$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2014 Check-out: Jul 11, 2014

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
470 reviews
Service was great!

The location of the hotel couldn't get any better! It is near everything. The service at this hotel... See full review

  • P1532
  • Jul 7, 2014
Re mouse in lobby

On my last nights stay I was sitting in lobby at approx midnight when I noticed a mouse running... See full review

  • He sepoy
  • Jun 6, 2014
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7465 -73.9867
Area served
New York, NY
Nearby airports
JFK Airport
Area description
Empire State Building United Nation

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.5 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (470)

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 470
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
BUCKS COUNTY, PA.
May 17, 2010

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

GOOD THING IT WAS ONLY 1 NIGHT. COULD NOT SLEEP FROM THE NOISY (IN WINDOW) A/C UNIT. TV WAS SCANNING CHANNELS CONSTANTLY, TURNS OUT THE JOY STICK THAT WAS PROTRUDING FROM THE WALL WAS PRESSING ON THE BUTTONS ON SIDE OF TV. THE NEXT MORNING COULD NOT CHANGE CHANELS AT ALL!! SHOWER MAGICALLY CHANGES WATER TEMP.WHEN SWITCHING FROM SPICKET TO SHOWER HEAD. COULD NOT ADJUST!! VERY SMALL BATHROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING IS NEAR BY. RESTAURANTS, COFFE SHOPS, CAN WALK TO EMPIRE STATE BLDG/ ROCKEFFELER CENTER AND LOTS OF SHOPS.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stahn Aileron
Buffalo, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Short Stay

Pros:-Location - Located dead smack in the middle of Midtown, Manhattan. Easy access to plenty of locations, like: Herald Square, Times Square, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Union Square (the last one is a long walk or a short train ride; rest are within reasonable walking distance).Cons:-Internet - NOT included in the room fee and the user experience I had with it was poor. I paid for 72 hours of use (effective from the moment of purchase at the hotel) and half the time I wanted to use it, it wasn't fully functional. I'd be connected to the network, but not access to the 'Net itself. I wound up using the free hotspots out in town just as often, if not more so. When it did work, the speed was reasonable, at least.-Small-ish room - No desk, so trying to use a laptop in my room wasn't exactly simple. Also a mild lack of plugs, so don't expect to be able to plug in a bunch of electronics for use or charging at once.Overall:-For what it was, it served my purposes (save for the lack of internet access included in the room price.) It had a very nice cozy feel to the place. The floor layout took me a moment to figure out (the interior is segmented into 3 areas by the stairwells).-I'd recommend this for the location and if you just need a place to stay for a couple days. I don't know if I could stay there for more than maybe a week, though. It's perfect if you travel light and don't expect too much or if you plan on spending more time roaming the city than staying in the hotel. Otherwise, I don't think it's a very good deal for the price if you take certain things for granted when it comes to hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
holiday travelor
PA
Jan 18, 2013

quick stay in NYC

I was ready to take a shower after 13-hour-flight; however, I couldn't get hot water right away. it took for a couple of minutes. The location is very good but I won't stay it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fashionably LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Did What It Needed To

My brother and I got the junior suite because we thought it would give us each a bit of private space, until we entered and realized that there was no door in between the two rooms and that you could see directly into the other person's room. Therefor it made dressing just a difficult as if we had shared 1 room. The walls are paper thin and my room was just off of the elevator so the children in the hallway were my alarm clock every morning. Then, when I needed to print my boarding pass at the end of the trip their computer ate my money and the very unfriendly staff finally showed me where the free computer was (that didn't work). When I needed a cab to the airport they kept pushing me to use this van, so I did. The van did not have working seat belts, was dirty, made way too many stops, had a very unsafe driver and blared very religious music at me the whole ride there. Overall, the hotel's location was in a good spot and provided a somewhat clean room and a bed to sleep in, but nothing more then a hostel does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
BUCKS COUNTY, PA.
May 17, 2010

NOT WHAT I EXPECTED

GOOD THING IT WAS ONLY 1 NIGHT. COULD NOT SLEEP FROM THE NOISY (IN WINDOW) A/C UNIT. TV WAS SCANNING CHANNELS CONSTANTLY, TURNS OUT THE JOY STICK THAT WAS PROTRUDING FROM THE WALL WAS PRESSING ON THE BUTTONS ON SIDE OF TV. THE NEXT MORNING COULD NOT CHANGE CHANELS AT ALL!! SHOWER MAGICALLY CHANGES WATER TEMP.WHEN SWITCHING FROM SPICKET TO SHOWER HEAD. COULD NOT ADJUST!! VERY SMALL BATHROOM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

EVERYTHING IS NEAR BY. RESTAURANTS, COFFE SHOPS, CAN WALK TO EMPIRE STATE BLDG/ ROCKEFFELER CENTER AND LOTS OF SHOPS.

Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fashionably LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 2, 2010

Did What It Needed To

My brother and I got the junior suite because we thought it would give us each a bit of private space, until we entered and realized that there was no door in between the two rooms and that you could see directly into the other person's room. Therefor it made dressing just a difficult as if we had shared 1 room. The walls are paper thin and my room was just off of the elevator so the children in the hallway were my alarm clock every morning. Then, when I needed to print my boarding pass at the end of the trip their computer ate my money and the very unfriendly staff finally showed me where the free computer was (that didn't work). When I needed a cab to the airport they kept pushing me to use this van, so I did. The van did not have working seat belts, was dirty, made way too many stops, had a very unsafe driver and blared very religious music at me the whole ride there. Overall, the hotel's location was in a good spot and provided a somewhat clean room and a bed to sleep in, but nothing more then a hostel does.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 16, 2011

Definitely not modern

Had trouble finding the place due to all the scaffolding obscuring the front of the building. The lobby is really nice, but I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time there. The room was tiny, just slightly larger than the double bed in the room. Everything in the room... bed, carpet, furniture, curtains, wallpaper, was quite worn and shabby. The bathroom didn't look like it had been updated since at least the 1960s. For the price and the amount of time I was staying (1 night), it met my minimum requirements, but I doubt if I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stahn Aileron
Buffalo, NY
Jul 22, 2011

Short Stay

Pros:-Location - Located dead smack in the middle of Midtown, Manhattan. Easy access to plenty of locations, like: Herald Square, Times Square, Penn Station/Madison Square Garden, Union Square (the last one is a long walk or a short train ride; rest are within reasonable walking distance).Cons:-Internet - NOT included in the room fee and the user experience I had with it was poor. I paid for 72 hours of use (effective from the moment of purchase at the hotel) and half the time I wanted to use it, it wasn't fully functional. I'd be connected to the network, but not access to the 'Net itself. I wound up using the free hotspots out in town just as often, if not more so. When it did work, the speed was reasonable, at least.-Small-ish room - No desk, so trying to use a laptop in my room wasn't exactly simple. Also a mild lack of plugs, so don't expect to be able to plug in a bunch of electronics for use or charging at once.Overall:-For what it was, it served my purposes (save for the lack of internet access included in the room price.) It had a very nice cozy feel to the place. The floor layout took me a moment to figure out (the interior is segmented into 3 areas by the stairwells).-I'd recommend this for the location and if you just need a place to stay for a couple days. I don't know if I could stay there for more than maybe a week, though. It's perfect if you travel light and don't expect too much or if you plan on spending more time roaming the city than staying in the hotel. Otherwise, I don't think it's a very good deal for the price if you take certain things for granted when it comes to hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2012 Anonymous
Boston, MA
Nov 5, 2012

Old but good for the price

Fine, not the cleanest place but not too bad. Mainly outdated stuff. Great price for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top