$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
417 reviews
Fantastic family getaway

Best place, i booked for my friends family. They are very satisfied. So we want say thanks very much. See full review

  • Lee Bruce
  • Sep 11, 2014
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown. Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access (High Speed available for $9.95/day), a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
Metro View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (417)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SJCK
Business
Petaluma, California
May 21, 2012

Good value for New York City!

The rooms were small but nicely decorated and kept very clean. The housekeeping staff was very pleasant. The diner, TicToc, was good value with good diner food. The wait staff was very friendly. All in all it made a good experience and value for our stay in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from Jersey
Business
Salem, NJ
May 12, 2012

Perfect location, Great service

My daughter and I spent the weekend in NYC staying at the New Yorker. The hotel is located a very short distance from Penn Station which was perfect since we arrived by train. Great location, friendly staff and a clean comfortable room. Definitely would go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rockyroad
Business
mansfield, oh
Apr 3, 2012

postcard view

we loved it..great view very nice room with comfortable beds with luxury linens. We took pics while lying in bed that could rival post cards with the view we had from the 36th floor. will visit this hotel again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

attached restaurants were superb for meals 24/7 no matter what you want you can find it in the choice of the two restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zliz
Business
Scotland, UK
Apr 2, 2012

Fantastic location

Could not have picked a better hotel, rooms small but we expected this from previous reviews, rooms clean, free wifi , staff brilliant and very helpful, diners attached to hotel also very good, a great location central to most attractions we walked everywhere would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Check out tipping protocol, we were a bit confused to start with, but after advice from other hotel guests I think we finally got it right

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
allman bros fan
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

OK for quick trip

rooms were very small and old. Bathroom needs updating. The air system was very loud

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Murv
Business
Fairmont, WV
Mar 12, 2012

Great stay

Great location for Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Empire State Building, Penn Station and the entire subway network. We've stayed at the New Yorker for about eight consective years, and will probably go back again. Location is everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Coopers Tavern has some of the best steaks in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Don't consider this hotel
Business
NYC
Mar 4, 2012

Poor staff quality

To start with, the hotel seems to have nothing to do with the brand name Ramada. It is so named purely because it is located at a plaza called Ramada, and I think this is very unethical in terms of misrepresentation or even defrauding customers. Staff members are rude and ignorant in terms of customers' request for amenities, despite several reated requests. Plus, the hotel is very old and poorly managed, and it is no way for this to be a 4-star, probably a 2, I would say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scooterk
Business
Colorado, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Excellent stay

We had an excellent experience at the New Yorker. No complaints whatsoever and at a very inexpensive price for New York. Fast check-in. Friendly staff. Very comfortable, large, and recently remodeled rooms. 24 hour diner with very fast service and decent diner food. Free business center to print out boarding passes and the like. Good valet service for lugguge. Large fitness center. A subway station right outside the door. As an old hotel, the bathrooms are smaller than in newer hotels (although they have been renovated). And its not in the theatre district (although only 10 blocks away) if that is a high priority. I was extremely satisfied with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The A, C and E subway lines are right outside the hotel. Easy access to most places in New York, even to Brooklyn and Queens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dougk
Business
Parkersburg, WV, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Very convenient

This hotel was in a great location. I came in on the train, walked two blocks and it was right there. Lots of great restaurants with in a mile radius. My trade show was two blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BroadwayMom
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Feb 6, 2012

Convenient and friendly

Located near Madison Square Garden - a 15 minute walk from Times Square. There were plenty of normal looking people in the streets, and occasional police officers, so we felt safe, and did not have any troubles. The staff was extremely friendly - especially housekeeping. Room was small, but immaculate. Decor is Art Deco - I felt like I was in a film noir, but in a good way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to get fresh fruit and healthy food nearby on your way to Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top