$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

World Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tar-heel
Business
north carolina
Mar 24, 2010

More than what we bargain for!!!

Although we didn't get chance to explore lower Manhattan due to us visiting relatives the location was great for what little we did do, but to find the hotel was a pain! We used our on-star and it kept telling us to turn right on cedar off of 12th ave (9a) and there was no cedar, it was actually Albany Ave. Also to add because of the construction on the WTC you couldn't access Washington Ave and run it all the way down!The hotel was under construction and appeared to be fairly new, they didn't have a vending machine nor did they have ice, but they made up for it with the breakfast! They was opening the the restaurant in couple of weeks! The parking was horrible because the hotel don't provide you with parking therefore you have to park at a parking garage at your cost! Overall I rated it a 5 because the hotel itself was nice.....oh, I almost forgot...FREE WINE! The rooms were cleaned, flat screen tv, service was excellent, I recommend and I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Mar 22, 2010

Good Hotel but bad neighbors

I enjoyed the staff at the hotel very much. We had the unforunate experience of having very noisy people next to us that decided to be loud from 12-5am and didn't understand how to talk without shouting. We tried for almost a full day to get another room, but luckily we were able to get one. The staff talked to them several times, I feel that they should have been kicked out, it seems the staff were having issues with their behavior as well. But all in all I was happy with the hotel and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shining Star
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 17, 2010

Super Saturday Getaway

Although it was hard to find the hotel with all the construction, I was very happy and pleased once I arrived. Very clean. Very convenient location for shopping, subway, Battery Park, Chinatown, Century 21 and much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
volvogirl
Business
new jersey
Mar 14, 2010

Fabulous Hotel Stay

Our stay at the World Center Hotel could not have been better!!! Although it is a little difficult to find, once you get there, it is worth the trip. It is brand new, and since they are still under construction (the restaurant and some street construction)they offered complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast!!!! Both were wonderful, next to the lobby with a fireplace, computer stations and television. They offered beer, wine and a cheese, meat and olive platter. Breakfast was great, huge fresh muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit granola, oatmeal, cereal etc. Our room was immaculately clean, high tech with flat screen tv, free wireless and touch screen amenities. We also received complimentary Dean & Deluca snacks!!!! Outside our room were "chilled water" stations where they supplied new bottles w/lids and fresh water.......a nice touch!!! Very friendly staff too!!! Can't say enough about this hotel, and look forward to returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Century 21 department store!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2010

Under Construction

The hotel itself is above average, with lots of nice touches such as new and comfortable furniture, complimentary snacks in the room, complimentary breakfast and several high-tech time savers (for instance, printing from your laptop in the room). At the price, the room was a bargain. However, it's right on the edge of the World Trade Center site, where there is a great deal of construction. All night, there was some sort of piledriver noise across the street. It's also hard to find-- to get to the front door you have to drive the wrong way down one-way Washington Street in the wrong direction. One more issue-- when we arrived late with our car, the adjacent parking garage was closed. We had to park in the street and got a ticket. We don't usually bring a car to NYC, but we're glad we did, because this is not an easy neighborhood from which to hail a cab. Still, when construction of the area is complete, and all streets are opened back up again, this will be an excellent choice for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tell the cab driver there's only one approach, on tiny Albany Street, off West Avenue. This can only be accessed when traveling north on West Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dupin
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 10, 2010

Weekend in NYC

The hotel is in a great location in terms of its proximity to subway stations (3-5 minutes walk to a number of trains). The room was clean, well-modeled (if you are looking to get some work done), and relatively quiet -- with the exception of some construction going on outside, but that's New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liz V
Business
New York, NY
Mar 1, 2010

Excellent for the Rate

This hotel has an excellent downtown location and rate. You are with in walking distance of WTC, Century 21, Wall Street, the Wall Street Bull, Battery Park, City Hall, the SI Ferry, Liberty Island Ferry, and South Street Seaport. Since it is fairly new everything is very clean. The room smelled fantastic when entering. The coolest thing about this hotel is a FREE bottled water Kiosk. You simply select a bottle and fill it with chilled purified water. Excellent touch!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Century 21...designer discount store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle WA
Feb 23, 2010

My First NY Experience

The hotels staff were very courteous and professional. The hotels accommodations were wonderful (continental breakfast, afternoon snacks and evening happy hour)! The hotel is technology in sound, several computers and work stations in the lobbies and free internet access in all rooms plus extra plugs for printers or other devices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Rails will have in shopping district in four or five minutes and you can get away from all of the mayhem in the same amount of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, New York
Feb 19, 2010

World Hotel Review

It was difficult to get there with the construction happening around ground zero. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, Florida
Feb 17, 2010

Wonderful time with my family

Very nice and friendly staff. The Hotel has a very good location. Clean and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is very close to the most important attractions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top