$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 18, 2014

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
413 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much. See full review

  • Lee Bruce
  • Sep 11, 2014
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown. Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access, a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.

Hotel Map

40.7527 -73.9936
Area served
Manhattan, New York, New York, USA
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, John F. Kennedy, Newark Airport
Area description
Areas Served Continued: Greenfield, Grapevine, Gorman, Goshen, Hanford, Havilah, Kernville, Lemoore, Lebee, Lamont, Lost Hills, Loraine, Lake Isabella, Lancaster, Moorpark, McKittrick, McFarland, Mettler, Pinyon Pines, Poplar, Pixley, Palmdale, Porterville, Pumpkin Center, Richgrove, Shafter, Squirrel Valley, Santa Clarita, Santa Paula, Tehachapi, Three Rivers, Taft, Tupman, Tulare, Visalia, Wheeler Ridge, Wasco, Woodlake, Woofford Heights, Walker Basin, Weldon, Weedpatch, Bakersfield, California, USA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
City View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (413)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
413 out of 413
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RMS2012
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 10, 2013

A bad experience at check-in time

I will not be returning to the New Yorker Hotel because of a bad experience at check-in time during a recent visit. When I arrived at the hotel around midnight, I was told by the person behind the front desk that my reservation wasn't in the system. I showed him my confirmation email along with a hotel confirmation number. Still no go. After a few minutes of head scratching, he asked when I made my reservation. I told him a few hours before. Oh that's the problem was his answer. Your reservation information is probably sitting in a FAX machine (!) in an office upstairs that closes at 5PM. He told that he would need about 15 minutes to retrieve the FAX and enter my information into the hotel reservation system. Needless to say I was not happy. I insisted that I needed a room right away and the reservation paper work could be dealt with in the morning. He grumbled some and then proceeded to type stuff into with the front-desk computer to get me into the system. I finally got my room key after 25 minutes of fiddling. It was the worse check-in experience that I have had a hotel. Clearly the hotel has problems with its IT systems. There might also be issues with staff training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MarkyD
Business
Miami
Jul 13, 2009

New Yorker

Tiny rooms, and this was allegedly an upgrade!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CHAUNCEY DOUGLAS
Business
ROCHESTER NY
Oct 19, 2009

HORRIBLE HOTEL

EMPLOYEES WOULD NOT OPEN THE BATHROOM DOORS WHEN MY GIRLFRIEND WAS SICK, ADVERTISED SMOKING ROOMS AND IT WAS A NON-SMOKING HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jun 3, 2009

No to the New Yorker

I attended a conference. The staff was not aware of any hotel services, gave incorrect information, took too long to respond to requests and were matter-of-fact rather than friendly. The rooms were much to small and the rooms allotted for ORBITZ customers were unbearable. I had to ask to be booked in another room which was almost the same, the only thing it had was a view without a wall. The restaurant attached to the hotel had awful food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
May 1, 2011

Avoid if Possible

Very overpriced for the small room and spotty service. It is not close to anything of interest except Penn Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alia Imm Mehdi
Business
Dearborn, MI
Oct 31, 2009

price was not compatible with the hotel

The receptionist took my credit card again even if was prepaid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
Dec 27, 2010

Awful Hotel

Rude personnel, impossible to get ahold of the front desk (I needed to call them by cell), and a very sparse, drafty room. Will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 20, 2009

great location,but we had a big problem

We enjoyed the great location and thought the room was fine until we noticed that our snacks had been gotten in to by a rodent. Needless to say we were out of that room in seconds. They moved us from the 27th to the 37th floor and the manager told me that he had never heard of anyone haveing prolems with rodents on the upper floors. Needless to say this still didn't calm my fears. It was our last night in new York at 11pm when we found out about our problem or I would have probably tried to get a flight out then. the night manager was very aplogetic but the day manager wasn't very sympathtetic. He offered to reimburse us for 50% of one night stay. We were not happy with this and then got a lot of grief about how this is difficult because we booked through a third party. I don't know why it shouuld be such a hassle as they got paid for our stay! we finally settled on the hotel paying for our transportaton to the airport($85) and a lunch in the nearby diner. The compensation of course did nothing to make me feel better about the experience. I would have recommeded the hotel to friends but of course I can't now in good faith. I would appreciate hearing back from you and the hotel if you can comment on an issue like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brittany Unhappy Customer
Business
Garrett, IN
Jul 26, 2009

Not so nice!

This was in a good location and the staff was friendly. However, in the 2 night stay we had 2 cockroaches in our room. I have never had to experience cockroaches at any other hotel I have ever stayed at. It made me feel dirty and I was glad the second we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cheshire, CT
Jan 12, 2011

worst hotel experience ever!!!!

Very bad service and attitude from Hotel Management

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top