$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Awesome!

We were tickled to see the view from our room, the spaciousness of the room, and how clean and neat... See full review

  • Rachel from MN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7099 -74.0137
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, W; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC is for me
Raleigh, NC
Dec 6, 2012

Great hotel!

Hotel is next to the 911 Memorial. Although there is alot of construction we could not hear any of it on the 14th floor - slept soundly all 3 nights. Each floor has a 'linen cloest' for extra towels, soap, coffee, ironing board etc. plus free bottled water in the hallway. Overall this is a great place to stay with very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs to uptown are expensive. The subway is one block, is safe and 1/10th of the price.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bschlender
Business
san mateo, CA
May 6, 2012

Good value near Wall Street

I've stayed here twice, and both times were good experiences. Most rooms are suites, although the layouts can be odd. The rooftop restaurant and bar has perhaps the best view of the WTC memorial anywhere. The best thing about this place is that it gives you a bigger room for the money than most NY hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Planet Cafe is outstanding.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momatwork
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
May 2, 2012

World Center

Friendly staff, location was great looking over the twin tower memorial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MiamiGirl721
Miami, FL, USA
Mar 22, 2012

Construction Nightmare

I will start off mentioning the good things. The hotel is in close proximity to a few train stations, the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. Now on to the bad, every morning at around 7AM, sometimes earlier, you would hear ALL of the construction noise from ground zero as the hotel is right across the street from it. Jack hammering so early in the morning, and yes, even on a Saturday. We called the front desk to ask if they offered ear plugs and surprisingly they did. Why weren't we offered these from the beginning? The noise was so bad even with the ear plugs and a pillow over your head you can hear the noise. It's as if your bed is in the middle of the construction site and they're working around you. I'm not easily disturbed by noise either, I grew up in NYC and I'm used to sirens, cars honking, and people yelling, and have no problem sleeping through that. My boyfriend joked that all we needed were hard hats. Do not stay here until ground zero is completed unless you want to wake up with a headache everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
h3393
Rhode Island
Mar 21, 2012

Great week end

We stay in this hotel because my son lives nearby. The rooms are clean and have a great view of the World Trade site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Century 21!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShayTia
Buffalo, NY, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Fantastic and informative!!!!

I am so pleased to say how blessed I was to be able to stay in such a hotel where the staff was so curteous and sweet. They made me feel very important and special. Even though I was there for such a short period of time, I still received perfect hospitality. To be able to see the remainder of what was left of the Twin Towers site, was mind blowing. The room I stayed in, looked right over the site. I cried a little and gave my respects to the innocent victims who lost their lives (God bless them). Thank you World Center Hotel Staff, You guys were GREAT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DDJ8862
NY
Mar 14, 2012

Great Deal

Pros: - Location, location, location - AMAZING views - Great deals on weekend - since it's the Financial District, the weekends are MUCH cheaper. - Quick checkin - Quicker checkout with free Baggage Check for wandering around the City for the day - Free purified water with bottles and caps on each floor - FREE laundry machines if you bring your own detergent (available in machines) Cons: - Vending only on a couple floors - A bit of construction news, not NEARLY as bad as some review

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RoGo
New York, NY, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Hidden Gem

This hotel is in a great location. The room was super clean and it was a comfortable size for the price we paid. If you are just looking for a place to sleep when visiting NYC this is a great hotel It is in a very safe area as well, NYPD surveillance 24/7 on the streets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Century 21, name brands at awesomely cheap prices.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
704NCPrincess
Charlotte, NC
Feb 14, 2012

The World Center Hotel- GREAT STAY!

I was a bit skeptical at first booking the Worl Center Hotel. Its a new-ish hotel and built right at the WTC site. I was pleasantly surprised. upoin arriving I was greeted by a beautiful lobby and hotel staff. every area was very clean. The desk agent was very nice and upon finding out it was my first time in NYC, he offered to upgrade me to a suite!!! When i got to my room, the view was BREATHTAKING. It overlooked the entire WTC site! to my left were the remnants of building 5 and to my right was the entire memorial! (Upon check in, I had received 2 complimentary passes to the WTC Memorial as well- but the view from my 16th floor suite was absolutely gorgeous!). The room was fairly small but thats to be expected in NYC and there was only one remote control for the 2 TVs in the suite-- but other than that- I will stay at the World Center Hotel the next time i go to NY!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dont be afraid to venture out about 3 blocks north of the hotel--- great little out of the way clubs right there!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hurls
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

911 Memorial

Hotel was difficult to find due to all the construction and GPS was not working correctly. Location for 911 Memorial was perfect, could see reflection pools form the roof top dining area. Walk around corner to enter. Staff upon arrival and depature were friendly and personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Floridian82
Lakeland, FL, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Loved it!

My family and I booked two rooms at the World Center Hotel. We were pleasantly surprised with the set up. We opened one door and it led to two distinct doors, each for a room. This was wonderful since traveling with teenagers can be difficult! Our room had a well supplied kitchenette and a queen bed. The other room had two twins. This worked out perfect for us. The staff was helpful and the rooms were impeccably clean. My only problem with this hotel is the location. Construction on the surrounding area starts at 6 am and if you are lucky ends around 10pm. We asked for different rooms but they were booked, plus we loved the set up we had.. When we returned from a day on the city, two $40 coupons for the restaurant on the 20th floor were in our rooms. This was very gracious of them and we just put our i phone in the clock radio and downloaded a white noise ap. This worked great. The restaurant on the 20th floor was fantastic. We ordered room service and ate up there as well. The food was fresh and tasty and for New York , a good deal. The view at night (and day) from the restaurant was amazing. Since we went during one of the busiest times of the year we were very glad not to stay in mid-town. I would highly recommend this hotel especially for a family traveling with children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner from the hotel is a Asian Fusion restaurant called KoKos. The food is fantastic and the prices are reasonable.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search