$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

World Center Hotel

3 stars
View map of 144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
116 out of 116
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a critic
Business
Sandy Springs GA
May 18, 2013

great business travel hotel

WCT was recommended by the client we were visiting. Amenities, design, details, furnishings and finishes all top-notch. This hotel is LEED Gold Certified, a notable achievement for environmental responsibility. The $25 breakfast with automatic 18% gratuity was a little ridiculous. But hey, my room had a straight-on view of 1 WTC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 4, 2010

Nice room...NOT so nice staff!

Well the hotel recently changed names from Club Quarters Hotel to World Center Hotel. It was hard for several of the cab drivers I had to find it. It is across from the WTC site so the location was sobering. It wasnt a close to everything location it was a little out of the way. Though Battery park and Pier A is near... It was quiet in the traffic aspect but the way the layout is the elevator dings were audiable from the hall once people were up around 7am! That was annoying. The night I checked in the late night concierge was nice and helpful and I did call a few times to ask normal questions..I kept having key issues and my door for whatever reason would deactivate my key! You need a keycard to operate the elevator so that was a pain. My first night I couldnt get in and I tried 5 times I called down and let them know...they TOLD me to come down to get another mind you I was on floor 18! I did and it worked later after getting a iron from a comunial closet my key didnt work again! I called down and they said someone would come up I waited 10 mins and was trying the key the whole time and no ights..then once the 4 guys they sent up came the key worked as the elevator opened! They said I just used it wrong I told them its simple insert key and take it out a light should appear! Well the next morning after I went to breakfast same thing I called down and the front desk said last time I sent someone they said you used the key wrong..that upset me..I said it doesnt matter it doesnt work now I cant come down in the elevator since it doesnt work! He felt stupid and said he would send someone up. I got tired of waiting so I went down when a group of people got in the elevator..as I said no keycard no using the elevator! I got a new key an dtold the different concierge what happened he was unapologetic that angered me more! I was treated like a dumb person and rudely its their job to help you and fix issues, no one addressd they keycard issue and it happened continuely! I dont like to be treated like that when I am paying for a service the only problem I had was that keycard and a whole hotel of staff couldnt get it right! Then they were nasty about it. Considering the hotels location at this time is in a undesirable location a nicer attitude would do them well. Once those issues are addressed and the construction is done it could be a great hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Its better to use the subway to and from the hotel when sight seeing as its cheaper than a cab and the stop isnt that far away the City Hall Park stop is a short walk from the hotel..

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erickang411
Business
NC
May 23, 2010

It was really nice

a weekend trip. around 205 US dollars/night. Thermostat was a touchscreen display. Free chocolates, mixed nuts and some other candy???. I had a mini fridge and microwave(my parents didn't have one) we were on the 14th floor so we didn't hear the construction...their continental breakfast was awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a starbucks, pizza, deli, and other shops that are open late so thats a plus

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
May 19, 2010

ways to go yet!

the bed was a sofa..no iron...too much construction..terrible price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cfo20
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 10, 2010

Great, not a single issue!

Water stations were a perfect add on. Not noisy like others stated. Breakfast was great too, a lot to choose from and actually good fresh food, not processed junk. Good location for a great price. Still under construction, but surely livable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs all over the place. They like to hang out one block south of the hotel towards Battery Park.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2010 Bike Rider
Business
Rocky Hill, CT
May 4, 2010

World Center Hotel Review

It was great. We had a easy check-in and a easy check out with a kiosk for self service. The only thing was we needed to park and we couldn't make a reservation for the parking garage that the hotel had a rate with. So it was more expensive then we wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Palma, Spain
Apr 12, 2010

Under Construction

Our room faced directly the WTC building site, though it was noisy as expected, but the hotel itself is still under construction so there was additional noise from drilling machines, etc. The room design is modern and practical. For 2 pm checkout there is an extra charge of 35 $. The location is very convenient for lower Manhattan activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Ninja Cave New York www.ninjanewyork.com. A real fun japaneese restaurant.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The man behind the man
Business
East Hamton, NY
Apr 11, 2010

Couples Retreat

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Checking in and out doesn't get any better: it's self check in and check out. Perfect and easy. The rooms are cute and wonderful. Free bottled water, free internet access, free goodies including nuts and swedish fish. A complimentary happy hour! It's unheard of. Help yourself to some extra pillows and blankets if need be. The shower has a sliding shower head so it works for anyone's height. The 1 and R subways are around the corner and you can order room service from the surrounding restaurants. We really can't say enough good things about this place. We loved it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 7, 2010

Too much construction

The hotel was next to Ground Zero/WTC, so there was tons of construction. I had a couple of cab drivers who couldn't figure out how to maneuver around it and there was noise from construction at times. The hotel is renovating also, so you're stepping over dry wall, avoiding wet paint, and that fancy rooftop terrace isn't open yet. The staff couldn't even figure out which storage room they held our luggage in because we went to lunch after check out. The good part is was cheaper than most other hotels possibly due to the it being under renovation. I liked the fitness center, the continental breakfast, and at least it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 4, 2010

OK for Business

The room was clean, I stayed in a Standard Suite and room was just big enough for me and only me! They are still having construction in the building and no restaurant in the lobby, but they offer free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northridge, CA
Apr 2, 2010

Will be awesome soon

First time in New York but the weather did not cooperator. Rained most of the days we were there. The hotel was a great way to end a hectic day. Great place to start too with complimentary continental breakfast, free refill of filtered water, free wifi. Location was awesome if you don't mind noise and construction. We knew this when I made the reservation. Seeing ground zero was far more important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Streets that used to exist pre 9/11 are still on most maps and GPS. Finding the hotel was difficult, call the hotel first to get exact direction and location.

Back to menu Return to top