$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
View map of 481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GAboy
Couples
Atlanta, Ga
Mar 7, 2013

Nice Location!

The diner attached to the Hotel is great for a quick bite to eat and the food is good. As for the room they are small, but once you get all your stuff put away it's not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Black Tie Rave
Friends
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 3, 2013

Very Nice. Especially for the Money

Very Polite staff. Parking sucks, but right across from the MSG, what do I expect. Rooms were nice, but the bathroom was a bit dated. I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nigel j
Family
manchester uk
Feb 25, 2013

family holiday

enjoyed are stay would book again if we returned to new york

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tips
Couples
Lancaster
Feb 24, 2013

Great Location

We stayed at the New Yorker for 3 nights, the rooms are small but this did not bother us as it was only used as a base to explore. The rooms had free wi-fi which was a real bonus. We also had a good shower which was very powerful and plenty of hot water. The location of the hotel is excellent, it is close to Times Square, Macys and the Empire State Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily Equalizer
Friends
Sandwich, MA
Feb 12, 2013

we weathered the storm

stayed extra two days during blizzard - hotel staff very cordial and accommadating in arranging this - Tick Tock Diner, Cooper's Tavern & location of hotel convenient for our interests & needs - room small but very clean - will definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RMS2012
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Feb 10, 2013

A bad experience at check-in time

I will not be returning to the New Yorker Hotel because of a bad experience at check-in time during a recent visit. When I arrived at the hotel around midnight, I was told by the person behind the front desk that my reservation wasn't in the system. I showed him my confirmation email along with a hotel confirmation number. Still no go. After a few minutes of head scratching, he asked when I made my reservation. I told him a few hours before. Oh that's the problem was his answer. Your reservation information is probably sitting in a FAX machine (!) in an office upstairs that closes at 5PM. He told that he would need about 15 minutes to retrieve the FAX and enter my information into the hotel reservation system. Needless to say I was not happy. I insisted that I needed a room right away and the reservation paper work could be dealt with in the morning. He grumbled some and then proceeded to type stuff into with the front-desk computer to get me into the system. I finally got my room key after 25 minutes of fiddling. It was the worse check-in experience that I have had a hotel. Clearly the hotel has problems with its IT systems. There might also be issues with staff training.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo - Business Traveller
Couples
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 27, 2013

Need a great place near Penn Station?

As you probably know by now after reading all the reviews here, this hotel is absolutely your best choice if you are coming by Amtrak or otherwise want to be near Penn Station. The rooms are small (hotel opened in 1930), but perfectly adequate. Bathroom fixtures are well maintained, though old (some look like the original Art Deco fixtures if you are in to that era's art work). Staff is absolutely tip-top. Don't forget to ask for more soap and shower amenities...it's a little thin when you get in. This hotel can get really pricey, but if you can get it on a discount it's pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Want to save some time and money? Order take-out from the Tic-Tock Diner and take it back to your room. No tip, the service is fast, the food is just as good and you can rent a movie with the money saved. Dinner and a movie...cheap.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carl Lamb
Couples
UK
Dec 19, 2012

New York Holiday? Perfect Spot

We stayed for a full and busy week. The hotel is perfectly located bang in the centre of town. We upgraded to a high floor with Empire State view, only $10 a night extra....but what a view! Well worth it. Staff were very polite and helpful. Information desk arranged our return taxi to JFK and checked us in online, very reasonable rates and very efficient. Top Tip - ask for coffee/tea facility in your room, if you dont ask you dont get and its free! We may have missed it but a Hotel Bar would have been nice but we didnt go short as everything is on the doorstep. Fully recommend staying to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim from Buffalo
Family
Buffalo NY
Dec 12, 2012

Christmas in NYC

Great location. In Midtown near Penn Station Macy's & the Empire State Building. Can walk everywhere. Staff was great. Our first room was small & had no view to speak off; Ask if they could give us something better ( My sister's first visit to NYC) and they were able to give us a great room and a great view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bryant Park: much better than Rockefeller center to ice skate or watch the ice skaters. Right at 42nd & 6th. Ave.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
XOXO
Friends
Uk
Dec 10, 2012

Expensive budget hotel

I found that this hotel was expensive in comparison to what was offered. The hotel is in a run down part of 8th Ave. When you get out of the lift on your floor you immediately can see that the hotel needs updating. The rooms are very small - dusty- and considering the prices charged there no tea making facilities in the room. Fortunately I spent very little time at the hotel and would advise travellers to choose elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top