$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
175 reviews
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
Safe, comfortable, all amenities for the business traveler

I love Club Quarters and stay at one whenever I can. The modern design has clean lines, soft colors... See full review

  • ERISA Lawyer
  • Mar 29, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7099 -74.0137
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, W; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC is for me
Raleigh, NC
Dec 6, 2012

Great hotel!

Hotel is next to the 911 Memorial. Although there is alot of construction we could not hear any of it on the 14th floor - slept soundly all 3 nights. Each floor has a 'linen cloest' for extra towels, soap, coffee, ironing board etc. plus free bottled water in the hallway. Overall this is a great place to stay with very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs to uptown are expensive. The subway is one block, is safe and 1/10th of the price.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billta
DC
Jul 9, 2014

Very comfortable place to sleep

Although the area doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants or bars, World Center is still a pretty great place to stay. Every subway line is close so you can get anywhere in the city. The room was clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was the climate control system. It's a green hotel so the system will sense when you've left the room and shut down. On hot days you're returning to a hot room every time. The system is quiet and cools the room quickly but it's a little annoying. I also found that the system would let the temperature rise early in the morning as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aunt Crafty Kathy
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Jun 23, 2014

9-11 Memorial

We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the 9-11 Memorial. The room did overlook the Memorial however, the room was small. There was about a foot of space between the wall and the right side of the bed. There needed to be more space. The night we arrived, the TV didn't work. Someone was sent to look at it and when we returned from dinner it still didn't work. The night staff said it wasn't his problem, it was Time-Warner and we hence had no TV until the morning. We also asked for the stopper to be fix so my husband's contacts wouldn't be lost down the drain but this wasn't done. Our stay was average. I would recommend to another traveler and tell them about our experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tio Pepe
Washington, DC
May 12, 2014

Good price on Weekends

Good deal during the weekend. Perfect location, away from all the touristic and busy mid manhattan. Perfect to explore tribeca, soho, and the riverside. The staff was very friendly, they will storage your luggage for the day if you need to take a late flight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Tribeca. One of the most beautiful neighborhoods in Manhattan.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CobraREM
Rochester, NY
May 12, 2014

Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently laid out. Plenty or room for my wife and I to move around. Nice decor with a european feel. The bathroom was nice, bright and well laid out. The staff was nice and helpful. Great view of the 911 memorial and freedom tower from the bar / restaurant on the top floor. I liked the location; not in the middle of shopping and shows but a short walk to many subway lines that will take you wherever you want to go. Great value for the price. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ERISA Lawyer
Business
St. Louis
Mar 29, 2014

Safe, comfortable, all amenities for the business traveler

I love Club Quarters and stay at one whenever I can. The modern design has clean lines, soft colors and a nice mixture of textures. Easy, quick, self-service check-in. Comfortable lounges with fantastic expresso machines, snacks and many amenities such as newspapers, computers and printers. There is a feeling of safety, like being in a private club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tanta50
Canada
Mar 13, 2014

Good place in the financial district

Efficient check-in, room stocked with reading material - nice touch. The location can't be beat, a short walk to the financial district, right next to ground zero. Lots of eateries int eh area, as well as a convenience store and a Gristede's. On the whole a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HSAC
Massachusetts
Jan 6, 2014

Good Quality and Good Price

We stayed multiple nights and had a very good experience. The staff is great and the room (although small - as are most well priced hotels in NYC) was very adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Duke82
Beltsville, MD
Dec 16, 2013

My first time in NYC at Christmas!

My partner and I stay at this hotel every time we come up and it seems that won't be changing anytime soon! The location was amazing, our room completely overlooked the entire WTC site, so we had plenty to look at each and every day. Only complaint, the windows in the room seem to let in quite a bit of cold air. Now, I'm a temperature challenged individual, so I like to sleep cold, however, every once in a while it would get just a bit TOO cold in the room, especially since we were experiencing quite a heavy snow storm this past weekend. Other than that, the room, the hotel and the staff are amazing. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You have the entire WTC site and memorial right outside your door, not to mention various other attractions and sites within a short walking distance. Subway is very close, the Rector St station, about a block away from the hotel.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samalamadingdong
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Great Place in the financial district

Very nice, new hotel. Some rooms have fantastic views of the new Trade Center towers & the 9/11 memorial. Rooms are small, but not cramped. It is not the most convenient to the subway at the moment (summer '13) because of construction at several local MTA stations (this is why 4 and not 5 stars). It is, however, very convenient to the lower PATH station if you fly into Newark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth8396
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 18, 2013

Good Hotel

This hotel was in a good location and a good value. Room is compact size but everything well laid out well. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top