$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
412 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much. See full review

  • Lee Bruce
  • Sep 11, 2014
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown. Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access, a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.

Hotel Map

40.7527 -73.9936
Area served
Manhattan, New York, New York, USA
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, John F. Kennedy, Newark Airport
Area description
Areas Served Continued: Greenfield, Grapevine, Gorman, Goshen, Hanford, Havilah, Kernville, Lemoore, Lebee, Lamont, Lost Hills, Loraine, Lake Isabella, Lancaster, Moorpark, McKittrick, McFarland, Mettler, Pinyon Pines, Poplar, Pixley, Palmdale, Porterville, Pumpkin Center, Richgrove, Shafter, Squirrel Valley, Santa Clarita, Santa Paula, Tehachapi, Three Rivers, Taft, Tupman, Tulare, Visalia, Wheeler Ridge, Wasco, Woodlake, Woofford Heights, Walker Basin, Weldon, Weedpatch, Bakersfield, California, USA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
City View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (412)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
412 out of 412
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
XOXO
Uk
Dec 10, 2012

Expensive budget hotel

I found that this hotel was expensive in comparison to what was offered. The hotel is in a run down part of 8th Ave. When you get out of the lift on your floor you immediately can see that the hotel needs updating. The rooms are very small - dusty- and considering the prices charged there no tea making facilities in the room. Fortunately I spent very little time at the hotel and would advise travellers to choose elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keith E
Business
New York
Nov 29, 2012

Treated as 2nd class guest.

The hotel itself was nice, but upon checking into or room i found that it was extremely small and my feet actually extended over end of bed. Upon stating my concerns to front desk he pulled up our reservation and said "Oh you booked through a discount site, there is nothing I can really do" Made to feel as 2nd class guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peppermintp
England
Nov 21, 2012

Great location, small room but comfy bed!

Hotel easily located for either mid up or downtown amenities. lots of delis / cafes nearby for breakfast etc., tho hotel has the Tick Tock diner (great for experiencing all American pancakes!) as well as a mini take out stand for coffee & muffins. Bed really comfy; hotel staff helpful. My only observation was that our room was only really big enough for 2 (there were 3 of us) but hey it's NYC, so for a few days who cares!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get out and explore - it's easy but if on foot try and plan according to area e.g. if only there for a few days you don't want to go from Greenwich village to central park every day!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Weekender
NY State
Oct 15, 2012

Nice hotel

The staff was okay. The overall style was old fashioned it could use some updating. But overall I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Husbandboyd
Amarillo, Tx
Oct 9, 2012

2nd trip to New York

Hotel location was nice. Bed were pretty soft. a good amount of street noise, but overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of variety and a good range of prices all around the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveling Tech Guy
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 4, 2012

Great service, run down rooms that need some love

The service here is great, very friendly and nice staff. The location is good as well. Price is medium. The rooms are dated and getting a bit gross. Paint peeling in the bathroom, carpets frayed, etc. As I was packing up to leave, I found a bug crawling on the bed, which was icing on the cake. Glad I found it on my way out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WBP71
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 11, 2012

Awesome Sports Weekend

The character of this hotel made me appreciate it much more than those where friends stayed at much higher rates. More older properties should be retained and updated like this when possible! The amenities here only enhanced my appreciation of this location and, all things remaining the same, increase the likelihood of my return when I need to book another hotel in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen from patchogue
Patchogue new York
Aug 19, 2012

Needs some updating

The hotel location is good the price compared to all others is good. But needs some updating bed was really uncomfortable I couldn't sleep. Valet parking destroyed my rim on my car but I guess that can happen anywhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Blue fin seafood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UK Team
U.K.
Aug 14, 2012

Good central location - poor service

Good central location. Very convenient for shopping and theatres etc. Hotel front desk service poor, in terms of progressing queues or dealing with complaints. Front desk manager failed to respond to messages and call as agreed. Quite expensive rates. Don't use the transportation desk - prices a rip off and lack of customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamesvfx
San Francisco
Jul 16, 2012

it was cool 50 years ago

probably lots of celebrities were here but 50 years ago, now it need a little bit or more work,rooms are too small, amenities are so old and rusty, will no go back . thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search