$251 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
116 reviews
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
Safe, comfortable, all amenities for the business traveler

I love Club Quarters and stay at one whenever I can. The modern design has clean lines, soft colors... See full review

  • ERISA Lawyer
  • Mar 29, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7099 -74.0137
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, W; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (116)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Nov 9, 2010

New, clean, sophisticated hotel!

We came to NYC just for 3 days to celebrate my husband's B-day. Our hotel was right by ground zero ( you are looking at the construction site of the 9/11 Memorial). We booked a studio and loved it. The rooms are small but sooo well designed. Crispy sheets, enough closet space, marble bathroom, digital thermostat, flat screen TV, internet etc. There are many coffee shops, DELIs within 5 min walk.The restaurant with the terrace has excelent food and great view. They even helped us to store our luggage in the sister hotel in Rockefeler Plaza so we could enjoy the city after we checked out and before our flight home. The free bottled water in the hallway is a nice touch. The hotel is a little hard to find ( not very big sign). Otherwise, we will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tulsa, OK
Oct 26, 2010

Great location, except loud

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is right next to Ground Central. Large windows over look the construction, fun to watch but very loud. Comfy beds and clean environment. Must be a sound sleeper to stay here during construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SC
Oct 23, 2010

Okay for the price

okay for b travel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skier1998
Cincinnati, OH
Oct 14, 2010

A great experience!

World Center Hotel is an excellent choice if you need a clean friendly place to stay. Easy access to the subway system. Great pizza place around the corner - Masterpiece. Awesome! We stayed here for two nights with our 7 month old & 2 1/2 year old. We were very pleased with our stay. We loved the bottled water on each floor!! :) The only drawback would be that there is construction in the area as it is right beside the World Trade Center Site. Although, we figured that made the foot/vehicle traffic significantly lower in the area and were quite pleased with that. It is just a small walk from Wall St, Trinity Church, Federal Hall, Battery Bark/Statue of Liberty, and South Street Seaport. I have a high standard of cleanliness & the rooms were amazing. Also - luggage storage & check in kiosks were great!! It is a wonderful place to stay and you really cannot beat this price in Manhattan. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are going to be in Times Square/ Theater District after midnight. TAKE A CAB back to your hotel. Most of the subway lines shut down after midnight except one or two main ones. We waited for 15 - 20 minutes before realizing the line wanted was shut down. Cab from Times Square to Financial district was about 15 dollars.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, Ontario
Oct 14, 2010

Awesome location

We were in NY for 5 days for vacation. The hotel is very clean and the staff was very helpful. The location is amazing, walking distance from shopping area, tourists sites and much more. The only bad part about the hotel is the construction going on at ground zero, it woke us up every morning around 8. Besides that great place to stay specially for the first time visitors. I would go back there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zitzi
Bavaria, Germany
Oct 12, 2010

Great, clean hotel with friendly staff!!

We have been to New York on vacations. The World Center Hotel is located near to Ground Zero. So the construction work was very noisy but we expected that. Nevertheless we can not complain about the hotel as it is directly located in Financial District, the next subway station isn't far away and there is the possibility to run along Hudson River (great experience)!! We can only recommend the hotel, however it is far away from the main spots of Manhattan like Times Square, Empire State Building and so on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Sammy's Roumanian Steak House 157 Chrystie St., New York, NY 10002 40.720479 -73.992668 nr. Delancey St; order the steak covered with garlic-> awesome!!!! best food I ever had!! and the staff was unbelievable friendly!! Don't be put off by the face of the building!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Oct 8, 2010

The World Center Hotel was outstanding.

We will return. Classy and up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ground zero and Wallstreet.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Mack
Walland, TN
Oct 7, 2010

Terriffic NYC Vacation

My two Boys got stuck in the Hotel elevator. Because of this, the manager paid for our Dinner. I told him it wasn't nescessary, but he insisted. It was a very nice Dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not very many places to use the Restroom!!!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Covara
Business
New York
Sep 27, 2010

World Center Hotel - NYC

I needed a room near the World Financial Center for a last second business trip and found this new, very reasonably priced hotel, just across the street. Located right next to the ground zero construction was more fascinating than inconvenient. My room had a view of the construction but I wasn't there during the day, and slept peacefully at night. And your right in the heart of downtown NY close to many great restaurants and bars. The room was clean, and very comfortable. I recomend this spot for an inexpensive, comfortable no-nonsense trip. And your right next to the new W hotel and there's a Starbucks a block away. Worked for me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk north to Tribeca for some great neighborhood bars packed with locals such a "77 Warren" and "The Hideaway" and there's great dining further away at "The Harrison."

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Buffalo, NY
Sep 7, 2010

amazing

beautiful room and location very good to dicover NY city. I cought always walk from hotel to central park. It is at 5 minutes to Battery Park to take ferry from Liberty Island and its statue!!!! Very greatful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search