$125 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

World Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC 1st timer
Business
Indiana
Mar 30, 2010

Good value, but desk staff...

If you're going to visit the World Trade Center site, this is the perfect location. Great value for the money. Hotel was new, clean, and bright. Room was very small but nice. Good experience EXCEPT for the desk staff -- very curt, borderline rude, and not the least bit helpful. They couldn't seem to answer the most basic questions and had no advice on things to do and see in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gatehouse restaurant was close and great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2010

Newly Opened

Not overly friendly staff; hard hotel to find and given bad directions by staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY vistior
Business
Western Massachsetts
Apr 23, 2011

Nice hotel, but over a construction site

Nice, new hotel, polite and efficient staff. However, the construction right outside the hotel can be noisy, and can sometimes continue at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The breakfast at the hotel is mediocre and the coffee is bad. Better to go one block to 89 Grenwich St to Georges and Sons, where the service is personal and the food and coffee are good. For an excellent Italian restaurant, try Petracha's, not too far by taxi at 34 White St in Tribeca. They make their own pasta and everything we have tried is very,very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 7, 2010

Too much construction

The hotel was next to Ground Zero/WTC, so there was tons of construction. I had a couple of cab drivers who couldn't figure out how to maneuver around it and there was noise from construction at times. The hotel is renovating also, so you're stepping over dry wall, avoiding wet paint, and that fancy rooftop terrace isn't open yet. The staff couldn't even figure out which storage room they held our luggage in because we went to lunch after check out. The good part is was cheaper than most other hotels possibly due to the it being under renovation. I liked the fitness center, the continental breakfast, and at least it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2010

Under Construction

The hotel itself is above average, with lots of nice touches such as new and comfortable furniture, complimentary snacks in the room, complimentary breakfast and several high-tech time savers (for instance, printing from your laptop in the room). At the price, the room was a bargain. However, it's right on the edge of the World Trade Center site, where there is a great deal of construction. All night, there was some sort of piledriver noise across the street. It's also hard to find-- to get to the front door you have to drive the wrong way down one-way Washington Street in the wrong direction. One more issue-- when we arrived late with our car, the adjacent parking garage was closed. We had to park in the street and got a ticket. We don't usually bring a car to NYC, but we're glad we did, because this is not an easy neighborhood from which to hail a cab. Still, when construction of the area is complete, and all streets are opened back up again, this will be an excellent choice for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tell the cab driver there's only one approach, on tiny Albany Street, off West Avenue. This can only be accessed when traveling north on West Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aunt Crafty Kathy
Business
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Jun 23, 2014

9-11 Memorial

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the 9-11 Memorial. The room did overlook the Memorial however, the room was small. There was about a foot of space between the wall and the right side of the bed. There needed to be more space. The night we arrived, the TV didn't work. Someone was sent to look at it and when we returned from dinner it still didn't work. The night staff said it wasn't his problem, it was Time-Warner and we hence had no TV until the morning. We also asked for the stopper to be fix so my husband's contacts wouldn't be lost down the drain but this wasn't done. Our stay was average. I would recommend to another traveler and tell them about our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pilgrim
Business
Niagara Falls, NY, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Nice place for short stay

Building & Rooms clean and a bit small.Kinda hard to find at dead end of Washington St. Very noisy from construction at memorial - machine and equipment running all nite long made hard to sleep even with earplugs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent food and drinks at The Merchantile Restaurant - 1 block away from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fitz869
Business
Ohio
Jul 22, 2012

NYC Trip 7/2012

Overall I would give it a 7, the location was a little hard to find because of construction of the WTC. I would recommend that they make that known to people. The ice machine was on the third floor while my room was on the 16th floor, and for extra pillows and blankets you had to use a community closet that was not stocked. Dinning was good with good veiw of WTC site, and no mini store for forgotten items. I would recommend, but not as a first choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Bring comfy shoes......

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
May 19, 2010

ways to go yet!

the bed was a sofa..no iron...too much construction..terrible price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palma, Spain
Apr 12, 2010

Under Construction

Our room faced directly the WTC building site, though it was noisy as expected, but the hotel itself is still under construction so there was additional noise from drilling machines, etc. The room design is modern and practical. For 2 pm checkout there is an extra charge of 35 $. The location is very convenient for lower Manhattan activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Ninja Cave New York www.ninjanewyork.com. A real fun japaneese restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top