$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
118 reviews
First trip to NYC

Hotel had a great location, spectacular view of World Trade Center 1 and downtown Manhattan. Staff... See full review

  • Laurie and Allen
  • Sep 12, 2014
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7099 -74.0137
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, W; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 118
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
billta
Business
DC
Jul 9, 2014

Very comfortable place to sleep

Although the area doesn't offer much in the way of restaurants or bars, World Center is still a pretty great place to stay. Every subway line is close so you can get anywhere in the city. The room was clean and very comfortable. My only complaint was the climate control system. It's a green hotel so the system will sense when you've left the room and shut down. On hot days you're returning to a hot room every time. The system is quiet and cools the room quickly but it's a little annoying. I also found that the system would let the temperature rise early in the morning as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tanta50
Business
Canada
Mar 13, 2014

Good place in the financial district

Efficient check-in, room stocked with reading material - nice touch. The location can't be beat, a short walk to the financial district, right next to ground zero. Lots of eateries int eh area, as well as a convenience store and a Gristede's. On the whole a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deserttraveler
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2013

Perfect Location, be sure to double-check what you thought you booked!

I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect. Close walk to subway stations, and right next to the memorial site. There were a few issues: the lobby smelled awful during my week-long stay. Smelled like a sewer, but I'm assuming it was due to all the construction around the hotel. Also, I thought I booked a room with a mini kitchen. I even called the hotel itself after I had booked to confirm that I had booked a room with a mini-Kitchen. All was good. But when I checked in, they gave me a room with only a microwave and mini-fridge. After I talked with the staff and O, it was agree that the website was not clear enough, and that the room naming conventions were different . So, we were moved to the room with a kitchenette. We had no TV for 3 days because the hotel had cable or satellite reception issues. This wasn't really a big deal for me. I would definitely stay here again due to the location, water bottles on the floor, kitchenette option #good if you have a longer stay and are sick of eating out), and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane
Business
Dublin Ireland
May 22, 2012

Great location and great facilities.

This was my first time to stay downtown. I wasn't sure if the hotel would be what I wanted but I was very pleasantly surprised. It is in a great location although it is quite noisy with the building going on at the world Center site. The facilities are excellent, with a fitness room, laundry and iced water for guests. Staff are helpful and the free wifi access is a bonus. The restaurant serves great food and it has amazing views over the world trade center . I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic waterfront Park with facilities restaurants and amazing views only a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssdl
Business
Akron, OH, USA
Oct 11, 2011

nice

perfect hotel to stay in New York. Next time I will stay in that hotel and I strongly recommend everyone this hotel. close to subway, staton island ferry station and wall street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CEW
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 3, 2011

Not bad, but I wouldn't pay reg rate.

Stayed at World Center while attending a conference in Jersey City. All work, no play. Pros: Easy access to the PATH train, clean room, *cookies in the lobby*, free computer access, small but adequate fitness center, menus for several close restaurants (BBQ to Indian food) with zippy fast delivery to the hotel AND can charge meal to your room. Cons: Room service tray from 1st night was still outside my door when I checked out (ew), no bottles at water station (great idea though if the bottles are stocked!), drunks yelling in the hallway around 2 a.m. both nights (a Sunday and Monday), couldn't access restaurant on 20th floor as advertised. Hotel's fine, would stay there again, but wouldn't pay full price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Sep 7, 2010

amazing

beautiful room and location very good to dicover NY city. I cought always walk from hotel to central park. It is at 5 minutes to Battery Park to take ferry from Liberty Island and its statue!!!! Very greatful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sweet Deal
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

I love NYC!

It was not as close to where I wanted to be, but it was nice and I enjoyed it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 4, 2010

Great Hotel for Broadway Show

I flew into the hotel for the weekend, and it was great. The room was quaint compared to our Texas sized hotels, but it was very clean, and very new. Located next to the world trade center. You can tell much work goes on there, but none was going on while I was there.It was a straight shot to Broadway and took about 25 minutes by subway.Personally, there was an eerie feeling being next to the vast and empty site of a tragedy, but it is a brand new hotel, [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 4, 2010

Nice room...NOT so nice staff!

Well the hotel recently changed names from Club Quarters Hotel to World Center Hotel. It was hard for several of the cab drivers I had to find it. It is across from the WTC site so the location was sobering. It wasnt a close to everything location it was a little out of the way. Though Battery park and Pier A is near... It was quiet in the traffic aspect but the way the layout is the elevator dings were audiable from the hall once people were up around 7am! That was annoying. The night I checked in the late night concierge was nice and helpful and I did call a few times to ask normal questions..I kept having key issues and my door for whatever reason would deactivate my key! You need a keycard to operate the elevator so that was a pain. My first night I couldnt get in and I tried 5 times I called down and let them know...they TOLD me to come down to get another mind you I was on floor 18! I did and it worked later after getting a iron from a comunial closet my key didnt work again! I called down and they said someone would come up I waited 10 mins and was trying the key the whole time and no ights..then once the 4 guys they sent up came the key worked as the elevator opened! They said I just used it wrong I told them its simple insert key and take it out a light should appear! Well the next morning after I went to breakfast same thing I called down and the front desk said last time I sent someone they said you used the key wrong..that upset me..I said it doesnt matter it doesnt work now I cant come down in the elevator since it doesnt work! He felt stupid and said he would send someone up. I got tired of waiting so I went down when a group of people got in the elevator..as I said no keycard no using the elevator! I got a new key an dtold the different concierge what happened he was unapologetic that angered me more! I was treated like a dumb person and rudely its their job to help you and fix issues, no one addressd they keycard issue and it happened continuely! I dont like to be treated like that when I am paying for a service the only problem I had was that keycard and a whole hotel of staff couldnt get it right! Then they were nasty about it. Considering the hotels location at this time is in a undesirable location a nicer attitude would do them well. Once those issues are addressed and the construction is done it could be a great hotel..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Its better to use the subway to and from the hotel when sight seeing as its cheaper than a cab and the stop isnt that far away the City Hall Park stop is a short walk from the hotel..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top