$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

4 stars
481 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
406 reviews
Location, location!

I booked this hotel because I was taking the train from DC to NYC and the location was perfect.... See full review

  • Andrerra
  • Aug 27, 2014
Great Hotel in NY City

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the accommodations were very comfortable. This hotel is... See full review

  • Lpracing1
  • Jul 13, 2014
Wyndham New Yorker

Boasting a rich historic legacy that includes Nikola Tesla, John F. Kennedy and Muhammad Ali as well as an enviable location mere steps from iconic sites like the Empire State Building, Times Square, and Madison Square Garden, the newly reimagined Wyndham New Yorker Hotel is the place to stay in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Walk to Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, subways, Penn Station and all that NYC has to offer, including SoHo, Chelsea, Greenwich Village and Koreatown. Enjoy two on-site restaurants, complimentary wireless Internet access, a 24-hour fitness center, and 24-hour bell and concierge staff. Meet with success and style with up to 700 friends or colleagues in 23,000-square-feet of flexible event space, then retire to a guest room that features views of the city, premium linens, flat-screen HDTV, and coffee maker. Pets are also welcome at this smoke-free facility.

Hotel Map

40.7527 -73.9936
Area served
Manhattan, New York, New York, USA
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, John F. Kennedy, Newark Airport
Area description
Areas Served Continued: Greenfield, Grapevine, Gorman, Goshen, Hanford, Havilah, Kernville, Lemoore, Lebee, Lamont, Lost Hills, Loraine, Lake Isabella, Lancaster, Moorpark, McKittrick, McFarland, Mettler, Pinyon Pines, Poplar, Pixley, Palmdale, Porterville, Pumpkin Center, Richgrove, Shafter, Squirrel Valley, Santa Clarita, Santa Paula, Tehachapi, Three Rivers, Taft, Tupman, Tulare, Visalia, Wheeler Ridge, Wasco, Woodlake, Woofford Heights, Walker Basin, Weldon, Weedpatch, Bakersfield, California, USA

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wyndham New Yorker Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Wyndham New Yorker Hotel Rooms

Tower Suite - 1 Quen & Pullout Sofa
Located on floors 38-40, these suites boast panoramic city views. 1 queen bed is layered with 300-thread-count linens. The sitting area includes a sofa and a coffee table. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-screen TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies. A wet bar and a compact refrigerator are also provided. Continental breakfast is for paying adults only.
New York Suite - 2 Double beds and Sleep Sofa
These suites have been redesigned with the extra touch of the Art Deco Style, includes two double beds and a living room with a sleep sofa, coffee table, and refrigerator. The bedroom and living room each have a flat screen panel TV with movies on demand (surcharge) and free HBO. A hairdryer and iron/ironing board are also available in the room for your convenience. Complimentary amenities include wireless internet and access to the business center. Max occupancy 6.
Metro Room - 1 Queen
Artfully redesigned with that extra touch of Art Deco style, each newly renovated queen bedded room includes a flat panel TV with free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too. Includes; Free Wireless Internet.
Metro Room - 2 Double
Double bedded and artfully redesigned with that extra touch of sophistication each double/double includes; free wireless Internet access, flat panel TV, free HBO and pay movies. Complimentary access to our Business and Fitness centers too.
City View Room - 1 Queen
Located on the 19th floor and above, you will be guaranteed a spectacular view of the Empire State Building or the Hudson River. These guestrooms are 175-190 square feet (including bathroom) and have 1 queen bed with 300-thread-count linens. Basic wireless Internet access is complimentary; faster, upgraded wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge. The flat-panel TV offers complimentary HBO and other high-definition channels, along with pay movies.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.1 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.3 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.5 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.5 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.5 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Cafe New Yorker
Quick bites for breakfast and lunch in the lobby; casual espresso bar.
Coopers Tavern
Great semi formal dining serving Regional Cuisine.
Tick Tock Diner
New York s popular 24-hour diner serves traditional and healthy meals; delivery to your guest room

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting and banquet facilities

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (406)

Ratings and reviews for Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samglm
UK
Jan 12, 2012

central hotel and good value

Had a great 50% off deal with e-bookers which made it a good value visit to New York in a great location. We had a New Yorker Suite and the bedrooms were clean, with large comfy beds and pillows. No bedbugs or other creepy crawlies. Bathroom was compact and average. The adjoining 'lounge' was huge with a large dining table and 6 chairs, sofa, writing desk and fridge. Tv and stand. We were on 22nd floor in room 2249 and it had a terrace on two sides of our rooms. The view was of the Chrysler building - lovely at night. Unfortunately, the door to the terrace was ill-fitting and a dreadful draft blew through the lounge. Luckily there was a door to the bathroom and bedroom so we were ok - but we didn't use the lounge because it was so cold - despite the hot air heating. Staff were fine (not exactly friendly) but efficient. The location was great - we flew into Newark and within an hour of leaving the airport we were in our room. We used the NJ Rail transit which cost $12.50 per adult each way. One block from Madison Square Gardens, one block from Macey's, 4 blocks from Empire State Building. A 15 minute walk to Times Square and Broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

New York City Pass. If you like art then this is the one for you. It also admits you to the Empire State Building (don't bother with the upper floor there's no difference and it's enclosed). With this pass you get a free audio phone and it is GREAT! Guggenheim - very small and only worth an hour depending on exhibition. Moma - brilliant if you are into medern art. Met - amazing place - you need a while! 2 hour cruise round Manhattan - this was ok, but you could use the alternative attraction on the ticket instead (can't remember what it was) then take the free Staten Island Ferry for the same excellent views.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woodguy
Redmond, WA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

not 4 star

The hotel was clean, and the location is very convenient. However the room was small, and the bathroom was cramped, without even a small table or vanity. We've found better bathrooms at chain motels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Madison Square Garden, Penn station.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Apollo Creed
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 7, 2012

Location, Location, Location

The New Yorker Hotel was extremely clean, updated with a classic charm and has the best location in the city for the price point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stores and shops on 34th Street and the vicinity provides excellent big box and local shopping opportunities. It is not the high end stores of 5th Avenue but quality.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria Sol
Maryland, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Amazing

Everything turned out great. We will consider coming back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alwaysaduck
Business
Texas
Dec 17, 2011

Excellent location- great amenities

Fine place for business travel- professional staff, wll appointed. Rooms however are small and bathrooms outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pooks
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 15, 2011

Enjoyable Stay

The hotel is situated quite close to times square. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating to our needs and allowed us to check in quite early. The room was small as was the bathroom. The room did not have a fridge or a safe. However, it was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are headed to the Empire State building. I wouldn't bother paying the extra money to go up the the 102nd floor. The view from the 87th floor was great and there is a lot more room to walk around.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindytalbert
Grayson, LA, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Excellent experience! First-time NY Visit

This hotel is clean, the room was warm, tastefully decorated, and comfortable. We upgraded to a view room which was outstanding! The location is close to major attractions by a short walk or short taxi ride if weather is bad. The gift shop had the best prices on souvineers I had seen. The staff is professional, knowledgeable, and courteous. Could have used a little more shelf room in the bathroom, but overall we would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I bought ALL our souvineers from the hotel gift shop as they were the best prices!

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trish Biz traveller
Business
Washington DC
Dec 4, 2011

New Yorker hotel for a Broadway weekend

This is the second time I have stayed there, and I love the hotel. The bed is very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower is great. This is an older hotel so the rooms are shaped in strange ways. It's also very convenient to Penn Station and Port Authority. The only negative I had this trip was that on my first trip I had a better view. Some day I'll get the room with the balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's about 10 blocks from the Broadway theater area -- but you hardly notice the walk.

Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bromocat
North Carolina
Nov 24, 2011

Excellent location, friendly staff

Friendly staff greeted me upon arrival. The concierge was helpful and remembered me when I went back with another question. The room was small - but this is New York! The size is ok for 1 person or 2 people without a lot of luggage. A family wouldn't be happy in the room I had. The heat was adjustable to the room so I was toasty warm. Location for a tourist is great: its above the subway, near Penn Station, down the street from the Empire State Building. There's also a tasty 24 hour diner down the street. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Wyndham New Yorker Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bubkis
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Nov 11, 2011

Excellent Hotel Stay

Business trip. Hotel was convenient, clean, safe and the staff was extremely courteous. I'd stay here again and recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Angelo's in Little Italy. Superb!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search