$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

World Center Hotel

3 stars
144 Washington Street, New York, NY 10006
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
119 reviews
Christmastime in NYC

We booked one Saturday night to see Christmastime sights in NYC. We arrived midday and were allowed... See full review

  • BaltimoreVacationer
  • Dec 8, 2014
First trip to NYC

Hotel had a great location, spectacular view of World Trade Center 1 and downtown Manhattan. Staff... See full review

  • Laurie and Allen
  • Sep 12, 2014
World Center Hotel is located on the south side of the World Trade Center with unfettered views of the 9 11 Memorial and reflecting pools. In the heart of downtown Manhattan - nearby neighborhoods include Tribeca - Soho - Battery Park - South Street Seaport - Wall Street and Chinatown and close to dining - shopping and entertainment. World Center Hotel provides- Safe - restricted entry Instant registration and check out Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel Club Lounge with complimentary refreshments Onsite restaurant and bar Multi-menu in room dining options through onsite restaurant bar and many local restaurants. Refrigerator and microwave available Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water Meeting and event rooms available maximum reception style 200 people Free use of computer printer Ergonomic workstations State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding Contemporary furnishings Flat panel HD TVs Complimentary coffee and tea 24 hour guest service desk Fitness room Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request Corporate Apartments available Value rates Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid id

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed World Center Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

World Center Hotel Rooms

Club Room
Non-smoking smaller room with 1 queen bed, desk, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and
Standard Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, work area, free WiFi, bottled water, coffee and tea
Standard View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior Room With Kitchenette
Non-smoking spacious room with 1 queen bed, free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room
Non-smoking room with 1 queen bed, World Trade Center view-free WiFi and bottled water
Superior View Room with Terrace
Non-smoking room with Queen bed, World Trade Center view, free WiFi and bottled water.
One Room Suite With Kitchenette
Non-smoking large room with queen bed, sofa bed, free WiFi and bottled water.

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Dining guide
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • Duane Park: 0 mi
  • American Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Zuccotti Park: 0.1 mi
  • Trinity Church: 0.1 mi
  • New York Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Century 21: 0.2 mi
  • Lower Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Equitable Building: 0.2 mi
  • Chamber of Commerce Building: 0.2 mi
  • St. Paul's Chapel: 0.2 mi
  • World Financial Center: 0.2 mi
  • Western Union Building: 0.2 mi
  • Federal Hall National Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • New York Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Federal Reserve Bank of New York: 0.3 mi
  • 40 Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Finance: 0.3 mi
  • Chase Manhattan Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Park Row Building: 0.3 mi
  • Financial District: 0.3 mi
  • Wall Street: 0.3 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.3 mi
  • Bowling Green: 0.3 mi
  • National City Bank Building at 55 Wall Street: 0.4 mi
  • New York Mercantile Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • Skyscraper Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Museum of Jewish Heritage: 0.4 mi
  • Alexander Hamilton U.S. Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • 70 Pine Street: 0.4 mi
  • British Garden, Hanover Square: 0.4 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.4 mi
  • Ellis Island-New York Access: 0.4 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.5 mi
  • Castle Clinton National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Clinton Castle: 0.5 mi
  • Washington Market Park: 0.5 mi
  • Titanic Memorial Lighthouse: 0.5 mi
  • Battery Park: 0.5 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Statue of Liberty: 0.5 mi
  • New York City Police Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.6 mi
  • Imagination Playground: 0.6 mi

Dining

Multi-Menu Delivery
Multi-Menu delivery to Club Quarters guests and menus are available in the guest rooms.
The View of the World Terrace Club
The View of the World Terrace Club is the onsite year round indoor outdoor rooftop restaurant that offers modern American cuisine and spectacular views of downtown NYC.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for World Center Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 7, 2010

Too much construction

The hotel was next to Ground Zero/WTC, so there was tons of construction. I had a couple of cab drivers who couldn't figure out how to maneuver around it and there was noise from construction at times. The hotel is renovating also, so you're stepping over dry wall, avoiding wet paint, and that fancy rooftop terrace isn't open yet. The staff couldn't even figure out which storage room they held our luggage in because we went to lunch after check out. The good part is was cheaper than most other hotels possibly due to the it being under renovation. I liked the fitness center, the continental breakfast, and at least it was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Apr 4, 2010

OK for Business

The room was clean, I stayed in a Standard Suite and room was just big enough for me and only me! They are still having construction in the building and no restaurant in the lobby, but they offer free continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northridge, CA
Apr 2, 2010

Will be awesome soon

First time in New York but the weather did not cooperator. Rained most of the days we were there. The hotel was a great way to end a hectic day. Great place to start too with complimentary continental breakfast, free refill of filtered water, free wifi. Location was awesome if you don't mind noise and construction. We knew this when I made the reservation. Seeing ground zero was far more important.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Streets that used to exist pre 9/11 are still on most maps and GPS. Finding the hotel was difficult, call the hotel first to get exact direction and location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC 1st timer
Business
Indiana
Mar 30, 2010

Good value, but desk staff...

If you're going to visit the World Trade Center site, this is the perfect location. Great value for the money. Hotel was new, clean, and bright. Room was very small but nice. Good experience EXCEPT for the desk staff -- very curt, borderline rude, and not the least bit helpful. They couldn't seem to answer the most basic questions and had no advice on things to do and see in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gatehouse restaurant was close and great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sorta frequent traveler
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 29, 2010

Decent, good introductory price

Was good, but had very little run in with staff and the restaurant was under construction at the time. 2/3 of the views from the rooms look directly at other buildings and the website is misleading in saying that you will get a view of the Freedom Tower Construction site. No pool, and difficult to access view cab because of construction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subways closed WkEnd

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 28, 2010

Overall very good

A little harder to find construction, but all around great stay. Very quiet considering the proximity to ground zero construction. Friendly staff, spotless rooms with some great little touches - Dean & Deluca snacks were great. Guest amenity closets on each floor & water stations were great. All around good experience - would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Mar 28, 2010

Would definitely go again!

Went to NYC for a wedding with friends. Hotel was immaculate. Staff was friendly and accomodating. I requested special room accommodations and they were made without any attitude. Hotel is difficult to find at first. It is right next to ground zero so there was construction going on at all hours, however while we were in our room, we could not hear the construction going on outside. Hotel provided a lovely continential breakfast. We would absolutely go again, price was great, staff was wonderful and it was only minutes from the subway. The ride to teh city was approx. 15 minutes. Just know that ANY hotel in NY you will have to pay for parking if you drive. Hotel parking for the garage across the street was $40.00 per day. The hotel had another one further away where valet service was provided and included and that was $25.00 per day. Regardless I would 100 percent without a doubt make reservations with that hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 25, 2010

Newly Opened

Not overly friendly staff; hard hotel to find and given bad directions by staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tar-heel
Business
north carolina
Mar 24, 2010

More than what we bargain for!!!

Although we didn't get chance to explore lower Manhattan due to us visiting relatives the location was great for what little we did do, but to find the hotel was a pain! We used our on-star and it kept telling us to turn right on cedar off of 12th ave (9a) and there was no cedar, it was actually Albany Ave. Also to add because of the construction on the WTC you couldn't access Washington Ave and run it all the way down!The hotel was under construction and appeared to be fairly new, they didn't have a vending machine nor did they have ice, but they made up for it with the breakfast! They was opening the the restaurant in couple of weeks! The parking was horrible because the hotel don't provide you with parking therefore you have to park at a parking garage at your cost! Overall I rated it a 5 because the hotel itself was nice.....oh, I almost forgot...FREE WINE! The rooms were cleaned, flat screen tv, service was excellent, I recommend and I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of World Center Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Mar 22, 2010

Good Hotel but bad neighbors

I enjoyed the staff at the hotel very much. We had the unforunate experience of having very noisy people next to us that decided to be loud from 12-5am and didn't understand how to talk without shouting. We tried for almost a full day to get another room, but luckily we were able to get one. The staff talked to them several times, I feel that they should have been kicked out, it seems the staff were having issues with their behavior as well. But all in all I was happy with the hotel and the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top