$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
View map of 481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
427 out of 427
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig from the Bahamas
Business
Bahamas
Dec 22, 2013

Great place to stop a stopover

This hotel has a great location right next to Penn Station, this is convenient for getting to and from the airport as well as getting around Manhattan. The rooms are really small, but I suppose for the price and location it's pretty standard in NYC. The room had all the amenities but I wouldn't want to stay there for more than a couple days. Staff were very friendly. Overall a great stopover.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eire girl
Business
Ireland
Nov 30, 2013

Enjoyable

good location ,friendly staff and clean comfortable room what more could you ask for

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

NJ transet run a train from Newark airport stops at penn station only $ 12.50 each way only down the street from this hotel! Very good :-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GCFox
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Nov 29, 2013

Short business trip

The staff at the New Yorker was awesome! I certainly appreciated such a high level of professional accommodation. It seems to come naturally -especially with Romona at the front desk. Warm, professional, gentle and genuine, thank you, I shall return once a month to the New Yorker. Mrs. Conley

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The shopping and everything else is within a block or two.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebemar
Business
Co.Meath, Ireland
Oct 15, 2013

First ever trip to New York

Hotel ideally located, staff friendly and helpful. Room although spotlessly clean was a bit on the small side. However it was not the intention to spend much time in the room when there were so many sights to be seen and the concierge was so helpful when planning our day. I would certainly stay at The New Yorker again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gaucho
Business
Hemsley Park Lane
Oct 14, 2013

Acceptable

As stated in the title acceptable, price-value bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buzzelm
Business
Burlington VT
Oct 5, 2013

Great price, location, staff not so much

I was so happy to find a great deal on the New Yorker. Love the location and the hotel overall. However, staff not very helpful, knowledgeable or some not very friendly... Had issues with safe right from the start... Really would be helpful for the hotel guidebook to be more informational. It should contain information on the amenities of the hotel and not just #'s.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelling pensioners
Business
Altrincham UK
Oct 2, 2013

Good location for seeing New York

When we arrived we were given the smallest room imaginable where there was barely room for the two of us to be in the room together.When we complained to reception we were then upgraded to a marginally larger room overlooking the Empire State Building without any fuss whatsoever. The hotel was well located midtown for getting around NY but it was expensive for the quality of amenities provided.the attached bar and restaurant was somewhat disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Giants sf
Business
San Francisco California
Sep 26, 2013

Getaway

Hotel was nice and in a great location. The room was small for the price even with a discount. But we weren't at the hotel much so it was perfect for what we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Redouane E
Business
Virginia beach, VA
Sep 10, 2013

A wonderful stay at a great hotel

Great staff, great service and wonderful tower suites. The tower suites have a view of the empire state building from your window, and the location does not get any better. The suite had a fridge, keurig cofee machine, very comfortable bed and pillows and a nice bathroom. The size of the room could not get any better, almost the size of 2 rooms and also had a sleeper sofa! you are within a 10 minute slow walk to times square 42 nd street and there is everything you need around the hotel. Valet Parking was the cheapest i paid in manhattan!! 35 $ per 24 hours if you are a guest of the New Yorker!! (tax included!!), about $59 at the same parking lot if you are not NYH customer. Rooms were very clean and the whole staff was very nice. My wife, daughter were very satisfied with the hotel and so did the other couple that accompanied us to NYC. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Essio
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 3, 2013

Best Location in NYC

We spent 2 nights there. The location is PERFECT for someone who is visiting the New York City. Close to subway, time square, theater district and central park. the room was very clean with a very comfortable mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top