$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
118 reviews
First trip to NYC

Hotel had a great location, spectacular view of World Trade Center 1 and downtown Manhattan. Staff... See full review

  • Laurie and Allen
  • Sep 12, 2014
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Too Tall 12
Business
Center Valley, PA
Jun 26, 2012

GREAT value for cost

Clean, well thought out new hotel. Room was small but who spends any time in the room other than to sleep. Staff very helpful. Room service available. Our time was too short in NYC but we will be back and hopefully stay here once more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza restaurant was good and a short walk. Parking was easier than I thought, because there are parking lots right around the corner from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Extremely Pleased
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 2, 2012

Fantastic Vacation Location

My wife and I went to New York for the first time. We stayed here at the World Center. All we can say is AMAZING! Location is right by the 9/11 memorial and World Trade Center site. We had a view of the site from our hotel which was breathtaking. The room was very clean and comfortable possibly a little small but we weren't there to be in the hotel. However we will go back to this hotel for sure. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful with all our questions being our first trip here. Very affordable and we would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure if you want to see the sights get a Grayline bus tour ticket for 48 hrs unlimited hop on hop off. Great value and it takes you everywhere just $54 each and boy was it worth the money. It's normally $44 each tour. We took all 3 and only had to pay the $54.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LivingSingle
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jun 10, 2012

Great for an overnight date in the city

It served its purpose - a respectable, clean room with a tidy desk and a nice big door/window for an occasional gush of fresh air when needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring your own snacks from a nearby Duane Reade - the in room mini bar is overpriced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
villopez
Business
Cambridge MA
Aug 6, 2012

Amazing Hotel Experience!

I go to NYC at least once a year and I have found this to be the best hotel for the price in the area. Super close to the Metro, excellent treatment, good amenities and a very green. I would recommended to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikeMCK
Business
Ottawa ON. Ca
Aug 10, 2012

Great Trip

Really enjoyed our stay. Hotel has great amenities with the kitchenette(basically small fridge, sink, microwave and cupboards). Free coffee (including lattes and espresso!) pop and snacks for "club" members). Front desk was very helpful. Gym was okay treadmill but this is NYC so we were otherwise busy and not focused on working out :)) Kevin at the front desk was very helpful and knowledgeable. Great value for the money. A little upgrade money went a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21...George's Deli...Close to WTC memorial...they have passes at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tech Traveler 50
Business
Boston
Oct 24, 2012

One-night business trip

Excellent! If you have business in Battery Park or Jersey City (ferry is a 5-minute walk), this is the place. High tech, clean, new. Great for business. Price unbeatable, probably because World Trade construction still in progress (expect the prices to go up when completed). Restaurant terrace and room balcony (if you get one - I did with this deal) provide unique view of city and memorial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferry to Jersey City.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth8396
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 29, 2012

Great deal in prime location

This hotel was clean, a decent size for NYC and had all the needed amenities. My only complaint is that this is a very busy area. I used to live in NY so don't need to be right in the center of the action. If you don't go very often and like to be in the center of all the activity this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ex NYCer
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Mar 19, 2013

I Love This Hotel

I prefer smaller hotels and this one was perfect. Beautiful room (with a fully equiped kitchen no less!), friendly staff. Didn't get to use all the amenities they had to offer but nice to know they are there for a future visit. Great view from the 20th floor bar/dining room and excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Adjacent to the World Trade Center site and 9/11 Memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deserttraveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2013

Perfect Location, be sure to double-check what you thought you booked!

I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect. Close walk to subway stations, and right next to the memorial site. There were a few issues: the lobby smelled awful during my week-long stay. Smelled like a sewer, but I'm assuming it was due to all the construction around the hotel. Also, I thought I booked a room with a mini kitchen. I even called the hotel itself after I had booked to confirm that I had booked a room with a mini-Kitchen. All was good. But when I checked in, they gave me a room with only a microwave and mini-fridge. After I talked with the staff and O, it was agree that the website was not clear enough, and that the room naming conventions were different . So, we were moved to the room with a kitchenette. We had no TV for 3 days because the hotel had cable or satellite reception issues. This wasn't really a big deal for me. I would definitely stay here again due to the location, water bottles on the floor, kitchenette option #good if you have a longer stay and are sick of eating out), and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagles....
Business
Eden Prairie, MN
Apr 25, 2013

Nice Value for Location/Quality

Stayed there on business trip primarily for location reasons (in financial district with easy walk to both east and west ends) and price. Was pleased with staff (very nice/accommodating), room amenities, and view of WTC site. Narrow hallways and rooms are efficient size, but modern type appointments and very clean. Roof top restaurant was very good. Recommend for anyone traveling in that area whether business/pleasure....solid value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trinity Church and St Paul Chapel are must sees in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top