$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

World Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC 1st timer
Business
Indiana
Mar 30, 2010

Good value, but desk staff...

If you're going to visit the World Trade Center site, this is the perfect location. Great value for the money. Hotel was new, clean, and bright. Room was very small but nice. Good experience EXCEPT for the desk staff -- very curt, borderline rude, and not the least bit helpful. They couldn't seem to answer the most basic questions and had no advice on things to do and see in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gatehouse restaurant was close and great!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sorta frequent traveler
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Decent, good introductory price

Was good, but had very little run in with staff and the restaurant was under construction at the time. 2/3 of the views from the rooms look directly at other buildings and the website is misleading in saying that you will get a view of the Freedom Tower Construction site. No pool, and difficult to access view cab because of construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways closed WkEnd

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 28, 2010

Overall very good

A little harder to find construction, but all around great stay. Very quiet considering the proximity to ground zero construction. Friendly staff, spotless rooms with some great little touches - Dean & Deluca snacks were great. Guest amenity closets on each floor & water stations were great. All around good experience - would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 28, 2010

Would definitely go again!

Went to NYC for a wedding with friends. Hotel was immaculate. Staff was friendly and accomodating. I requested special room accommodations and they were made without any attitude. Hotel is difficult to find at first. It is right next to ground zero so there was construction going on at all hours, however while we were in our room, we could not hear the construction going on outside. Hotel provided a lovely continential breakfast. We would absolutely go again, price was great, staff was wonderful and it was only minutes from the subway. The ride to teh city was approx. 15 minutes. Just know that ANY hotel in NY you will have to pay for parking if you drive. Hotel parking for the garage across the street was $40.00 per day. The hotel had another one further away where valet service was provided and included and that was $25.00 per day. Regardless I would 100 percent without a doubt make reservations with that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2010

Newly Opened

Not overly friendly staff; hard hotel to find and given bad directions by staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tar-heel
Business
north carolina
Mar 24, 2010

More than what we bargain for!!!

Although we didn't get chance to explore lower Manhattan due to us visiting relatives the location was great for what little we did do, but to find the hotel was a pain! We used our on-star and it kept telling us to turn right on cedar off of 12th ave (9a) and there was no cedar, it was actually Albany Ave. Also to add because of the construction on the WTC you couldn't access Washington Ave and run it all the way down!The hotel was under construction and appeared to be fairly new, they didn't have a vending machine nor did they have ice, but they made up for it with the breakfast! They was opening the the restaurant in couple of weeks! The parking was horrible because the hotel don't provide you with parking therefore you have to park at a parking garage at your cost! Overall I rated it a 5 because the hotel itself was nice.....oh, I almost forgot...FREE WINE! The rooms were cleaned, flat screen tv, service was excellent, I recommend and I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Mar 22, 2010

Good Hotel but bad neighbors

I enjoyed the staff at the hotel very much. We had the unforunate experience of having very noisy people next to us that decided to be loud from 12-5am and didn't understand how to talk without shouting. We tried for almost a full day to get another room, but luckily we were able to get one. The staff talked to them several times, I feel that they should have been kicked out, it seems the staff were having issues with their behavior as well. But all in all I was happy with the hotel and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shining Star
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 17, 2010

Super Saturday Getaway

Although it was hard to find the hotel with all the construction, I was very happy and pleased once I arrived. Very clean. Very convenient location for shopping, subway, Battery Park, Chinatown, Century 21 and much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
volvogirl
Business
new jersey
Mar 14, 2010

Fabulous Hotel Stay

Our stay at the World Center Hotel could not have been better!!! Although it is a little difficult to find, once you get there, it is worth the trip. It is brand new, and since they are still under construction (the restaurant and some street construction)they offered complimentary happy hour and continental breakfast!!!! Both were wonderful, next to the lobby with a fireplace, computer stations and television. They offered beer, wine and a cheese, meat and olive platter. Breakfast was great, huge fresh muffins, bagels, yogurt, fruit granola, oatmeal, cereal etc. Our room was immaculately clean, high tech with flat screen tv, free wireless and touch screen amenities. We also received complimentary Dean & Deluca snacks!!!! Outside our room were "chilled water" stations where they supplied new bottles w/lids and fresh water.......a nice touch!!! Very friendly staff too!!! Can't say enough about this hotel, and look forward to returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Century 21 department store!!

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2010

Under Construction

The hotel itself is above average, with lots of nice touches such as new and comfortable furniture, complimentary snacks in the room, complimentary breakfast and several high-tech time savers (for instance, printing from your laptop in the room). At the price, the room was a bargain. However, it's right on the edge of the World Trade Center site, where there is a great deal of construction. All night, there was some sort of piledriver noise across the street. It's also hard to find-- to get to the front door you have to drive the wrong way down one-way Washington Street in the wrong direction. One more issue-- when we arrived late with our car, the adjacent parking garage was closed. We had to park in the street and got a ticket. We don't usually bring a car to NYC, but we're glad we did, because this is not an easy neighborhood from which to hail a cab. Still, when construction of the area is complete, and all streets are opened back up again, this will be an excellent choice for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Tell the cab driver there's only one approach, on tiny Albany Street, off West Avenue. This can only be accessed when traveling north on West Avenue.

Back to menu Return to top