$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 9, 2015 Check-out: Apr 10, 2015

Wolcott Hotel

3 stars
View map of 4 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
389 reviews
Beautiful Hotel, Great Location!

We chose the hotel based on location and value for the price but got SO much more than we expected.... See full review

  • Martie H
  • Mar 24, 2015
Great father daughter trip!

This was the first time we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything we needed. We will... See full review

  • Mandy Hockey Fan
  • Mar 22, 2015
Henry Roger Wolcott hired John H. Duncan, the same designer who built Grant's Tomb, to build the Wolcott Hotel New York in 1904. The Erlich family purchased the hotel in 1975 and they have been dedicated to its meticulous restoration ever since. Adventurous travelers looking for a comfortable yet elegant home base while they tour New York City will find just what they're looking for at the Wolcott. Rich in history, the hotel is the place where, in 1907, Edith Wharton penned her novel, The Fruit of the Tree, while in residence. As time advanced, celebrities including Buddy Holly, the Everly Brothers and Miles Davis also stayed at the Wolcott. French and Renaissance styles, along with ornate stonework, crystal chandeliers, and marble columns adorn the Wolcott.
Key facts
  • 200 guestrooms
  • Conference room
  • Concierge
  • Gift shop and ATM
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Laundry facilities
Neighborhood
This grand hotel is located in Manhattan at 4 West 31st Street, between 5th Avenue and Broadway, which is just three blocks away from the Empire State Building, and close to Rockefeller Plaza and Madison Square Garden. Walk a couple of miles to reach Central Park for famous statues, movie spots, the John Lennon Strawberry Fields memorial, and adventure playgrounds where the kids can spend hours frolicking in the Big Apple sunshine.
Hints and tips
Talk to the concierge to help you book theater tickets to surprise your travel partner while you are enjoying your stay.

Some rooms come with a view of the Empire State Building, and you can also ask for a non-smoking or smoking option.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wolcott Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Wolcott Hotel Rooms

2 Twin Single Beds
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 2 single beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 270-400 sq.feet.
Jr. Suite
A great value, clean, comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. One room is the sleeping room with a queen bed, then pass through the open arch way into the parlor room with the day bed. Both rooms has TV, telephone, iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo, etc. 420-528 sq. ft.
3 Twin Beds
A great value, clean comfortable and affordable in New York City; room has 3 twin beds and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio tub shower, soap and shampoo. 420 sq feet.
Queen Bed
A great value, clean , comfortable and affordable in New York City room has 1 queen bed and in room iron, hair dryer, clock radio, tub shower, soap and shampoo. 140-400 sq. ft.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.3 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.4 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.4 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.4 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi
  • School of Visual Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.5 mi
  • Garment District: 0.6 mi
  • National Arts Club: 0.6 mi
  • Grammercy Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.6 mi
  • The Players: 0.6 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.7 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Century Building: 0.7 mi
  • Daily News Building: 0.7 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Wolcott Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 389
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
polkatulk
Business
san jose, california
Aug 28, 2013

gross

Cost over $200 for one night in a tiny, cockroach infested, poorly-lit, musty room with an uncomfortable bed and the charm of a turn-of-the-century haunted nursing home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

stay somewhere else

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Candace Barth
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 7, 2007

very small room

Regarding the hotel room: There was not even enough room to change your mind. We asked to upgrade to a larger room even if the price was more, and were told we HAD the largest room. O and the view two run down sky scrapers so no natural light. Just felt trapped.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Not a bad location right in the heart of Mid town Manhattan

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Catmandoodoo
Business
NY, NY
May 12, 2010

"THE SHINING" IN REAL LIFE

My wife and I spent a night there after a concert in the city. Where do I begin? First, the guy at the reception desk was stoned-faced and kept minimum eye contact. Way to welcome your guests! The women were friendlier but seemed out of it. The room was cold, depressing with really thin blankets. In the early morn a weird noise emanating from somewhere woke us up along with the cold room temperature. The original molding on the ceiling was perhaps once beautiful but now it was covered with so many layers of paint that it looked like it was constructed by a mentally-challenged ape out of play-doh. The bathroom is big enough for two wheelchairs and there's a bench in the bathtub. My wife discovered that one of the wrapped soap was wet and used. The general vibe of this place is that of a retirement home. Definitely not recommended for anyone under 50.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kibao
Business
ex Mombasa, Kenya
Jan 13, 2012

Needs drastic improvement in terms of hospitality and more attention to customer needs

The Hotel location is ideal for business people but the staff are not friendly/helpful and have very little time to listen to customers. I did not like the hotel as my room was not what I requested for and when I enquired, the response was not encouraging and I let it stay. Cannot be a repeat customer nor recommend the hotel to any one. No meals offered at the Hotel or at least we were not told of the existence of such facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MikeyH
Business
Utah, USA
Jan 18, 2012

Eh, it's fine if you don't plan on spending any time in it

In Hotel Wolcott's favor, they did let us check in several hours early, free of charge. This was a lifesaver as my wife and I and just gotten into town on the redeye and felt terrible. However, everything else was either mediocre or just plain annoying. Reasonably close to the subway. Nothing in the bathroom worked well. The wifi was overpriced and only usable on one device and one location. The bed was extremely hard. No thermostat controls. Windows in our 12th floor room opened easily and had no screens. Only one nightstand. There were three electrical sockets in the bedroom, two of which were inaccessible and the other was as far from the nightstands/desk as it could get. We'll be trying someplace else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san antonio, texas
Jan 20, 2011

could not sleep

We were at this hotel for 2 weeks, and it was almost impossible to sleep. The beds were great, the rooms were roomy enough, they gave us a fridge and heated up our leftovers for us, so they tried. But it was so noisy with so many clicks, rattles, doors banging, LOUD pipes, and even though it was January we were hot in our room unless we opened the windows, which of course made the noises even worse. We have never been in such a noisy hotel. No sense getting another room because our compadres in the elevator all said the same thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Earplugs aren't enough. Location is perfect if you can sleep through extremely loud noise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
colette super woman
Business
Dublin , Ire
Mar 26, 2014

couples get away

ideal location , 2 blocks from statue of liberty and just off 5th ave.we up graded to a junior suite and well worth the extra. staff always very friendly and helpful. the free muffins and tea or coffee in the morning were a treat. we stayed in N.Y last summer in an apartment but further downtown, here we found you were no more than 10 to 15 mins walk to all main attractions, we really enjoyed walk over Brooklyn bridge and the highline, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

try " rattle and Hum" on 33rd or oReillys on 35th for great food and drinks.!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retirees
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 7, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!

Our days were spent sightseeing and touring. The hotel room was perfect for a nice shower and a quiet restful sleep and fresh coffee and muffins in the morning. Good value for the price and a very convenient location for walking to and from the many "got to see N.Y sights" and famous shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Empire State Building, Time Square, Penn Station, Madison Square Garden, Grayline Hop on and off bus, Intrepid, Pier 38 Harbor Tours

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Dec 14, 2009

decent location for decent price

We expected the room to be small, but we also were stuck with 2 twin beds, and the heater was very noisy at 4am! Bathroom was clean enough, concierge was helpful, and we were right off 5th avenue - easy to get a cab and close enough to walk to many different attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Located between 5th and Avenue of the Americas, there is plenty of shopping within 10-15 minute walk. Easy walk to Empire State Building, Rockefeller Ctr, Times Square. 15-20 min walk to Central Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wolcott Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ebs
Business
Wisconsin
Jun 29, 2010

Good value

The price was right for a hotel in Manhatten. Close to everything. Some rooms small and air conditioners could be improved (window). I traveled with two other couples. Our air conditioner was noisy but very effective. Other couples air conditioners were not effective and their rooms were smaller than ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

One and one-half blocks from Empire State building. Must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top