated rooms are nicely appointed, but quite cramped even by NYC standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Head to any other section of the city for a decent meal. Not much to offer in the way of fine dining in this area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Military Wife 25
Business
Gulfport, Mississippi
Jun 2, 2014

good location

Hotel is close to lots of food and penn station. Can even walk to times square from here. Staff is friendly but hard to get someone to answer the phone at the front desk. The place is big and clean. Security at night is pretty good. You need to show your room key to get upstairs after 10pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EBDC
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 2, 2014

Great location, needs an update

It's hard to beat Wyndham New Yorker's location, especially if you're taking the train into Penn Station. Just a block from Penn Station, a few minutes walk to the Javits Convention Center, and an easy stroll to Times Square and the Theater District, you'll have your pick of where to go. Not all of the hotel's floors have been updated since Wyndham aquired the building and it shows. My bathroom was terribly out of date, lacking even counter tops to set a cosmetics bag on. My room was small, but that's standard for New York and didn't really bother me. Staff was all friendly and courteous and the lobby is a gorgeous art deco design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While visitors may be attracted to Times Square, head the other direction to Chelsea and The High Line for a beautiful, different perspective of New York.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SteveBiz
Business
Franklin, MA
May 16, 2014

Grand NYC Dame

This is a great old hotel in the perfect location. Very clean and comfortable. Very helpful staff. It's a city hotel with small rooms, so if you're looking for space, this isn't for you. But for a metro stay; especially for 1 person; it's PERFECT.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LDWG
Business
Keene, NH
Apr 6, 2014

vintage hotel next to Penn Station

Proximity to Penn Station was why I selected this place, and also I have a soft spot for older hotels. The room was very small, OK for a single business traveller but would have been tight quarters for two. Last renovation must have been decades ago. Things like the capped old gas line under the sink indicate that the last renovation was also done on the cheap. And why would anyone put a shower head at 68" above the tub bottom? On the plus side, I was able to check in at 0930 so I could unpack my bags and set a comfortable temperature for the room. And on the way out of town it was very convenient to be able to pick up my bags and walk to the train. On the minus side, the next morning housekeeping helpfully reset the temperature to sweltering hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bisy Backson
Business
Gros-Islet, Saint Lucia
Mar 25, 2014

Comfort and Convenience

I was only in New York for a few days, but my stay at The New Yorker allowed me to experience so much of the city. It's location is probably the absolute best thing about it. Everything is close by. I do also have to make special mention of the room. I miss the bed already. I stayed in one of their smaller suites, but it was enough since it was just me and I was only there for a few days. I had a lie-in on my last day and it was amazing. Great housekeeping service. I'm by no means a messy person but every time I returned to the room it was spotless and smelled amazing. Highly recommended for anyone who wants to be in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top