$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Awesome!

We were tickled to see the view from our room, the spaciousness of the room, and how clean and neat... See full review

  • Rachel from MN
  • Aug 2, 2014
Great Stay

We had a wonderful stay at the World Center Hotel. The room was very comfortable and efficiently... See full review

  • CobraREM
  • May 12, 2014
World Trade Center site hotel with eco- and budget-friendly attitude
Score affordable accommodations -- even a long-term corporate apartment -- on the edge of Wall Street at World Center Hotel. Located in downtown Manhattan next to the World Trade Center site, the World Center Hotel combines an eco-conscience sensibility with services and amenities that impress. Guest accommodations include an iPod docking station and free Internet to a terrace or kitchenette. Guests may dine at the private View of the World Terrace Club. The hotel fitness center and computer station are free.
Highlights
  • Eco- and tech-friendly guest rooms at a great Manhattan rate, with single/small doubles available for the budget-conscience
  • Access to the View of the World Terrace Club, a private restaurant, bar and business club
  • Great rate with the extended-stay corporate apartments and live like a local
Location
Experience downtown Manhattan at World Center Hotel, a short walk to Wall Street and Battery Park, and next to the World Trade Center site.
Rooms
Guest rooms at World Center Hotel feature a casual, eco-friendly atmosphere with floor-to-ceiling windows and blonde-wood furniture. Single/small double rooms fit the solo traveler or budget-conscious couple, while larger rooms offer a range of features such as kitchenette, terrace or separate bedroom. All include an alarm clock with iPod docking station, free high-speed Internet access, flat-screen cable TV, Gilchrist and Soames bath products, and bedside touch-screen temperature control.
Features
World Center Hotel makes a stay even better with various extras. There is access to View of the World Terrace Club, a private American-cuisine restaurant, bar and business club at the top of the hotel, along with 24/7 menu delivery from selected neighborhood restaurants. In addition, there is a club-style lobby with free access to Internet-connected computers and printers, free chilled bottled water stations on every floor, and the option of exercise equipment delivery to guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Penn Station (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (12.6 mi/20.3 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (13.8 mi/22.1 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (20.2 mi/32.5 km)
Attractions
  • Madison Square Garden (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Empire State Building (4 mi/6.5 km)
  • Times Square (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
  • Rockefeller Center (4.7 mi/7.5 km)
  • Central Park (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • American Museum of Natural History (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (7.4 mi/11.9 km)
Business
  • Two modern meeting rooms, plus professional event support and creative catering (fees apply)
  • Free hotel-wide high-speed Internet access

Hotel Map

40.7099 -74.0137
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 14.00, MI, SE; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, W; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 12.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
samalamadingdong
Texas
Aug 20, 2013

Great Place in the financial district

Very nice, new hotel. Some rooms have fantastic views of the new Trade Center towers & the 9/11 memorial. Rooms are small, but not cramped. It is not the most convenient to the subway at the moment (summer '13) because of construction at several local MTA stations (this is why 4 and not 5 stars). It is, however, very convenient to the lower PATH station if you fly into Newark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth8396
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 18, 2013

Good Hotel

This hotel was in a good location and a good value. Room is compact size but everything well laid out well. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hirtie and Redd
Business
New Orleans, La
Jun 25, 2013

Good Value and good Location

Good value and good location - literally right next to the WTC site some rooms have view looking at 1 WTC - although there is not a bellman - taxis come off of West constantly and are simple to hail - subway access within blocks .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eat and Run
Business
Midwest US
Jun 15, 2013

Least outrageous Financial District room

Something was going on in NYC, and hotels were going at a premium. This hotel offered the least outrageous room rate, and was convenient to where I needed to be. The front desk team was extremely friendly and helpful - let me leave a bag all day before I checked in and the lobby welcome is genuine. My room was small, but this is NYC. It was very comfortable and well appointed - free fast wifi, lot of TV channels. My only complaint would be that my room was an accessible room, so there was no defined shower, just a shower head on the wall and a curtain, so water ended up all over the bathroom and soaking the toilet paper. Do be sure to go to the roof and see view of the 9/11 memorial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lizapa
Barzil
May 28, 2013

Good price, excelent location and very nice room

The amenities are all very nice, clean and new. I loved the place, right above the "9/11 Memorial". It´s easy to walk around and near from the Wall St, Subways and other places. Me and my boyfriend went to NY to spend a weekend, and inspite of the lack of time, we could enjoy everything that NY has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

9/11 memorial

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy OFD
Hammondsport, NY
May 23, 2013

World Center Hotel

Staff was very friendly and helpful. The view from the Sun Terrace and the restaurant was awesome. Disappointed that we weren't provided complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
a critic
Business
Sandy Springs GA
May 18, 2013

great business travel hotel

WCT was recommended by the client we were visiting. Amenities, design, details, furnishings and finishes all top-notch. This hotel is LEED Gold Certified, a notable achievement for environmental responsibility. The $25 breakfast with automatic 18% gratuity was a little ridiculous. But hey, my room had a straight-on view of 1 WTC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eagles....
Business
Eden Prairie, MN
Apr 25, 2013

Nice Value for Location/Quality

Stayed there on business trip primarily for location reasons (in financial district with easy walk to both east and west ends) and price. Was pleased with staff (very nice/accommodating), room amenities, and view of WTC site. Narrow hallways and rooms are efficient size, but modern type appointments and very clean. Roof top restaurant was very good. Recommend for anyone traveling in that area whether business/pleasure....solid value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Trinity Church and St Paul Chapel are must sees in my opinion.

Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deserttraveler
Seattle, WA
Apr 2, 2013

Perfect Location, be sure to double-check what you thought you booked!

I would definitely stay here again. The location is perfect. Close walk to subway stations, and right next to the memorial site. There were a few issues: the lobby smelled awful during my week-long stay. Smelled like a sewer, but I'm assuming it was due to all the construction around the hotel. Also, I thought I booked a room with a mini kitchen. I even called the hotel itself after I had booked to confirm that I had booked a room with a mini-Kitchen. All was good. But when I checked in, they gave me a room with only a microwave and mini-fridge. After I talked with the staff and O, it was agree that the website was not clear enough, and that the room naming conventions were different . So, we were moved to the room with a kitchenette. We had no TV for 3 days because the hotel had cable or satellite reception issues. This wasn't really a big deal for me. I would definitely stay here again due to the location, water bottles on the floor, kitchenette option #good if you have a longer stay and are sick of eating out), and the cleanliness of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Bestie
Connecticut
Apr 1, 2013

Great get-a-way

Fabulous location for lower Manhattan. Plenty of interesting historical sights. If you are interested in progress of the World Trade Center you are steps away. Great spot for full access to the Fulton subway station which can get you to almost anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

St. Paul's Chapel is not to be missed! George Washington may have roamed the area!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search