$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
View map of 481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
425 out of 425
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristyCA
Business
California
Dec 2, 2014

Great location

Great location. Close to everything. Nice room. Clean. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One More Trip
Business
Evanston, IL
Nov 23, 2014

Great Location!

The room we got was VERY SMALL. Two people could not fit in the bathroom at once and you had to close the bathroom door to sit on the toilet. If someone sat at the desk (and you got cold as it was so close to the window) the person sleeping on that side of the bed could not get through. Despite the tiny size of the room, it was clean and neat. The best part is the location. Very close to Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, etc. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are a "walker" walk wherever you want to go. Sometimes you get there faster walking than taking a taxi through the bad traffic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eve Fanfest Attendee
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 18, 2014

Great location to Javits

Attended a conference at the Javits Center. This hotel is a great location and an easy walk from penn station, to Javits, and also time square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lee Bruce
Business
Portsmouth , New Hampshire
Sep 11, 2014

Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nannie Jannie
Business
Midlands,England
Sep 10, 2014

Perfect experience with friends.

Perfect location,diner such fun.Felt so authentic,the staff were so helpful. Only visited the diner on my last trip ,so thrilled to stay in this iconic Art Deco hotel. They are posting some items I left accidentally back to me and answered the query in 15 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use The Big Red bus company,excellent value.Ask the staff on the info desks at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCFox
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Sep 8, 2014

Like home away from home

This hotel is very accommodating, convenient and clean, as I have so many times mentioned to my friends. I always know I'm going to be well taken care of! Especially the staff, cordial, polite, professional and very accommodating. THANKS AGAIN, GUYS!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stage Door Deli and Restaurant 461 8 Ave (8th Ave & W 33rd St) New York, NY 10001

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
creed419
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 2, 2014

Conveniently located

The hotel lobby is very beautiful. The rooms had comfortable beds but the room was small and you barely could move around. The desk and chair could have been removed and the TV mounted on the wall. It would have also been nice to have a small fridge in the room. The free internet was very slow. The bathroom was very small and needed to be updated as it was very dated. Other than what I've mentioned, it was a decent stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tricialafille
Business
Lisbon, Portugal
Sep 1, 2014

History near Penn Station

I chose the Wyndham New Yorker Hotel because of its proximity to Penn Station, and was delighted to find an historical, art deco building built in 1929 (obviously renovated) that hosted the likes of Benny Goodman and Joe DiMaggio in its heyday. There were two options for dining: Coopers Tavern and the Tick Tock Diner, both adequate and convenient. Plenty of elevators (key card checks at night for security) made accessing my room easy. The staff, especially front desk employee Gaviana and housekeeping manager floor manager Michelle, extended themselves when I needed special assistance. While the atmosphere is busy, I had a very pleasant stay.. I'd definitely consider returning if the situation presents itself again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrerra
Business
Virginia
Aug 27, 2014

Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect. Walking distance from Penn Station, easy access to some of the main attractions in the city, plenty of options to eat and everything else. Highly recommended, would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Penn Station - If you're getting to NYC by Amtrak

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeelDee
Business
Long Island
Aug 26, 2014

Beautiful Time

The hotel itself was gorgeous, the room was decorated perfectly and topped my expectations! The staff were more than accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to eat/drink within short walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top