$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
356 reviews
Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No... See full review

  • nickskull
  • Jul 22, 2014
Great location!

Excellent staff, great view of Empire State building, I will stay at Wolcott Hotel again! See full review

  • Johnny Lyric
  • Jul 14, 2014
Proudly celebrating its 110th anniversary in March 2014, The Hotel Wolcott is located in the center of tourist New York; three blocks south of the Empire State Building on 31st Street between 5th Ave. & Broadway. Walkable to many attractions including the United Nations, Macy's, Chelsea, Circle Line Boat Cruise, Flatiron, Meatpacking and Highline neighborhoods, Broadway theater district, Times Square and all public transportation. The Wolcott has been offering clean comfortable modern accommodations in an old world atmosphere at reasonable prices since 1904. In fact the lobby and many of the guest rooms still retain their original architectural detailing. The Hotel has been written about in many domestic and international guides.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (356)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
356 out of 356
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Newly retirees
Business
Falls Church, VA
Oct 9, 2014

Short getaway

We didn't stay in our room that much. So much to do, so little time. Like our past trips to NYC, we only used the hotel to rest and shower between our excursions. We had 2 twin beds and a study with a day bed that we didn't use. The location is excellent to see NYC, within walking distance to major attractions and many many restaurants near by. Also it was very quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bread & Butter right across from the hotel. Got everything from grocery to sushi. We got fruits and yogurt to go on many occasions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
driftingtraveler
Business
Syracuse, New York
Sep 2, 2014

Great!

I booked this hotel because it was the cheapest on the list -- staying in NYC can be really really pricey. I actually really liked the room! It was clean, water pressure was good, and the bed was comfortable. It was a 5 minute walk away from the Empire State building and 5th Ave. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Historic Hotel
Business
Connecticut
Aug 28, 2014

Theater Lover

Our original room was quite small, but that was okay as we only needed a place to sleep. However, the non-smoking room but smelled like old smoke. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and were given another room that was twice the size of the first one and was updated. The location was excellent but we really missed having coffee either in room or lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Katie
Business
Bronx
Aug 24, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms!

My fiance and I stayed here for the weekend in order to be closer to Central Park for a big training run. As always, I was nervous about the cleanliness of a budget hotel in the city, but this place was fantastic. Amenities were very minimal, but with such a great location who needs them in-house anyway. There is a 24-hour grocery just on the next corner, a wonderful wine and chocolate bar just across the street, and only blocks from nearly anything else you could want. Our room was spotless, the bathroom seems to have been recently refurbished, and everything down to the paint on the walls was either new or very well kept. Staff was super helpful and friendly, and asked us how our race went and chatted a bit upon seeing us return in running gear and all sweaty. I was so relieved and happy with this place I'm almost ready to cancel my marathon weekend hotel and book here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ayza wine and chocolate bar right across the street, great atmosphere, cozy and friendly, and yummmm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Austin miles
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 18, 2014

Good hotel

Stayed here for one night while in NY. It's a short walk from Penn Station. The room was nice. I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avanti2
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 15, 2014

A good noght

I was in NYC on business. The hotel is a nicely renovated turn-of-the-century building, fully updated with an attractive, well-appointed lobby. Staff is properly attired, courteous and efficient. The room was small but comfortable. No complaints; I plan to stay here again when I'm in NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meiwan
Business
West Lafayette, IN
Aug 14, 2014

A goold location

The location is perfect, but the rooms are old with average service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vale12
Business
College park, MD
Aug 12, 2014

Great Location

The location is the main strength point of the hotel. Very close to Time Square but in a quite street Good price for Manhattan. Helpful and warm staff. Defect: WiFi is not free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickster satisfied couple
Business
bronx, ny
Aug 3, 2014

Nice overnight

If you want a cheap overnight get away from your ordinary routine this is the place. They do not have free wifi as advertised. The rooms are small but that was expected. The staff is very accomdating and knowledgeable. You get free coffee and tea with a variety of muffins which is cool. I would go again cause I do not mind the small rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickskull
Business
Cape Coral, Florida
Jul 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel at a great location

It couldn't be any better! We came in early, but they were able to give us a room immediately. No problems with the reservation. The location is absolutely amazing. One of the corners is 5th Ave and to the other side is Broadway. 10 minutes to Times Square, 5 minutes to the nearest subway. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, they also cleaned the room each day, including sheets, towels and everything. They also have smoking rooms. Free breakfast (coffee + muffin) saves money and time, so that is a big plus! Don't go for the hotels with "big names" (Hilton, Marriot...), they are just overpriced and at worse locations. This is what you really want if you are going to visit New York for it's history, attractions, sightseeing etc. Great job, Wolcott Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

I know you all hear awe about Empire State, but honestly, the view from Top of the Rock is much much better and there are almost no queues compared to the Empire State Building. Go visit Top of the Rock!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top